7/30, Freya AMPS - 400, +10.5 - 242

Tim & Freya

Member Since 2026
Last night's dose didn't seem to have any effect. She remained around 400 all night. After this morning's shot though, she steadily trended down, currently at 242.

Also, good news is she seems okish with the Gravy Lovers Pate and Dr Elsey's clean protein dry food. My goal is to transition her to entirely wet, but at the moment just need to make sure she keeps eating. Hoping we're making some progress toward regulation and getting her feeling good.
 
All night in the 400s again. I'm starting to wonder if I'm not getting the injection in properly all the time. I'm using 8mm 31g needles, tent the skin and push full depth with the needle. I don't generally smell the Lantus on her fur after. I have seen a drop at the base of the needle afterwards a couple times, but I thought it might have been leftover from when I primed the extra out while prepping. 1U is such a small dose it's hard to tell.

When I was doing subq fluids on my CKD girl it was easy to tell when you got through the skin, I'd get resistance and then a punch through feeling. I don't feel that with Freya and just assumed it was because these are much thinner needles.
 
Hi Tim,
It sounds like you’re doing things the right way in terms of your injection, it may just be a matter of the depot building as Wendy mentioned in your last post. It does take a little bit of time.
Glad to see some yellows on her spreadsheet 🍋
Hopefully soon you will start to see her BG drop a bit and then after seven days you’ll be able to raise her dose while following SLGS
(of course if she drops under 90 you would reduce the dose, but you would ask for help here and we can advise you) 🥰
I hope Freya comes down soon and you start to see better BG! 😻

Here is your last post for continuity.
Please link the last post each time you make a new post, it helps people to be able to help you easier.
Don’t stress that you hadn’t remembered to do it, it takes a little bit of time to get used to how we do things around here so we can all help each other 🥰
7/29 Freya AMPS 400+
 
Back
Top