? 7/30 Leda AMPS 94, +2 74, +4 76, PMPS 78 +2.5 59 earning a reduction by staying in normal numbers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Madrona and Leda (GA)

Member Since 2016
No condo for a while. I've been really busy, but Leda's been doing great, and now I'm wondering about taking a reduction based on a week of normal numbers. The highest I've measured Leda in the last week is 117, but he also had a skipped shot (I had to be away from early in the day until PMPS) and a late shot (my evening field work schedule has been erratic), so I'm tempted to give him another week, and see whether he pulls a typical cat and throws me some higher numbers right before I go for a reduction :rolleyes:.

I also have a food question. I gather that Wellness has changed their grain free formula in a way that significantly increases the phosphorus. Though Leda hasn't been diagnosed with kidney issues (nor has he been cleared of them--he just hasn't been to the vet in quite some time), he's 18 and I've been trying to avoid high phosphorus on principle. Is it o.k. to just reduce how often I feed him a can of Wellness (it has been 1/2 to 1/3 of his diet at this point, interspersed with Weruva) or should I donate the remaining cases and find another brand that he likes and is lower in phosphorus?

Thanks for any suggestions and feedback.

Vines and good health to all, safe surfing for the kitties :cool::D:cat:.
 
Leda's numbers look great! With 7 days of normal numbers, you can take a reduction. Are you possibly giving a snack at +8 or +9? It may help to lower Leda's pre-shot numbers.

Depending on how much Wellness you have on hand, you might want to gradually wean Leda off if you're trying to be proactive. Of course, it would be best if you had an annual vet visit, especially for a senior kitty. At least you'd have a baseline on kidney values.

 
Are you possibly giving a snack at +8 or +9? It may help to lower Leda's pre-shot numbers.

Depending on how much Wellness you have on hand, you might want to gradually wean Leda off if you're trying to be proactive. Of course, it would be best if you had an annual vet visit, especially for a senior kitty. At least you'd have a baseline on kidney values.

Leda normally (though not always) gets at +9 snack--and I'll try to be more diligent about making sure he gets it (he'll sometimes eat it out of the autofeeder).

Unfortunately through a weird mailing mixup I currently have 3 cases of Wellness onhand, but I'll see if I can get Leda off of it sooner rather than later. We have a wonderful local animal protection society I can donate the food to, and they'll use it for their fosters and pass some of it along to folks in need for their kitties through the local food bank.

We've just got one vet on the island and he has a rather hands off approach (which at least means we have no conflicts over how I treat Leda's diabetes) but I should probably see if I can get Leda in for some BW and a general check up.

Thanks Sienne!
 
My vet would want to see Gabby x2 a year after she was 10 yo. Just like with humans, anything can sneak up on an aging kitty and some things you can intervene early and prevent more of a problem. Diabetes is hard on the kidneys so being proactive also makes sense.
 
Nice job Leda! I think a vet appointment is a good idea since it's been a while.

What is number for phosphorus to be kept under for kitties with CKD? My civvie is just starting with some signs but as of now, I am still feeding raw. What about using a phosphorus binder with the 3 cases of food?
 
Rusty would't eat the new formula Wellness at all. I'm desperately trying to find a food I can feed on a regular basis. Wellness Chicken and Wellness Turkey were my staples. Fortunately I've been able to find 20 cans of the old formula in local stores, but when it's gone, it's gone! I've begun trying Holistic Select Chicken (they haven't changed the formula for Holistic Select yet--it's the same company). Rusty likes it OK, but not as much as old Wellness. I think the phos. is about the same as old Wellness.

Yo Deputy Leda,
Congrats on the reducie. Good to see you on duty in the lagoon.
~LagoonMeister Rusty
 
He treats the new Wellness just like the old one--good but not quite as good as Weruva, unless he's sick of Weruva in which case it is manna from heaven :rolleyes:
:p:p:p:p Does he still like the home made raw?

Looking good Leda.:D

Been thinking of you Madrona - great weather to be out near the ocean. Though we could use a little rain about now.
 
:p:p:p:p Does he still like the home made raw?

Looking good Leda.:D

Been thinking of you Madrona - great weather to be out near the ocean. Though we could use a little rain about now.

He still loves homemade raw, and now would probably be a good time to add more of it to his diet. I switched back to mostly canned because on raw I found his BG less consistent, but he's been pretty predictable for the last few months, so I'd be ok with experimenting. That solves my Wellness cans problem, and Leda will be thrilled!

I'd love some rain--but being near the water in this weather is wonderful. I hope to spend even more time on the water soon, as my DH and I went in with some good friends to buy a little fixer-upper motor boat, and as soon as I can get a break in work I hope to finish work on it and get it relaunched.

Hope you've been enjoying the calm water @Wendy&Neko :bighug:
 
At 5:30 AM, the water is pretty calm! :p Nobody but us and the odd PITB water skier that decides they have to come over and disturb the water. Have fun with the new boat, you live in a great place to explore.

Good luck with the raw - hope Leda's numbers stay steady.
 
Just a couple of suggestions (I assume you are looking for pate type?)

ORGANIX - Grain Free Chicken Pate
ORGANIX - Grain Free Turkey Pate
SOULISTIC - Pate and Shreds Chicken Dinner in Gelee
Thank you! I'll check into these. My main problem is that I live in the "boonies" and there are very few places where I can buy anything more exotic than Fancy Feast. And I don't want to order a case of something Rusty hasn't even tried. The next time I'm in NY City, I'll be looking for the Organix. Shreds are out: Rusty only has 5 teeth.
 
He still loves homemade raw, and now would probably be a good time to add more of it to his diet. I switched back to mostly canned because on raw I found his BG less consistent, but he's been pretty predictable for the last few months, so I'd be ok with experimenting. That solves my Wellness cans problem, and Leda will be thrilled!

I'd love some rain--but being near the water in this weather is wonderful. I hope to spend even more time on the water soon, as my DH and I went in with some good friends to buy a little fixer-upper motor boat, and as soon as I can get a break in work I hope to finish work on it and get it relaunched.

Hope you've been enjoying the calm water @Wendy&Neko :bighug:
So, what happens if you switch him back to homemade raw? My vet is insinuating that I might have to ditch the raw at some point because it is too much protein. I haven't been able to wrap my mind around the CKD yet......
 
So, what happens if you switch him back to homemade raw?
He'll be thrilled, and as for his BG....we'll find out. I didn't find any meat I wanted for him at the market today, but I'll check back tomorrow. I hadn't thought about the high protein as an issue, but then again Leda isn't diagnosed as CKD either, I'm just trying to be proactive given his age (shhh, he thinks he's still 7 ;)).
 
My main problem is that I live in the "boonies" and there are very few places where I can buy anything more exotic than Fancy Feast.
I know how that is! When I was trying to find canned food for Leda I ordered some from onlynaturalpet.com because they sell individual cans (their prices for cases are high, so I just used them for sampling). Unfortunately it looks like they don't carry Organix or Soulistic. But maybe there's something they do that Rusty might like to try.
 
So, what happens if you switch him back to homemade raw? My vet is insinuating that I might have to ditch the raw at some point because it is too much protein. I haven't been able to wrap my mind around the CKD yet......
Hogwash! Old vet school thinking was low protein for CKD kitties. Newer studies show it's good quality protein, low phosphorus you need at first. Neko was at stage 3/4 in her CKD, and her IM vet fully supported her on a raw diet.
 
Hogwash! Old vet school thinking was low protein for CKD kitties. Newer studies show it's good quality protein, low phosphorus you need at first. Neko was at stage 3/4 in her CKD, and her IM vet fully supported her on a raw diet.
This is good to know, thanks Wendy! I thought I remembered reading that way back. If I am feeding raw that is ground from the butcher without bones, should the phosphorus be lower?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top