7/31 Cobb AMPS 263(No R) +8 329 PMPS 283(2.75uR)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Thanks for everyone weighing in yesterday about the Lev. Keep the comments and your experiences coming! I want to be fully armed with information when I talk to the vet, which I hope is soon. I wanted to email her first so I didn't blindside her with a phone call asking about a medication she's never prescribed. Hopefully she did a little research on it last night, and I told her I'd be glad to send her what I have, Cobb's SS, etc. I'm thinking since her colleague had an acro cat, she may have heard of using Lev, so that may be a plus.

Cobb is still a little high this morning. But nothing we can't handle. I gave him a bit of R last night and he did come down to around 200 around +8. I do need to update his SS with that info.

Matty is feeling better and eating and drinking again. Yay!!! flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat Remember when he developed the allergic rash to the amoxicillin? Well, the doctor had us bring him in on Sunday morning (love our peds office...open on the weekends for no extra charge!) to look at it. Since he wasn't really responding to the antibiotic and she said he should be, she ran a nasal swab test to see if we were dealing with a virus or another bacteria that needed a different antibiotic. Turns out, in addition to the strep throat, he had 2 OTHER bacterial infections!! ohmygod_smile WTH?! :evil: This mama was NOT happy to learn that yesterday. But the antibiotic that he is on apparently is what they would prescribe for all 3 of the bacteria, so he's about 4 days into that. It's a 10 day antibiotic, but since he was on the amoxicillin for 4 days she said we could just do 7 days of this one. My gut tells me to finish the bottle and do the extra 3 days. My new motto: daycare germs can bite me. :lol: :lol: :lol:

That's about it from here. New job is going well, no complaints - except that I miss Matty and Cobb during the day. ;-)

I hope you all have a great Thursday. Healing vines to all who need them. Prayers and hugs to Mariko and Lucy.

~Suzanne
 
Re: 7/31 Cobb AMPS 263(No R)

Hi Suzanne,
I missed your condo for a few days and didn't realize that you were thinking about switching to Lev. Rusty is on Lev. He had been switched from Lantus before we adopted him, so I can't comment on the switch. But he does pretty well on Lev. Rusty is a long-term diabetic (he was dx in 2008, but since he was found on the streets then and brought to a shelter, who knows how long he may have been diabetic). He got great foster care from Claudia and then Phoebe and was regulated before he came to live with us. My previous experience had been with Lantus (Stu was on Lantus). I like Lev. very much because of the late onset, as compared with Lantus. I have lots of time after giving the shot and therefore can shoot low numbers and can usually count on the fact that Rusty's bg will rise up to the time the insulin kicks in. I don't tweak Rusty's dose as much as I probably should, so I've never experienced the carryover that Marje gets with Gracie when the dose is just right.
In my opinion, you ought to give Lev. a try. You can always switch back if it doesn't produce the results you are hoping for.

Sorry to hear about Matty's various bugs. Day Care has it's pitfalls!! The penicillin drugs are tricky. I had never been allergic to amoxicillin, but had a massive anaphylactic reaction to it when taking it for routine dental work. Be careful there! Allergies can be cumulative.

Good luck if switching to Lev.
Have a good weekend.
Vines for Matty,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/31 Cobb AMPS 263(No R) - Lev question!!

How fragile is Levemir? The vet says she will call in the prescription for Cobb. yay! But I bet it will have to be filled in SC. My parents can pick it up and mail it, but I need to know how to get them to pack it.
 
Re: 7/31 Cobb AMPS 263(No R) - Lev question!!

I'd be very surprised if you need to get Lev filled out of state. It's a human insulin and I've even seen print and TV ads for it.

It's slightly less fragile than Lantus. I'd wrap it in bubble wrap and put it in a cooler with an ice pack. You want to make sure that it doesn't freeze -- just like Lantus.
 
Re: 7/31 Cobb AMPS 263(No R) - Lev question!!

So, I'm confused! I thought Lev was a little less expensive than Lantus. I have pharmacies quoting me $300 for a vial.
 
Re: 7/31 Cobb AMPS 263(No R) - Lev question!!

If you get the prescription filled for Levemir Flexpens, there is a coupon use can use. Here is one that I found for Flexpens. If you do a search on FDMB you might find more details. It's not applicable in Canada so I don't know the details. I just walk up to any pharmacy counter and get Levemir - which is $20 more than Lantus here.
 
Re: 7/31 Cobb AMPS 263(No R) - Lev question!!

Hmm...well, I had the vet call in the prescription to a pharmacy here. Hopefully that won't be a problem. I did find someone selling boxes of the pens on Craigslist, but I have no idea how to vet if it is real, you know? I'm working through that right now. He only has a box left and will ship to me so I won't be out THAT much money if it is a scam.

Walk me through the switch...I still have about 1/2 a vial of Lantus yet. Finish it up? And then switch with the next shot after I'm out of Lantus? I mean, we're talking it would be another week or so with the Lantus. Then, when I switch, decrease the dose to about 20-21 units of Lev. That's about 70% of the Lantus dose.

I would do the pens, just because they're so much more convenient -- and if I end up getting it from this guy, I'll stick with the pens or have the vet write a pen prescription. But I just fly through the pens at the dose Cobb is at. If he went down in dose, I'd definitely look more into them -- and their corresponding coupon.
 
Re: 7/31 Cobb AMPS 263(No R) - Lev question!!

Suzanne & Cobb said:
So, I'm confused! I thought Lev was a little less expensive than Lantus. I have pharmacies quoting me $300 for a vial.
that sounds about right, suzanne. i've been using lev for years and generally lev has been a little more expensive (in the States) than lantus, but i've also seen a huge jump in insulin prices rather recently. i replenished my supply of insulin the end of april. the cost of a box of lev pens had sky-rocketed since i had purchased my last box. i was shocked! i called around and got quotes ranging from $289 to just under $400. i didn't ask about the price of a vial of lev, but $300 sounds right in the ball park.

in middle tenneessee, walgreens ended up being the least expensive (this time) if i joined their prescription club... can't remember what it's called. i think membership was around $20.

Suzanne & Cobb said:
Walk me through the switch...I still have about 1/2 a vial of Lantus yet. Finish it up? And then switch with the next shot after I'm out of Lantus? I mean, we're talking it would be another week or so with the Lantus. Then, when I switch, decrease the dose to about 20-21 units of Lev. That's about 70% of the Lantus dose.
finish the lantus for sure. i wouldn't waste it.
you'd switch to lev 12 hours after the last shot of lantus. the starting lev dose would be about 70% of your current lantus dose.
in the past, some caregivers of HD kitties found it necessary to use some R while building the lev depot.


good luck with the switch!
 
Re: 7/31 Cobb AMPS 263(No R) +8 329

Hi again,
Many of us used to order online from Canadian pharmacies. There were many "rogue" pharmacies, but also many legitimate ones. It became difficult to order about 2 or 3 years ago because a law was passed that medicines that had to be kept cool in transit could not be shipped. No one ever had a problem with the insulin shipments, but there you are! Recently someone on the board posted a link to this pharmacy in Vancouver, B.C. It has a real address and phone number (the most important things to check) and apparently will ship insulin to the U.S.
http://www.rxcanada4less.com/index.html
The cost for a 5-pack of Lev. (either flexpen or penfill cartridges) is $169 / $164. Certainly a lot better than US prices (they do not sell the vial).
This pharmacy has the PharmacyChecker seal of verification (see the bottom of it's home page), so it can be trusted. For excellent info. on online pharmacies in general, see PharmacyChecker's home page: http://www.pharmacychecker.com/

Hope this is helpful. Even though one can buy insulin without a prescription in Canada, you have to have a prescription to order it online. Your vet can fax an order.

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top