7-31-18-Jones AMPS 268, +6 122, PMPS 302

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

He is still eating well, but he doesn't feel good. Maybe the heat, the high numbers, the food changes??? IM is in vacation. I am transferring his care back to our original vet. If it is close to his time, she is the one that will do it and is willing to come to my home for it.

I am going to try to book a consultation appointment with her as she just saw him a month ago for the dental and I don't want to stress him out.



@Wendy&Neko

We were doing the EOD dosing, if we do that again I would do the pulse dosing. It doesn't make sense to feel ill every second day. I wonder though if his turn around last time had to do with the short time he was on it before. I am not sure she will prescribe it though as his WCB and RBC tanked last time and he is already slightly anemic.


@Carol in Chicago

You are right and thanks for the encouragement. I have started the transition this morning to less renal and more LC and YA.
 
Last edited:
I am sorry the IM vet is on vacation, but it sounds like you trust the regular vet. I hope you can get a consult without Jones with her. Heat, food changes, and high numbers are all good reasons that he might feel off. Eat the good stuff Jones!

Neko was nauseous every day on EOD dosing. It took her 4-5 days to get over the pulsed dose, then we were clear for the next 9-10 days. And I probably wasn't giving her a large enough dose of the ondansetron. The cyclosporin you mentioned yesterday is a rescue drug for small cell, if chlorambucil stops working.
 
The pulsed dose is a larger dose but just once every two weeks. The size of the dose is according to a formula based on size, but they typically go by weight. If you use Leukeran vs. compounded chlorambucil capsules, you have to stick to multiples of 2 mg. Depending on his weight, it's likely 4 mg or 6 mg (2 or 3 pills). Neko and civvie Theo were on 6mg. That means a lot less meds per every two weeks compared to the EOD which is more like 2 mg EOD. Note that pulsed has been studied for small cell lymphoma, but I don't think there have been many if any formal studies on it's effectiveness for just IBD.

I tried Tylosin for Theo. It's bitter and I had a hard time getting the amount I needed to give stuffed in capsules. So you'll probably need to explore how to give it or if there is something other than powder. Apparently dogs eat it in food, cats no so much! :cat:
 
Thanks Wendy, I have made my notes.

The chlormabucil would be a last ditch effort. If it doesn't work then...it doesn't and we stop. We didn't do it long last time either...as it really affected is blood cell counts. Lots to weigh the benefit on.
 
Neko's first pulse dose impacted her red blood cell counts too. The IM vet listened to the oncologist he consulted and not me on dose. Turns out I was right on the dose and the oncologist was wrong. :rolleyes: When we lowered the dose, her numbers came back up.
 
Have a appointment for tomorrow at 2 pm. Pushing to bring him in...but I don't think anything has changed since she saw in on June 8th or the IM vet on July 21st outside of more weight loss.


I can see that 2mg every second day vs. 4mg/6mg for 1 day over a 14 days is weigh less meds. The IM vet called it a immunomodulator.

medical Definition of immunomodulator. : a chemical agent (as methotrexate or azathioprine) that modifies the immune response or the functioning of the immune system (as by the stimulation of antibody formation or the inhibition of white blood cell activity)

I wonder if that brief stint last time is what gave him the ability to recover and gain weight before..not sure of the time line on that though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top