Tina & Rocky
Member Since 2013
Good morning LL!
Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122582&p=1274220#p1274220
Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 65 +2 82 +4 64 +6 55 +8 55 +10 59
(no shot)PMBG 54 +14 71 +16 64 +17.5 70 +18 70 +19 65
I felt a bit nervous and scared this morning, shooting that 54 with a fat .50u, even though it was a reducie. Rocky's numbers have been very good latey, I believe at least 4 or 5 days in solid green numbers now. However, I think I have also been draining his depot a little each of those days-- he either did not get an AM shot, or a PM shot, one or the other, on those days too.
I fed him the Fancy Feast Beef Feast with 5% carbs for his AM mini-meal this morning, and that was a bit different for us. I usually feed him the NVIV 0% carbs right off the bat at the top of each cycle because I'd like to think that I am helping to keep his BG as low as it can go, but again, shooting the 54 this morning scared me a little, especially since his BG seemed to come down on it's own from 71 at PMBG +14 last night, to that 54 at AMPS this morning. The reason I gave him the shot is because I'm working to get his liver and pancreas adjusted to the smaller insulin dose, real s-l-o-w... At least I'd like to think I know what I'm doing. :lol:
Ruth, I would not give insulin to Rocky if he had any number in the 40s at his shot time. I know that you never said that and never suggested that. I just thought I'd throw that out there. I became less afraid of the "high" 40s when I read that some cats function better when their BG is in the 40s-- that would be healthy cats, cats without diabetes. This helped me to stop overfeeding the 40s with too many carbs.
It is my opinion that for Rocky, his pancreas was not healing as fast when we had to reduce his dose every time his BG went below 50, or even when he went below 50 three times (because that could happen in one cycle.) Of course, I had to monitor him extremely close when he was in the 40s, and very early on I did feed him constantly until he was WAY above 50, each time.
It is now 8 months for us into this diabetic dance, so we are both feeling a bit more relaxed about the testing and the shots, and of course, better BG numbers makes one feel more "safe" too. I don't know if Rocky is working his way into remission in this very moment or not, but we'll keep shooting for that day, and work at happily accepting whatever BG numbers it brings us. (and this is not easy for me. LOL! ) :lol:
Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122582&p=1274220#p1274220
Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 65 +2 82 +4 64 +6 55 +8 55 +10 59
(no shot)PMBG 54 +14 71 +16 64 +17.5 70 +18 70 +19 65
I felt a bit nervous and scared this morning, shooting that 54 with a fat .50u, even though it was a reducie. Rocky's numbers have been very good latey, I believe at least 4 or 5 days in solid green numbers now. However, I think I have also been draining his depot a little each of those days-- he either did not get an AM shot, or a PM shot, one or the other, on those days too.
I fed him the Fancy Feast Beef Feast with 5% carbs for his AM mini-meal this morning, and that was a bit different for us. I usually feed him the NVIV 0% carbs right off the bat at the top of each cycle because I'd like to think that I am helping to keep his BG as low as it can go, but again, shooting the 54 this morning scared me a little, especially since his BG seemed to come down on it's own from 71 at PMBG +14 last night, to that 54 at AMPS this morning. The reason I gave him the shot is because I'm working to get his liver and pancreas adjusted to the smaller insulin dose, real s-l-o-w... At least I'd like to think I know what I'm doing. :lol:
Ruth, I would not give insulin to Rocky if he had any number in the 40s at his shot time. I know that you never said that and never suggested that. I just thought I'd throw that out there. I became less afraid of the "high" 40s when I read that some cats function better when their BG is in the 40s-- that would be healthy cats, cats without diabetes. This helped me to stop overfeeding the 40s with too many carbs.
It is my opinion that for Rocky, his pancreas was not healing as fast when we had to reduce his dose every time his BG went below 50, or even when he went below 50 three times (because that could happen in one cycle.) Of course, I had to monitor him extremely close when he was in the 40s, and very early on I did feed him constantly until he was WAY above 50, each time.
It is now 8 months for us into this diabetic dance, so we are both feeling a bit more relaxed about the testing and the shots, and of course, better BG numbers makes one feel more "safe" too. I don't know if Rocky is working his way into remission in this very moment or not, but we'll keep shooting for that day, and work at happily accepting whatever BG numbers it brings us. (and this is not easy for me. LOL! ) :lol: