7/31/14 Lola amps 149 NS +2 122 +4 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darin & Charlie

Member Since 2014
TR condoshttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122629
So on 7/24 Lola did not want anything to do with her 2nd pm meal. I started noticing she was full on not herself what so ever. She did not eat or drink the rest of the night. She would not eat or drink all day on Friday, Friday afternoon I brought her to vet.
Vet did a physical exam and sent me home with an appy stim, I was unable to give the dose. So I drove back to vet to have a vet tech give the dose. But they were to busy. I could not wait around cause I shot charlie at low numbers and needed to monitor him.
In the mean time I started to research the appy stim mirtazapine. I did not like the results. So I returned after charlie was in the clear. But from reading what 1/4 of the pill did to other cats I only brought 1/16 of the pill. It had no effect.
Saturday she was still not eating, so back to the vet we went. Decided to hospitalized her. She stayed for 2 days and DX diabetic.
Her first night home she seamed herself, but by Monday morning, she was not eating and not herself. Took her back to have vet tech give pill again. It help some what. Starting thinking more was wrong. Maybe pank, but now that she has been on insulin for 3 days she was at about 75% herself yesterday. As her numbers began to come down, she began to improve. By last nights pmps she was 90% herself. Her appy is back by 75%.
Last nights pmps was 132 gave NS. This mornings amps was 149 gave no shot, @+2 122. Looks like her pank kick in. That's is for now, time for work.
 
Its looking like it may be a story stay at the Lantus Estate's.
Amps 149 = NS
+2 122
+4 92

I think Lola saw how much time I was spending with charlie and was jealous. Now that she has had a taste, she seems to realize that she did not want to have that kind of attention
 
A "strong possibility" is that this was a panc attack that is clearing. That happens and it may never happen again. I hope she is done with both insulin and panc if that is what it was.
 
Good idea. I would not run the fPL though, because even if it was a panc attack, it has cleared and the results will be normal so you won't know if she had one or not. In my opinion it would be a waste of money. I would only test when the symptoms are there which might not ever happen. For what it's worth, my vet wouldn't have been so quick to start insulin but he is very conservative. That can be both good and bad. Good luck and please keep us posted as to what your vet says. By the way, you are posting in relaxed instead of tight lantus now. Is that your intent?
 
Hi Darin!

you know you can post wherever you want, but i wanted to show you this spreadsheet:

Davidson Take a look at Davidson's spreadsheet and notice how he had to go up in dose until he got to 2.75 the first week of February when he finally began to see green numbers.

Davidson's spreadsheet looks at the beginning a lot like Charlie's. With most cats, you have to go up and up in dose until you hit the sweet spot. When you get there, which with Charlie was at 3.75u. With Davidson it was at 2.75u. Different cats, different amounts, but same results. Davidson took the longest path possible going off of insulin - most of the time he got reductions of 0.25u by spending a week in normal numbers. But his pancreas gradually healed and he worked off of insulin and has now been off for several months. Getting cats into normal numbers and keeping them there is what is needed for their pancreas to heal. We've had cats do that even after years of being on insulin, but we do know that the sooner they get into normal numbers, the better their chances are for going off.

I think you got hit with a double whammy last week with Lola getting sick, not eating and having to go to the ER. I can only imagine how stressful that was, and i know you said it was affecting your relationship with your girlfriend.

I want to encourage you a little, though, because you had just gotten Charlie to that sweet spot and he was succeeding at holding his first dose reduction. That's awesome - and while no one can predict that a cat will heal & go off of insulin, Charlie looked optimistic. Some cats never succeed at holding reductions - that alone is a good sign.

If you decide to do what it says on Charlie's ss, not shoot under 150, that certainly will be easier on you & everyone in the short term, but for the most part, it will end up with a cat remaining diabetic for the rest of their lives. People do manage that and it's an ok choice to make, i just want to make sure you're informed when you make that choice. TR is intensive - very much so when a cat is doing well - but it's short term for many cats.

Whatever you decide, i will respect your choice and won't try to pressure you otherwise - i just want to make sure you understand the implications, and if no one tells you I don't know how you would know.

Hope you're having a good day! you must be celebrating that Lola is doing so well!
 
I plan on using that number short term, I just need a break from the stress. Yeah the double whammy hit me hard and a few nights with less then couple hrs of sleep. I had his AM shot time set 5.5 hrs before I had to work so I would not stress about his numbers. And with a multi-cat house I don't have the option to leave food out.

If I new that I did not have to work this morning I prob would have shoot the 102.

I've lost 2 cats in the last 1.5 yes because I was not recognizing the signs both were 10yrs old litter mates. So now the slightest change in behavior off to the vet we go. I would rather be safe then sorry.
 
Re: 7/31/14 Lola missed pmps NS +86

How do I get away from being obsessed about his numbers. I feel like I'm turning charlie into a number.
 
Well I can only tell you how I do it. Of course being a wife and Fur mom to 17 helps but when I feel like I'm turning one of my sugars into a pin cushion and a number if they are in obviously safe numbers I take only a certain number of test strips and put them into a separate empty test strip container and limit myself to just those tests. Usually preshots, nadir and a lights out test. Then when I get the urge to test more than that I grab a laser pointer, feather wand, string or some other interactive toy and go PLAY with my cat, or pick them up and have a good brushing, petting or just plain cuddling session.

I try to remember why I love that particular cat and if I'm really itching to test I go into researcher mode and play observer complete with notebook and start recording the Whole Cat Report. I record things like coat condition, energy level, the state of their 5Ps, etc.

And if all else fails I go for a walk, run errands, make a coffee or lunch date with a friend or just plain get out of the house for awhile.

I call them mental health breaks. Because if I don't take care of myself, I'm going to be useless to them and end up with caretaker burnout.

One thing my husband and I established when we adopted or first sugarcat was that Sundays were our day. The very basic daily have to things get done...feeding the animals, walking the dog, cleaning boxes, general picking up the house, and of course the minimal testing and shots. That's it! We eat out, we go do something as a couple whether that's working on the house, visiting friends or window shopping etc. He's not allowed to talk about work and I'm not allowed to talk about the cats.

It works for us..might or might not work for you.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top