Leslie and Jasper
Member Since 2012
Jasper has been blue and green past couple days, and he is now eating well on free feeding canned food. Last night we shot low then kept watch in case he went lower than usual, tested into the wee hours his bg stayed >60 and I just couldnt stay awake any longer. I am truly amazed and more than a little envious of people who can manage with little sleep!
Jasper started on Lantus 7/22. Since 7/23 pm we have been giving Jasper 0.75u Lantus at 8:40 am/pm. Last Saturday night we were not home at his shot time and he was green when we got home so we skipped that shot and did not notice adverse effects. We have been doing some tests closer to shot time to better understand his pattern, also paying closer attention to sufficient blood drop size to better trust our data.
We considered slowly shifting his shot times a bit earlier, but PM will still be at night. I am wondering about continuing with 0.75 dose, and when to give, reduce, or skip his PM dose considering unlikely to test a lot later at night. What is a reasonable balance of being blue/green and being on the edge? What do you think?
Leslie
Jasper started on Lantus 7/22. Since 7/23 pm we have been giving Jasper 0.75u Lantus at 8:40 am/pm. Last Saturday night we were not home at his shot time and he was green when we got home so we skipped that shot and did not notice adverse effects. We have been doing some tests closer to shot time to better understand his pattern, also paying closer attention to sufficient blood drop size to better trust our data.
We considered slowly shifting his shot times a bit earlier, but PM will still be at night. I am wondering about continuing with 0.75 dose, and when to give, reduce, or skip his PM dose considering unlikely to test a lot later at night. What is a reasonable balance of being blue/green and being on the edge? What do you think?
Leslie