7/31 Emma AMPS 261 +10.5 279 PMPS 301 +4 107

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristen & Emma (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Good morning!

I didn't do much posting last night - got caught up in stuff around here in the evening and was completely spent so I went to bed and gave Emma and I a break from a night full of testing, since she seemed to be staying in the yellows...

Here's a little recap:

AMPS 243
+1 237 (since I was late leaving for work I thought I'd get one!)
+10 233
PMPS 261
+2 279
+3 248

And this morning's AMPS is 261. I have no problem with Libby's suggestion of a dosecrease, but my question is: do you think it might be the insulin starting to crap out? I do have a vial, because I didn't know any better when we started out, and I opened it on 6/26. I don't see any cloudiness or particles floating in it. Should I be getting some new cartridges/pens anyway? I've read up on some of the threads about how long lantus lasts, and I know some people get far more time out of it. I'm just wondering if anyone thinks that might be what's happening with her numbers now.

I'll bump up her dose tonight, because I already gave her the 1.75 this morning. I'll be gone most of the day too, so its probably better that I do it tonight when I can be here.

Off to hang out with a 13-year old girl I mentor today! We're going to the zoo...she's LOVES all kinds of animals and can't wait to see some giraffes!

Have a great day! And thanks!
 
Re: 7/31 Emma AMPS 261 and a question

Oh, I love the giraffes!

I have been using the vials too (same story)... In April, Kasha's numbers were bad (400s - 500s) and not changing and I got a new vial to try - no difference... turned out to be a UTI/kidney infection... Anyway - I've been using that same vial till yesterday, when I got a new one. It was around 100 days old and I was definitely still seeing some action from it. I'm going to watch Kasha closely this weekend (I hope) to see if I notice any dramatic differences with the new vial, but if not, I'm going to assume that the old one was still fairly good, even though it was pretty old. I've heard of people getting 6 mos out of the vials.

Anyway, I have a script for the cartridges but I want to order them from Canada and since I didn't plan well, I decided I'd rather have some new insulin NOW rather than wait for the order to arrive.. hence the new vial.

I'm rambling, I know. But I'm trying to say that while it could be the Lantus, it may very well be that the insulin is fine and she just needs a dosecrease or something...

Have fun at the zoo...
 
Re: 7/31 Emma AMPS 261 and a question

Good morning.
You should come visit your family on the cape....it has been a beautiful week.

It is much more economical to get the pens or cartridges. I never used a cart longer than 30 days although many have.
I think it is a good idea to bump up the dose when you are home.
 
Re: 7/31 Emma AMPS 261 and a question

I too am a cartrdige user - and will go 28/30 days with mine. I used to use the vials, and at that time could get maybe 3 months out of a vial. I am with Miriam - the pens/cartridges are much more economical, and I am glad I made the switch.

Good idea to up the dose when you are home. Good luck Emma with the new dose! Sure has been a flat yellow cycle - I would guess that you may see some action soon.
 
Re: 7/31 Emma AMPS 261 and a question

Many people get far more than the 28 days recommended by the manufacturer. Looking at Emma's SS, she wasn't getting any long runs of green which have since changed. Nor have her numbers just gotten weird. When I've use "older" Lantus, Gabby's response is very uneven. I'd increase the dose and evaluate how Emma's responding before tossing the insulin. You might want to fill the prescription, though, so you'll have Lantus on hand.
 
Re: 7/31 Emma AMPS 261 and a question

I use the cartridges and usually change around the 30 day mark. The vet said it would be easier on the pocket book than the vial but then some people say the vial can last months so who knows. It's a mystery trying to figure out a kitty's numbers.

Have fun at the zoo!
 
Re: 7/31 Emma AMPS 261 and a question

I think a lot of people throw out good insulin because they don't like the numbers. It could be the insulin, but usually bad insulin makes for wonky patterns and Emma's patterns aren't wonky, they just look like she needs a bit more juice. Most likely she just needs a little nudge to get back into the greens. It's not unusual for a cat to get some green on a dose, but then they lose the green and need more insulin to get it back. Once she is more used to green, she'll probably be able to hold it better, but at first they often need some help.
 
Re: 7/31 Emma AMPS 261 +10.5 279

thanks so much for all the responses! I'll be upping her dose tonight, and I'll talk to the vet about writing me a new prescription for the cartridges. I had wanted to get them early anyway, so I can order them online and save some $. But for now I'll stick with the vial and see what happens with her numbers.

The zoo was fun - lots of interactive areas where we could pet and hold some animals, which my little friend absolutely LOVED. :)

Hope you're all having a great day!
 
Well, my plan to be around this evening got changed...I'm not one to turn down a dinner invitation!

Just got home and caught a +4 reading on the new dose...107! Lower than she's been for a while! I'll be up for a bit and will try to get a couple more readings....
 
Nice to see the response to the new dose. I'm glad she doesn't go in for NDW like Tess. That is frustrating.

We used out last cartridge for over 60 days. When it was time to change Tess was getting really good numbers and I wasn't going to mess with success. Another thing to keep in mind with the cartridges is that you get 50% more insulin, 15ml instead of 10ml. Just to see i also left a cartridge sitting out of the fridge when I changed to the next one. After 4 months still no sign of floaties!
 
Hi Kristen, Good luck with the insulin issue. I never know how long to trust it, either. I usually go about 35 days on a cartridge. Good +4 tonight for Emma. See you tomorrow.

Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top