7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +8.5=48 +9=37 +10.5=94 Thank you

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liz4Paws

Member Since 2013
Hi LL!

Sorry the check-ins have been kind of sporadic lately. We were up every night with Miss Nadia due to her tanking numbers and the days were spent recovering/sleeping. I had to go to work yesterday, and luckily I am working from home. Nadia had her lowest AMPS ever at 151. I'm hoping she surfs the blues and greens today! Fingers and paws crossed. :)

I hope everyone is having a great Tuesday.
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 Lowest AMPS ever! :)

Nice start for the day!!

I'm curious why you reduced Nadia from 0.75 to 0.75s after only 3 cycles on the 0.75u dose. It doesn't look like Nadia dropped below 50.
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 Lowest AMPS ever! :)

She dropped into the 50s 3 nights in a row over the weekend. DH didn't update the SS but she dropped on Sunday night too. Not sure if that warranted the drop, but I just shaved a hair off of the dose. Not even sure if that is considered a "skinny" since there isn't a .25 mark. Do you think that was a mistake? I can definitely up it to where it was.

EDIT
I meant to say 40s 3 nights in a row!
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +2=112 Lowest AMPS ever! :)

Oh I'm getting excited. She's doing wonderfully today! 112 for the +2. I can tell she's feeling like a million bucks because she's getting into everything - something I haven't seen her do since she was a kitten. Shes finding boxes to sit in, rolling around on the floor. Shes starting a rumpus with the civvie cat. She seems bored. :)

Sienne, do you think I shouldn't have shaved the dose? I admit I don't know what I'm doing and honestly, it was just shaving it by a hair. No way to really be exact anyway without a .25u mark. I'm a willing student if you tell me to do something different.
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +2=112 Lowest AMPS ever! :)

When you have time, or DH does, put those 40's on the SS. :-).

Nadia dropped to 47 in the wee hours of Monday morning....
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=101068

She went to 46 overnight Saturday, and down from 294 to 54 at +3.5 Friday night and needed "intervention" .

Fun times this weekend!
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +2=112 Lowest AMPS ever! :)

I just updated it. THANK YOU, CARL! It was indeed a partyin' kind of weekend. DH tested her at 42 at +6 on Sunday and gave her some HC food and accidently fell asleep. I'm not sure what happened between that and the +9. But we do know she dropped into the 40s Sunday night too. :shock:
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +2=112 Lowest AMPS ever! :)

I don't know that there will be much difference between .75 and a skinny .75, numbers-wise.
But I can understand you shaving it after three nights of diving and not much sleep.

I'd pick one or the other and try to duplicate it each cycle and let Nadia decide which dose she likes best.:-) Ifshe decides it is too much, she'll point you towards .5u when she is ready.
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +2=112 Lowest AMPS ever! :)

To be totally honest, a skinny .75u seems to be easier for me to measure consistently on the syringe. Since there are no .25u marks, we do our best to be consistent but I don't feel 100% confident they are the exact same dose after dose. The way I'm doing the skinny version seems to be a lot easier for me to line up and feel exact about. So if the importance is in consistency, I'm going to stick with the skinny for now. Today she's rockin' it like a rock star!!! Woot woot! Meow Meow!
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +2=112 +4= 86 +5=88 +6=70 +7=42 Help

Nadia was doing great all day. Even at her +6 she was at a good number. I just tested her at +7 and she dropped to 42! I gave her about 2 tsp of HC gravy.

This is the fourth time she's tanked into the 40s in the past week (see chart, we adjusted the dose.)

I haven't had her tank this far into the cycle though. Should I have given her HC gravy? I should probably know for future reference. I'll test again in 30 minutes and report back.

And for what it's worth, she has a vet appointment for a potential arthritis issue and we have to crate her up and head out in 1.5 hours. Should I be worried about getting her up quickly?

Man I feel frustrated that this happened. It makes me scared to death to leave for work when this kind of thing happens.
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +2=112 +4= 86 +5=88 +6=70 +7=42 Help

Marje and Gracie said:
Did you give her two big tsp HC gravy and retest in 30?

Yes, I gave her 2tsp of HC gravy but it won't be 30 minutes from when I gave it to her for another 19 minutes.

Just for my learning, was that the right thing to do this far into the cycle?
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +2=112 +4= 86 +5=88 +6=70 +7=42 Help

Okay, that makes me feel like I'm learning appropriately! Thanks. Since I have only 1 hour before leaving for the vet, should I be carbbing her up? I realize that if she's going to drop, a vet isn't the worst place for it to happen LOL but I don't want her to need medical intervention there if I can help it. Anything I can do to avoid that kind of situation?
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +4= 86 +5=88 +6=70 +7=42 +7.5=55Help

She may go up from stress, plus the insulin wearing off.

Check 30 min from when you gave the high carb to see if you need nore food on board.
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +4= 86 +5=88 +6=70 +7=42 +7.5=55Help

I also think her BG is likely to go up a bit. When Gracie is lower like that and I'm going to the vet, I test before I go and if shes still low, i take my meter/strips and some food.

You can give Nadia a couple good tsp LC now and then test before you go.
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +4= 86 +5=88 +6=70 +7=42 +7.5=55Help

She was at 55 when I tested at the 30 min mark from when I gave her the first HC gravy. I gave her 1 more tsp of HC gravy before I read your responses and am testing again in 8 minutes. Hopefully she will only need LC food, or none at all when I test again. :)
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +4= 86 +5=88 +6=70 +7=42 +7.5=55Help

Crap. Just tested again and at +8 she was at 40! I did a second test to be sure, it came back at 45. So it dropped since the last time when I gave her 1tsp HC food.

Does this mean her dose is still too high?

Edit: I made a typoe in her BG level. It was 40 then 45
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +5=88 +6=70 +7=42 +7.5=55 +8=45 Help

I gave her like 3 more tsp of HC gravy 30 min ago, and she's still at 48! I'm freaking out a bit....
We are at +8.5.
I'm giving her even more gravy now but she's about 10 minutes from getting in a crate for the vet. Panicked!

I will be watching closely for any replies...anything else I can do? Karo?
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +7=42 +7.5=55 +8=45 +8.5=48 Not risi

Yes...at this point, give her a drop of karo. I'm at vet appt and will have to look at SS later. Sorry....
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +7=42 +7.5=55 +8=45 +8.5=48 Not risi

Thanks, just forced some karo in her. She didn't want it willingly. I put her in the crate and am heading out the door now. praying all ends well!

Would someone be able to take a look at my chart and tell me if it makes sense to put her at .5u again? This is getting crazy... :(
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +7=42 +7.5=55 +8=45 +8.5=48 Not risi

I'm at the vet, brought her testing supplies and even after karo and loads of gravy she's at 37. I asked for help and they gave dextrose i think?

I'm ready to cry.
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +7=42 +7.5=55 +8=45 +8.5=48 +9=37!

oh you poor thing...

this is so hard....highly stressful......but believe me....

you are in the best possible place right now.....

the best place

they will make your kitty rise.....

don't worry about the dose right now.....

make sure you post what the vet tells you regarding dose....

and the other experienced members will give their advice too

you did great today!!! just breathe and relax......

~kelly
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +7=42 +7.5=55 +8=45 +8.5=48 +9=37!

Hang in there.

I had a housemate misread new U-100 syringes and give 10 units not 1 and Spitzer survived thanks to a dextrose drip. If its just a tad too much insulin, they'll be able to stabilize her.
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +7=42 +7.5=55 +8=45 +8.5=48 +9=37!

Thanks for the encouragement.

I just got back from the vet. This was my first time at this new vet, mind you. I was actually there for the popping sound in Nadia's knee, and only by coincidence did she decide to tank her BG levels for this appointment.

After HC gravy and karo only resulted in lowered levels at home, the vet gave her 3ccs of dextrose and by the time we got back home 1.5 hours later she was at 94 again at +10.5. I'm not sure if this latest number is just reflecting the dextrose that was administered or what but I'm way too nervous to give her a shot tonight which is in 1.5 hours. The vet said to skip it too.

The vet also suggested I lower Nadia to .5u starting tomorrow. I was already contemplating the .5u dose anyway so I hope this is the right thing to do. I can't believe how hard it's been keeping her above the 50 mark during cycles lately, this has been going on for over 5 days straight now and thank God I've been around. But I've missed a lot of sleep and I can't miss any more work this week:( It's really tearing me down....tears are coming shortly. I'm sure.

I have to go to work tomorrow. I hope that you guys approve of the .5u too? I feel incredibly lost and today's fiasco was pretty traumatizing.

I wish there was some way to know this was helping her pancreas heal! :(
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +8.5=48 +9=37 +10.5=94 bad day

(((Liz)))
It is indeed helping her pancreas heal.... all numbers in the good range (50 -120) are healing numbers.
She's just letting you know the dose needs to go down earning her decrease with flair.
54044605_200.jpg
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +8.5=48 +9=37 +10.5=94 bad day

Hey Liz - I'm so sorry you had to go through all that today. Believe me, you are not alone! You need to take a look at Bob's ss and look at last Wednesday and this past Sunday - I had to sit in my house and give him maple syrup for 8 hours straight because he was in the 40's/30's and he wouldn't eat. I thought I was going to lose my mind. Ive also missed a lot of work and sleep and pretty much feel like I could go insane. It helped that everyone has bee so nice and helpful. I took Bob down a whole unit so I could go to work and feel ok about it. Do what you have to do to keep Nadia safe. I think she earned the reduction anyway (obviously!). It looks like I may have to go up on Bob again, but I'm ok with that. There are multiple others - Alexis & Nikki and Kelly & Tom (and others I'm sure) who are dealing with those scary numbers right now too.

Haha! Rhiannon's picture is hysterical!

Have a good night and I hope you get some good rest!
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +8.5=48 +9=37 +10.5=94 bad day

No good advice (I'm still too new) but nice to meet you. It looks like you've had a scary last few days and I hope the new dose clicks for you and your kitty!
 
Re: 7/30 Nadia AMPS=151 +8.5=48 +9=37 +10.5=94 bad day

Thank you for the giggle, rhiannon! I needed that. :)

Dara - I have lurked in your condo (like a creepy person, sorry lol) and have seen your struggle with Bob. I actually thought of you today when I was about to cry at the vet because I know you've really been through a lot lately yourself! Thank you for the kind words. I'll try to comment on your condo next time instead of just lurking. I just never know what to say since I'm so new. Forgive me... :(

Pete - It's nice to meet you too! Thank you for the encouragement also! Welcome to the board. I'm very new as all, but this board has been a literal God send. :) Glad you are here!
 
I just read Carl's post about mullet and it put my whole "bad day" in perspective. So much thoughts and prayers for Carl right now!
 
Liz - I agree with lowering her dose to .5 U. Any time a kitty goes below 40, they should get a full .25U deduction, especially newly diagnosed cats. Sounds like you have a pretty good vet there. I hope Nadia performed her knee popping on cue so it can be diagnosed.

BTW - You are doing GREAT!!! Breathe and relax tonight. Maybe even have an adult beverage. :-D Sometimes the beans have to take care of themselves so they can take care of their cat. Tomorrow is a new day and a new dose. :YMHUG:

ETA: Anytime you have to work really hard to keep a cat's number up, it's time to think about reducing.
 
I'm sorry that you had such a rough day, I hope tomorrow is better. With the trouble that you had getting Nadia to come up and stay up, it seems like she is telling you that she wants a reduction. :-D

Hope you have a good night,

Kathie
 
I would just go ahead with the dose reduction to 0.50. You can always go up again if it doesn't hold.
 
Thank you again for the kind words and encouragement. I feel much better now.

I know there's no one out there with a crystal ball, but should I feel pretty confident after tonight's skipped dose giving her a reduced dose tomorrow (.5u) and then heading to work? I don't have even a little wiggle room to be home tomorrow anytime from +2 until +9. She should be fine, right?
 
If you're super concerned and the glucose hasn't zoomed up, you could give just a token dose of 0.25 units, since going so low may have made her a big more sensitive to the insulin.
 
Liz

I am so sorry I couldn't stay with you. I was waiting for the vet, too, and then had to put my phone away while we were in there. My apologies. I'm glad they gave her some dextrose.

With Nadia being newly dx, I think you should give her a .25u reduction any time she earns a reduction unless she starts to show a habit of failing them. The depot can be a difficult thing to deal with if it gets ahead of you. You might want to read this information on Reductions.

You did a great job today and I know it was stressful for you. I'm glad you skipped tonight. Hopefully between the reduction and the skip, her depot will drain a bit more.

HOpe you get some rest.
 
Liz,
GREAT JOB today!! Hope Nadia's new dose slows things down a bit for you. Get some sleep tonight I-) You have earned it!!
 
Marje - no worries at all! No need to apologize. I don't expect anybody to have to sit around at my beckon call. In fact it gave me good practice for having to think on my feet. I learn best sometimes when I have to make decisions and then look back and debrief on what I did right vs what I did wrong. So all of this feedback has been immensely helpful!!!

THank you all for the encouragement. I'm off to bed. Nadia is back up do 213 at I guess what would be +13.75? She's still mad at me for dragging her to the vet today. She's been cursing at me all night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top