TokyoKitty
Member Since 2013
Sammy 7/29 condo
Hi all,
We had our first monthly visit at the vet yesterday. He did a +7 blood test, took one look at the number (79) :shock: , and pronounced Sammy to be cured! He instructed me to stop shooting insulin immediately and said it's not safe to shoot lower than 200. I suggested tapering off the insulin, but no way.
I managed to get a new levemir pen from him (just in case she relapses), but he would only give me 28 syringes (14 days worth). So I have 14 days or less to get Sammy off the juice. I'm a little worried...
She's on day 5 of her 0.25 dose, and doing well (in the greens). I upped her to 100% LC (was 80%) today. So I'm hoping we can decrease her dose to 1 drop after 2 more days, then keep her on that dose for 7, and hopefully (paws crossed) get to a point where we can stop the insulin before we run out of syringes.
Can someone please take a look at Sammy's spreadsheet to see if this is a reasonable/doable plan? How hard should I work on locating some syringes from an alternate source? (syringes are only available by prescription in Japan, and are banned for import from customs, so I'm not sure where else I could look...)
Thank god for FDMB. Poor Sammy would have been a goner weeks ago if I had stayed on the vet's recommended regimen. He means well, but he's hopelessly out of date in feline diabetes protocols.
7/30 recap:
AMPS 77
+1 88
+2 77
+3 67
Hi all,
We had our first monthly visit at the vet yesterday. He did a +7 blood test, took one look at the number (79) :shock: , and pronounced Sammy to be cured! He instructed me to stop shooting insulin immediately and said it's not safe to shoot lower than 200. I suggested tapering off the insulin, but no way.
I managed to get a new levemir pen from him (just in case she relapses), but he would only give me 28 syringes (14 days worth). So I have 14 days or less to get Sammy off the juice. I'm a little worried...
She's on day 5 of her 0.25 dose, and doing well (in the greens). I upped her to 100% LC (was 80%) today. So I'm hoping we can decrease her dose to 1 drop after 2 more days, then keep her on that dose for 7, and hopefully (paws crossed) get to a point where we can stop the insulin before we run out of syringes.
Can someone please take a look at Sammy's spreadsheet to see if this is a reasonable/doable plan? How hard should I work on locating some syringes from an alternate source? (syringes are only available by prescription in Japan, and are banned for import from customs, so I'm not sure where else I could look...)
Thank god for FDMB. Poor Sammy would have been a goner weeks ago if I had stayed on the vet's recommended regimen. He means well, but he's hopelessly out of date in feline diabetes protocols.
7/30 recap:
AMPS 77
+1 88
+2 77
+3 67