? 7/31 Ivy AMPS 361,+2 400, +8 293, +11 300, PMPS 295, +3 204, +4 183 Bounce Questions

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...131-6-233-8-355-drop-fast-reduce-dose.280034/
Ivy broke a bounce yesterday at PMPS and was dropping fast at shot time. (SLGS)
Since she was dropping fast, I decided to give 1/2 dose of 1.25 u Lantus (current dose is 2.5u).

I gave token dose because she was dropping fast, not because of the number she was reading on Libre of 172.

Question is: if dropping fast and need to decide what to do, how do I handle? She usually continues to drop once she’s dropping fast like that. If I stall, she usually just keeps dropping.
I was afraid to give full dose and send her down to hypo numbers. It’s then hard to get her back up.

She’s not really too carb sensitive. When I feed a meal or snack she gets a slight bump then usually comes right back down again. Food doesn’t hold her up for long.

I fed several small snacks after pm 1/2 dose till around +4, & she got normal snack at +6.

She finally came up a bit at +4.5 to +5, (around 120-140s Libre) then went higher at + 7 (300s).
(I know prior higher dose was in depot, influencing the lower, early pm numbers).
She stayed lower on Libre, early in cycle, bouncing around and Under 100, but never dropped below 90, (when I tested on Contour) but I was feeding her snacks to not drop too low.

To note, she’s clearing bounces very quickly now, yesterday it was within 1 cycle of prior night drop.

So, I need to understand what to do when faced with dropping bg at feed and shot time.

I’m sorry for so many questions!
Thanks for your help.
@Wendy&Neko
@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee
 
Today's high numbers are not just a bounce. It's also the result of shooting too low a dose last night which drained the depot.

I answered your question on what to do when they are dropping to PS in yesterday's post. Summary, take advantage of the chance to shoot lower preshots.
 
Today's high numbers are not just a bounce. It's also the result of shooting too low a dose last night which drained the depot.

I answered your question on what to do when they are dropping to PS in yesterday's post. Summary, take advantage of the chance to shoot lower preshots.
But if she’s dropping fast at PS, won’t shooting a full dose just send her even lower, into hypo numbers possibly? (That was my fear yesterday).
 
But if she’s dropping fast at PS, won’t shooting a full dose just send her even lower, into hypo numbers possibly?
It could also mean she was dropping to nadir at preshot time. Look at the data when you have shot dropping numbers before. For example, 6/5 AM, 6/8 AM, 6/12 AM and PM, 6/14 PM, 7/8 PM. Those are the times I could find where she was dropping into PS and you shot the full dose.
 
It could also mean she was dropping to nadir at preshot time. Look at the data when you have shot dropping numbers before. For example, 6/5 AM, 6/8 AM, 6/12 AM and PM, 6/14 PM, 7/8 PM. Those are the times I could find where she was dropping into PS and you shot the full dose.
Yes, I did shoot low dropping bgs and she went low after the shot for hours. I had to struggle to get her to come back up. (I read my comments in the notes section to indicate her going lower after shot time).
Those dates in early June (and after) she was dropping constantly, deep fast dives at her PS and it’s why I switched back to SLGS from TR (it was too stressful for her and me).
So I understand shooting lower, but diving numbers at PS terrify me since she’s not carb sensitive and it’s so hard to steady her. How do I handle those PS dives safely?
 
Pm cycle, dropping bg from +2, +3. Fed regular food snacks of her 12% lamb diet. Dropped over 100 points in 2 hours. Will monitor on Libre and test with contour handheld meter if she drops very low. She is dropping to lower bgs every other cycle lately it seems.
Does anyone know why that would be? after a bounce she breaks the bounce and drops lower.
 
upload_2023-7-31_21-44-59.jpeg
upload_2023-7-31_21-44-59.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-7-31_21-44-59.jpeg
    upload_2023-7-31_21-44-59.jpeg
    20 KB · Views: 133
Back
Top