Re: 7/30 Cobb AMPS 314(No R) +5 279
Great question, Tina. I'll try to explain it as I understand it. But if I get it wrong, someone PLEASE correct me!!
So, Cobb has IAA. As I understand it, the antibodies his body produces are in response to the Lantus. That is the insulin his body perceives as a foreign invader. He has no antibodies to Levemir, simply because he's never had Lev. That doesn't mean that his body wouldn't react the same way to it or develop a resistance.
Lev is also a long-acting insulin. A lot of people have found that it creates a smoother curve. You'll notice Cobb's curves aren't always an inverted bell. Some people have found that acro/IAA cats can maintain lower BGs without any spikes on Lev because it lasts a little longer than Lantus and so we're able to take advantage of that overlap. I believe it has a later onset as well. So whereas Lantus' onset occurs around +3, Lev may be at +5 or +6, and so it is still in effect at +12 when you're shooting again.
The other advantage, if you want to call it an advantage, to Lev is that it is PH-neutral. I don't notice that the Lantus stings Cobb when I shoot him, but some people have reported that higher doses sting when injected. Lev doesn't sting when injected.
I also believe Lev is a little bit stronger. I've maxed out the syringe with Cobb. I give him 31units. And my 31unit is eyeballed. There's no line for that 31st unit. I just picked a place on the syringe that
looks like it is about an extra unit so I call it "31u" on my spreadsheet. I refuse to use 2 syringes every day for the same insulin. (I'm stubborn like that.) But with Lev, the starting dose when switching would be a bit lower. And since it is stronger, I might be able to only give him say 25 units a day instead of 31. And if the antibodies don't bind to it, I may be able to bring his dose down even further.
Right now it's a guessing game because we have no idea how Cobb would react to Lev. It may work incredibly well. It might not work at all. One thing that I think might really help is Cobb has seen some very nice numbers on the 31units. I said I wasn't going any higher and he's responded to that threat. :lol: But part of me wonders...is that right dose really 32units of Lantus? The syringe is only so long and I can only guesstimate and eyeball so much after the 30unit markings, so I haven't tried to take him up. Plus, we're flying through some Lantus right now. I'd love for him to be at a "reasonable" amount of insulin. Not that anything over 10u is really "reasonable" in my mind, but man...if I only had to measure out 20units, I'd be a happy little lady! :lol:
