7/30 Zener PMPS 515;+3 400;+6 454 pic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Zener is doing a little better today. He is benefiting from his anal gland expression on Monday, fluids, and he got some slippery elm bark this morning. A little bit of SEB about an hour before his preshot test, meds and food seems to help. Or maybe the beans are delusional. Or both. :lol: He had a nice poo this morning, Detective Poo was ever alert. :-D Good yard patrol, including a session at the catnip plant, which is now starting to bloom so I guess it's happy in our yard, feels appreciated. And watered. :lol: Zener is napping on his memory foam bed but thinks I should be petting him while typing one handed on the iPad. I took this picture last night.

Zener, surveying his domain.

Thinking of ailing kitties and beans, Amy's DF, Wendys's DM and DA, Dyana's J.D., Mariko's Lucy, Tricia, Cinco, and her civie Sasha. Happy Wednesday, LL!
Liz
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    110.2 KB · Views: 322
Re: 7/30 Zener AMPS 408;+3 438 pic & poo?

Night duty bean here. Zener is definitely eating better on the slippery elm, and resting more comfortably with reduced tummy cramps. But he is having episodes of pudding poo when we give it BID. Last night he had two fully formed poos in the his LB, then a soft poo this morning, followed by a liqui-poo about 5 hours after his slippery elm. Two poos a day is normal for our guy. But the pudding and liqui-poo started after his first BID with the slippery elm. We may have to stop it, but it seems to be helping his appy. We are giving him about 1/2 of what is recommended. Any ideas or thoughts from those who have used the slippery elm are appreciated.

Anne
 
Re: 7/30 Zener AMPS 408;+3 438 pic & poo?

Unfortunately I have no SEB experience so I can't answer your question, but I do like that it is helping his appy and tummy. Maybe you need to build up to the dosage you are using so his body can get used to it???

What a sweet picture - he looks so relaxed!!
 
Re: 7/30 Zener AMPS 408;+3 438 pic & poo?

Hi Ann, it might be one of the other chemical drugs that is triggering the diarrhea, and not the SEB. SEB is used to help with diarrhea as it is fibrous.

I would investigate what drugs you are giving him about 5 hours before the onset of the diarrhea. What brand and flavor of food are you feeding him these days? I am guessing, but even though he may like it, the food may have too high of a fat content for him to properly digest it.

I found that 1/8 tsp of baby food squash, not pumpkin, helped with one of my cats that had diarrhea because it also has fiber. To me, it sounds like Zener might need more fiber in his diet so that his poo can bulk up before it passes through, but I'm not a vet. If he can't have the squash because of diabetes, maybe try adding a very tiny amount of a 'cat safe' fiber to his food.

I would check out the food source first though, even before the meds, as a possible trigger for the runny poo.
 
Re: 7/30 Zener AMPS 408;+3 438 pic & poo?

i'm thinking I'd reduce the SEB to 1/2 dose you've been giving him. Seems reasonable to me that he might need to get used to a small dose and work up if it's needed.

nice to see a picture of our little buddy! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 7/30 Zener AMPS 408;+3 438 pic & poo?

I guess it's called Slippery Elm Bark for a reason!
Z Man, we love to see you surveying your yard from that comfy chair. Let's see some lower numbers now, OK?

Have a good evening, guys,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/30 Zener AMPS 408;+3 438 pic & poo?

What a great picture. I'm glad Zener is doing better today. I hope you can adjust the dose of SEB so it will work for him and not give him runny poo.
 
Re: 7/30 Zener PMPS 515 pic

Thanks everyone for your input and experience. We are gradually reducing some of his meds. And Liz is giving the SEB at least an hour to two before we do anything else in preparation for his test, meds, feed and shoot. We had read about the possible effect of SEB on preventing absorption of other meds. She is going to half his dose tomorrow and do the start low go slow approach! ;-) It does seem to be helping his tummy and appy, though it does make the exit of things very slippery, as Ella wrote! :lol:

Not very happy about the ahem number. So we have increased his dose a bit tonight. We did a BCS a few cycles ago and had held there for a few cycles because of poor appy. Appy seems slightly improved so we feel safe going back up.

Anne
 
Re: 7/30 Zener PMPS 515 pic

Good luck with the added jooce and the smaller SEB dose. I hope you find a good balance soon. :thumbup
Time to come down, Z man (gently, of course!).
 
Re: 7/30 Zener PMPS 515 pic

Good luck with the med adjustments and the new dose. Here's hoping for continued appy and the start of the famous Zener slide.

Love the Zener pic. A good spot to keep an eye on things.

Has Tillie made a move for the memory foam bed yet?
 
Re: 7/30 Zener PMPS 515 pic

Love the picture! Don't love the pmps number or the liqui-poo. Love that the SEB seems to be helping his tummy and hope that you guys can find the right dose. I never ended up starting Shasta on SEB, but I'm still considering it. I'll be curious to see what dose you settle on for the time being. Glad to hear Zener's feeling better. Sleep well!!
 
Re: 7/30 Zener PMPS 515 pic

I've used SEB for diarrhea and it's worked like a charm but I'm sure it's ECID. So try less and see how he does. I'm glad he's feeling better. :-D
 
Re: 7/30 Zener PMPS 515;+3 400 pic

Thanks all for your suggestions and experiences on the SEB. We are going to try a smaller dose and see how that goes. It definitely seems to be helping but if you looked for a picture of ECID in a dictionary, it would be our special guy! :twisted: Fortunately, he is on the way down!

Tillie has not yet made her way to the memory foam bed. She has two special beds of her own, one is heated enclosed cabin style bed (the pyramid we call it) - though the heat if off for now ;-) and the other is a fleece lined enclosed bed we call the private bed chambers. So, this is Zener's first special bed all his own. We shall see what the Queen of Everything commands from her subjects. :lol:

I am trying to get my self and my papers organized for my four weeks of travels - working a tournament and then chairing three meetings with three different groups makes for some crazy packing. And I am trying to pack light as I will be on many planes, trains and hotels. It is very hard to leave our guy but today was better, so that makes it a tiny bit easier. I'll be leaving tomorrow afternoon and Liz will take over as BIC, so please stop in and visit her and the kitties. :YMHUG:

Anne
 
Oh, Gee, Anne! You're going to be gone for 4 weeks? Liz, Zener and Tillie are going to miss you terribly! We'll have to provide lots of love and support to get them through, but you can count on your LL family!

You said you were giving less SEB than recommended, but how much are you giving? I use it for Sasha, since she has always had a sensitive stomach, and I give her about 1/3 of a 400 mg capsule, twice a day. It was helping her, before he radiation, etc. Now she only gets 1/3 a capsule once a day, but she has had no vomiting (anti-jinx) during this time, so I choose to believe the SEB is helping her still. She has been doing her pooing while she's at UCD, and they tell me that it's perfect, so another good sign.

Love the picture of Prince Zener surveying his kingdom. I'm glad he's doing better. Now he just needs to get the heck away from those numbers! C'mon down, Zener. I hear there's a party on the blue floor tomorrow! Why don't you join in?

Sending good appy and poo vines for Zener, and good travel vines for MamaAnnebean.
 
Glad to hear Zener is doing better with his appy. I hope the reduced dose of the slippery elm does the trick. I love the picture of Zener surveying his kingdom.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top