7/31 Jasper AMPS 118, +2 97, +4 73, +6 100, +11 85, PM shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leslie and Jasper

Member Since 2012
Jasper has been blue and green past couple days, and he is now eating well on free feeding canned food. Last night we shot low then kept watch in case he went lower than usual, tested into the wee hours his bg stayed >60 and I just couldnt stay awake any longer. I am truly amazed and more than a little envious of people who can manage with little sleep!

Jasper started on Lantus 7/22. Since 7/23 pm we have been giving Jasper 0.75u Lantus at 8:40 am/pm. Last Saturday night we were not home at his shot time and he was green when we got home so we skipped that shot and did not notice adverse effects. We have been doing some tests closer to shot time to better understand his pattern, also paying closer attention to sufficient blood drop size to better trust our data.

We considered slowly shifting his shot times a bit earlier, but PM will still be at night. I am wondering about continuing with 0.75 dose, and when to give, reduce, or skip his PM dose considering unlikely to test a lot later at night. What is a reasonable balance of being blue/green and being on the edge? What do you think?

Leslie
 
Re: 7/31 Jasper AMPS 118, +2 97, +4 73, +6 100, +10 105 dose

I'm not sure I'm understanding. Are you thinking about skipping the PM shot?

If that's the case, it's a bad idea. In cats, insulin needs to be given twice a day. While Lantus is advertised as a once a day injection, that information applies to humans. A cat's metabolism is about twice as fast as a humans thus necessitating twice a day shots.

We reduce doses based on either of two criteria:
  • A cat's BG test indicates a drop below 50 or
  • The cat has spent a week in mostly normal BG numbers (i.e., between 50 - 120).
Looking at Jasper's SS, he's not spending much time in green numbers. You might want to "fatten" his dose -- adding a drop to his current dose in order to lower his overall level.
 
Re: 7/31 Jasper AMPS 118, +2 97, +4 73, +6 100, +11 85, PM s

Thanks Sienne, I guess I am still a bit hesitant about shooting low numbers in case he drops further and heads for hypo. I know we stay the course unless BG drops below 50. As expected his PMPS is 86, and Andy just gave Jasper his usual dose. Now we hope for a calm night so we can catch up on sleep and try fattening his dose starting in the morning.

Leslie and Andy
 
Re: 7/31 Jasper AMPS 118, +2 97, +4 73, +6 100, +11 85, PM s

Let's see what Jasper has in store for tonight. You know, these kitties have a way of reading their condos. You threaten a dose increase and they decide, "No way." and get a reduction, instead!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top