7/30 ROCKY PMBG 59 +13.5 84 +17 74 +18.5 66 +19.5 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL!

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122582&p=1274220#p1274220

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 65 +2 82 +4 64 +6 55 +8 55 +10 59
(no shot)PMBG 54 +14 71 +16 64 +17.5 70 +18 70 +19 65

I felt a bit nervous and scared this morning, shooting that 54 with a fat .50u, even though it was a reducie. Rocky's numbers have been very good latey, I believe at least 4 or 5 days in solid green numbers now. However, I think I have also been draining his depot a little each of those days-- he either did not get an AM shot, or a PM shot, one or the other, on those days too.

I fed him the Fancy Feast Beef Feast with 5% carbs for his AM mini-meal this morning, and that was a bit different for us. I usually feed him the NVIV 0% carbs right off the bat at the top of each cycle because I'd like to think that I am helping to keep his BG as low as it can go, but again, shooting the 54 this morning scared me a little, especially since his BG seemed to come down on it's own from 71 at PMBG +14 last night, to that 54 at AMPS this morning. The reason I gave him the shot is because I'm working to get his liver and pancreas adjusted to the smaller insulin dose, real s-l-o-w... At least I'd like to think I know what I'm doing. :lol:

Ruth, I would not give insulin to Rocky if he had any number in the 40s at his shot time. I know that you never said that and never suggested that. I just thought I'd throw that out there. I became less afraid of the "high" 40s when I read that some cats function better when their BG is in the 40s-- that would be healthy cats, cats without diabetes. This helped me to stop overfeeding the 40s with too many carbs.

It is my opinion that for Rocky, his pancreas was not healing as fast when we had to reduce his dose every time his BG went below 50, or even when he went below 50 three times (because that could happen in one cycle.) Of course, I had to monitor him extremely close when he was in the 40s, and very early on I did feed him constantly until he was WAY above 50, each time.

It is now 8 months for us into this diabetic dance, so we are both feeling a bit more relaxed about the testing and the shots, and of course, better BG numbers makes one feel more "safe" too. I don't know if Rocky is working his way into remission in this very moment or not, but we'll keep shooting for that day, and work at happily accepting whatever BG numbers it brings us. (and this is not easy for me. LOL! ) :lol:
 
Re: 7/30(reducie f.50u): AMPS 54 +2 74 +5 81

Thank you Angela! Considering that his BG has been able to surf the 50s and 60s on just a slightly bit more of insulin, it makes me wonder if the reductions will continue to be successful.
 
Re: 7/30(no PM shot):PMBG 59-- OTJ Trial Coming Soon?

I have skipped Rocky's shot tonight, like last night, not because I'm afraid of the 40s but because I want to see how much more his pancreas and liver can handle on their own. He did get a fat .50u this morning. Tomorrow morning, I will give him a skinny .50u. After that, I guess I move the plunger up the the zero line?

Oops, my bad. I guess I give him a .25u after the .50u. I wouldn't know how to give a fat or skinny .25u though. :?
 
Re: 7/30 ROCKY-(no PM shot):PMBG 59-- OTJ Trial Coming Soon?

Thank you Michelle! I'm so nervous about the reducies I've been giving him for a few days now, and then my skipping his shot at least one time a day, (Usually at night so that I can get some sleep.) :mrgreen:

It could happen that Rocky continue to do very well on a small amount of insulin, but still not go OTJ. I need to be mentally prepared for that possible outcome. :?
 
Re: 7/30 ROCKY-(no PM shot):PMBG 59-- OTJ Trial Coming Soon?

Hi there :cool:


I thought I'd throw in my $0.02 regarding if it's time for a trial however I'm not seeing any data on his ss since 07/14. . .
?????
(I've been absent for a bit and trying to get current. . . )
 
Re: 7/30 ROCKY-(no PM shot):PMBG 59-- OTJ Trial Coming Soon?

Hi Sandy!!

I have to go try and catch the last remaining kitten from a litter of three. I got their mom and two of her 9 week old babies last week, but the last little guy got away, darn it. Anyway, I've got to do that tonight and I may not get back until very late.. midnight.. It is taking me forever to plug in the data on Rocky's SS. I wish that the numbers turned white on the blue and green squares automatically. It just takes up so much of my time..

I've been writing all of the data on a notebook in my kitchen, so it's all there, well, it's all there and complete from July 14 on anyway. There were a few days in July that I didn't write the date on the notebook page and I had tore the pages out of the notebook. It got a little messed up. ohmygod_smile

Julie and Elise have told me to just put in the data for the past three days, but if I do that, and Rocky DOESN'T go OTJ, then I've got an SS chart that I have to do over, and I don't have that kind of time on my hands.

I'll see how I feel when I get home tonight, if I'm able to plow through the data. :-D
 
Re: 7/30 ROCKY-(no PM shot):PMBG 59-- OTJ Trial Coming Soon?

Good luck with the reduction Tina, and good luck updating all that missing data(what a headache! ohmygod_smile )
 
Re: 7/30 ROCKY-(no PM shot):PMBG 59-- OTJ Trial Coming Soon?

no grass growing under your feet. . . ;-)

So you have 15 or 16 days of data missing (some more missing than others). . .

my $0.02-
Start updating straight away. The cycles will continue to roll by and the job of catching up will just grow (as will your resistance to completing the task).
Don't worry about changing the font color - make it easy on yourself. Black works.

If you dedicate just 15mins each day to the task you will catch up in no time at all.
Lets say that each day for the next 5 days you use 15 mins. to enter 3 days of your backlog of data - the backlog will be gone.
And the picture would be easier to assess, not only for now but for 2, 3, 4 (etc.) years from now.

Do it - you'll be glad you did. :cool:
 
Re: 7/30 ROCKY-(no PM shot):PMBG 59-- OTJ Trial Coming Soon?

How about putting in the data starting with the most recent and going backwards? Leave space and fill in a little at a time. Good luck.
 
Re: 7/30 ROCKY-(no PM shot):PMBG 59-- OTJ Trial Coming Soon?

Tina, do you have a scanner? You could scan the pages of your notebook and send them to me and I could put then in your spreadsheet for you - I assume you could give me editing privileges. I'd be happy to do it for you on one of my late nights! I'd swing by your house and pick them up next time I'm in the Sacramento area, but I don't know when that will be.

Rocky is looking fantastic, and it makes me so happy! Keep up the great work with him! :-D
 
Re: 7/30 ROCKY-(no PM shot):PMBG 59 +13.5 84 +17 74

Elise, that's a great idea to work backwards! I didn't think about doing that, but I can do that and it would be much easier on me.

Tricia, I SO MUCH appreciate your offer to help input the data. I suppose everyone would like to know why I didn't put it into the computer in the first place? Well, I keep my laptop on my desk in my office because it's difficult to bring with me out of this room! I have a cat in here, Ace, who is incredibly friendly to humans but who would like to KILL any other cat in my house. Thus, I've had to separate him, and, he is a true escape artist! I literally have a fish net, you know the kind with the 2 foot pole attached to it, that I have to swing in front of me as I leave the room. I can't carry the pole and the computer at the same time. LOL!!

Sandy, you obviously have great diligence, which I am working to develop. It's already a little after 1:00am here, but I will I could backwards like Elise suggested and plug in a few days worth of data.. I am so tired.. I-) BTW, I DID catch the last kitten in this litter tonight and I am so grateful for that. Now, all three brothers are back together again. I was so worried about that little guy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top