7/31 Champ PMPS 154, +2 150, +3 73, +4 64

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

First, I have to start this condo off by saying...EVERYONE, ESPECIALLY NEWBIES...learn from my mistake!!!! ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS make sure you have a spare battery for your meter, or a spare meter with strips. I had just changed the battery in my Aviva a couple of months ago so I never thought to get another battery to keep around. I went to check Champ's AMPS and got the error message saying I needed a new battery. Didn't have one. I knew I didn't have strips for my backup meter. I took the battery out of my backup meter and it was dead. Luckily, I had bought another meter a while back to use as my backup because my neighbor had borrowed by 1st backup meter. I put that battery in my original meter and, finally, it worked. Sort of. It was acting so strange...not turning on when I inserted the strip (after it had already been turned on and I saw that it worked), not giving me a number when I put blood on the strip. I finally got it to work, but Champ had already eaten and was lying there staring at me like, "Whoa, how did I get out of being poked and shot?" So the AMPS of 210 might have been food influenced because he had finished eating about 10 before his BG was checked. Regardless.....

I'm just fed up with this!!! I believe Champ is tired of being on insulin. The only thing that keeps him out of the basement these days is HC food. Everyday he gets HC food. I'm reducing him again tonight, though I'm not so sure he's going to do well with another reduction so soon. But I just can't have him falling into the 30's every single day, especially when it's large drops. He needs to be on a dose that doesn't require HC every day!!

So....I hope everyone in LL is having a terrific Sunday!!!
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +1.5 188, +4 34, +5 54

Patty....what a day...I'm so sorry!!!

How about taking him down .25u instead of shaving him? It's worth a try. It might slow him down just a bit. I know you don't want a failed reduction but consider Libby's situation with Lucy. She took too many reductions too quickly when Lucy was going fast like Champ and Lucy eventually stalled. Libby had to go way back up to get Lucy to come down and it took another couple of months. Of course, this is just IMHO....it might be great to get some other eyes on it. You might even want to PM Libby since she's been through this. It's always a gamble either way.

Hugs, my friend.
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +1.5 188, +4 34, +5 54

Marje, that's exactly what I'm afraid of since it's already happened to us. Champ had gotten up to 3.75u and then earned three reductions in 6 days, but then he stalled and I had to bring him all the way back up to 3.75u. We've now SLOWLY taken him back down to 2u, but it almost feels like he's forcing my hand to give him reductions because he's going soooo low. I think I am going to take the full 0.25 reduction this time and just see what happens. I can't keep getting surprised by 35's!!!
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +1.5 188, +4 34, +5 54

It sounds like you're damned if you do and you're damned if you don't. I really hope Libby can help you. Champers, do it slowly, slowly. On the other hand, Patty, if you do find a method that flattens him out, going OTJ becomes a very real possibility.
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +1.5 188, +4 34, +5 54

Oh geez Patty, its kind of a nightmare isn't it? Had the same thing happen the other day, both my batteries from both of my aviva's were dead. Thankfully walmart is not too far away from my place and it was cheaper just to buy another new meter than buy a new battery.

Tough situation you're in with Champ's dose too, good luck with whatever you decide to do........and how about giving your bean a break Champ??? Tho i'm sure he's lovin the HC food he's getting everyday!! :-D
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +1.5 188, +4 34, +5 54

Agree with Marje--Champ is doing really well..You cant always have control over their numbers--FD is an unpredictable disease!
He is so much better since you came--People fixate on their numbers, & dont remember the good health of the cat is really what's important, If OTJ is meant to be it will be...Whether he is tired of the shots & pokes or not, He Needs Them...Until things change--Believe Me when I tell you, I have felt that way a million zillion times...JUst look at the Whole Cat & see how much he has improved!! You are doing great,
Please dont get discouraged--OK? Big Hugs from us!!!
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +1.5 188, +4 34, +5 54

Sorry about the meter. Had to take Tuffy up 3 times due to reductions and resorted to just shaving doses. I also could not use HC even when she hit the 20s because she would bounce to the moon. Just want you to know to hang in there, It does happen on their schedule not ours. The amps may be a meter malfunction or food. Sending nice surfing vines without the lows.
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +1.5 188, +4 34, +5 54

Don't get me wrong, I'm definitely not getting discouraged!!! If anything, I'm encouraged by the fact that Champ seems to be working so hard on his part to speed this process along. I'm just tired of my inability to find the courage to reduce him enough (I've been shaving his dose down) so he doesn't get so low during the day and need so much HC food. I'm going to start having a braver hand with the reductions and see where it takes us.
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +1.5 188, +4 34, +5 54

Hi - wow on all that has been said. champ means business. considering all I think maybe a full .25 this time might be warranted - I would though bring him up at the first sign that the reduction is not holding. I so understand not wanting him in the 30's, and constantly having to feed HC food. been there , done that too. I am grateful to finally being able to control Mannie with LC foods, most of the time. Good luck!!!!

I do love all that green! :-D :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +1.5 188, +4 34, +5 54

Hi Michelle!! I'm going to do exactly what you've said...give the full reduction, but bring him back up immediately if it doesn't hold. Paws crossed we're successful!!!
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +1.5 188, +4 34, +5 54

I think you are right on doing the full reduction. Usually when a cat gets into the 30s that is what is recommended. Then we see others jsut doing shaves and believe that is the way to go for us too. ECID. Champ seems to be telling you he wants the full reduction. :thumbup
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +1.5 188, +4 34, +5 54, +6 72

I completely agree, Ann!! This many times into the 30's is a SCREAM for a reduction from the Champers!!
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +1.5 188, +4 34, +5 54, +6 72

Wow, Patty, just catching up on your condo. You've gotten some good advice here from Beans with similar situations. Good luck on the .25 dose. Having an extra battery is a good reminder for all of us. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +1.5 188, +4 34, +5 54, +6 72

Oh my goodness, Champ is just keeping you on your toes all the time! Patty, you definitely got some great advice here and I hope Champ can stop dropping so quickly during the day. Good luck on the dose decrease.
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +1.5 188, +4 34, +5 54, +6 72

Hi Patty & Champ,
Good luck on the .25 dose reduction. It certainly is worth a try. I agree that you don't want to have to rely on HC food to bring him back up. Besides, Champ earned that reduction.
The battery story is a good lesson for everyone. We always have both a battery and a back-up meter (that uses the same battery) and when we travel, we bring both with us. I got stuck once with my watch not working and not being able to set the alarm. Not as dire as the meter conking out, but similarly stressful. Your AMPS and +1.5 this morning may indeed have been battery influenced.
Have a good evening with no meter problems!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +4 34, +6 72, PMPS 154

Well, the dosecrease was administered!!!! Let's see how Champ deals with it!!
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +4 34, +6 72, PMPS 154

I don't know what I would do if Gus came up with a 34!!!! He had a 42 and I had to change my Patience Pants. :lol:
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +4 34, +6 72, PMPS 154

Good job. Patty.....you know how long it takes him to clear a bounce. If he lingers past that, I'd consider taking him up some. You know him....IMHO, I wouldn't hang out for 72 hours if it looks like the bounce has cleared and he's just not liking the dose.

Newbies: that's just my thought on Champ because Patty tests alot and knows him pretty well. Plus it could be a crummy suggestion :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +4 34, +6 72, PMPS 154

Marje :lol: :lol: :lol: You and I think exactly alike. We've been doing this long enough, have already experienced failed reductions, so he is going up at the first sign of failure.

Champ is off his food for some reason. I think he's just completely bored with what I've been giving him and he now has a taste for the HC food. Oh well, the food is there if he wants it. The only meal I'm worried about him eating is the first one with his shot. After that, he'll eat when he's hungry, though I will bring him to his dish throughout the day and night to make sure he's eating something.
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +4 34, +6 72, PMPS 154

I thought we all had bought patience pants!! NOT! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Patty I put a voice file in my condo on how to say Enana :lol: :lol:

I wanna hear how you say it though!! Record it and post it!! You got me curious! :-D
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +4 34, +6 72, PMPS 154

I think we should let Mike say it. He has a way sexy voice :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/31 Champ AMPS 210, +4 34, +6 72, PMPS 154, +2 150

Okay, fun condo of the day! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Great numbers for Champ, and I understand your frustration with what to do to keep Champ out of the basement. I had a period of that with Willie and it was frustrating and exhausting. I ultimately had to take the full decreases because I simply wasn't there for most daytime cycles to effectively use carbs on an as-needed daily basis. The important thing is, until you try, you won't know if/when it will work for Champ. While we have a protocol and we follow it, there is a bit of trial and error for all of us. Because I made some mistakes in decisions on full decreases vs. shaves, I feel like my instincts are now much better as to what to do in a given situation. This is relatively uncharted territory for you, but even if you don't get a given dosecrease right, it is okay. The key is to keep Champ safe and allow him to be as healthy and happy as possible. You're well on your way to both!

The meter reminder is an important one. One of the reasons I will keep my Advocate meter as a backup is that it runs on AAA batteries. I almost always have them in the house, and if I'm in a real crunch and can't run out (though running out is now much easier with Walmart just 4 blocks away!), I can always borrow a couple from a remote.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top