7/30 Chinookie PMPS 371, +2 312, +3 318

Status
Not open for further replies.

ErinElizabeth

Member Since 2013
We started lantus tonight. One unit. Thanks to everyone who helped me with humulin. I'm very overwhelmed for some reason, it feels like starting over, and I don't feel like kitty has been seeing any better numbers yet... I only just started home testing, and really felt like I needed to switch insulin ASAP as I started watching the numbers...

Doesn't seem like we'll drop too low tonight? I'll see if I can stay up for a +4 test. What do you think? I can test tomorrow PMPS AND at +2, and +5.

Note to self: teach husband to test cats glucose.... ;-)
 
Humulin and Lantus are very different. It can take 5 - 7 days for Chinookie to begin to respond. It takes that long for the insulin depot to form. I suspect you'll be find if you get a good night's sleep tonight.
 
Hi again Erin!! I know it's easy to get discouraged. We all want our kitties to be cured yesterday, but you just started on the Lantus. It's a depot insulin and it just takes time to "fill the depot".

Since you just started, you need to hold the 1u for 5-7 days unless Chinookie "earns" a reduction by dropping below 50 (so the depot can fill), and you can see how he does as you get more data to compare to. At this point, I would seriously doubt if you're going to see a low number overnight since you just shot for the first time tonight.

You should always test before shooting, and if you get a number under 200, it's best to ask for guidance until there's more data on your spreadsheet to indicate how he reacts. As much as you can, you should try to get a +2 (it can help indicate if you're going to have an active cycle, a normal one, or a quiet one), as well as some checks at different times during the cycles. It's also a good idea to get a before bed test too. Lots of cats drop lower at night.

A bit of a housekeeping note. Here in Lantus Land, we post once a day (we call them condo's) and add information or questions as we need to. As you get new tests, you "edit" your original post (like you've done here) in the subject line. Directly above the "Subject" line are a row of icons. If you add the ?, people will know you have a question and take a look sooner. If it's an emergency and you need advice right away, you can always add the 911. Once the emergency is over (or your question is answered to your satisfaction) you can take the icon down by clicking on "None" in your original post. Only the original post shows the icons to everyone at a glance.
link to earlier condo

Try to be patient. Chinookie didn't develop diabetes overnight...it'll take time to start getting some better numbers, but the people here are happy to share their experience with others, and will always make sure that no matter what, Chinookie is SAFE first

Good luck to you both!!
 
No he didn't develop it overnight. But we got a diabetic kitty overnight...
He was a stray that found us. I assumed by the looks and smell of him he was dying, actually. With no teeth and a strong smell of infection and a backend that wasn't moving real well...
But he nestled his way in here, and the dogs (which now feel neglected) took to him right away.
So I'll spend the $$ and do what I need to do. :-) just a tremendous amount on my plate right now!
 
I know...It seems a lot of cats aren't picked....They do the picking...then they train us to serve them :-D

it seems overwhelming right now (and to a certain extent, it is...the learning curve is fast and there's a lot to it), but I know with China, we've gotten even closer than we were before. She was pretty much a loner among my cats, but now she's spending much more time purring on my leg, or curled up next to me. You just have to do your best to continue to show your doggies that you still love them, and they haven't lost their place in your heart. Luckily, love doesn't divide, it multiplies, but I really do understand how overwhelming it is when you first start this sugardance. All I can say is that it WILL get better once you get some more data and can better "predict" what Chinookie is going to do through the cycle. Trust that little voice in your head...if it's telling you something isn't quite right, get a quick test.

You don't say what you're feeding, but the Friskies pates at Wal Mart are inexpensive and low carb.

Where are you located? If you've in a country with WalMart, they have a Relion Prime meter that's about $15 and the strips that go with it are only $9 for 50. I'm not familiar with the meter you're using, but I know the biggest cost seems to be for those test strips!!
 
I was feeding friskies pâtés but special kitty by walmart is even cheaper! And it seems to have very comparable numbers with the pâtés! Also the boots and Barkley target wet cat food is cheap and comparable! We live just outside of Pittsburgh, pa.
I rarely shop at walmart for anything... But you can't beat that for a cat who was eating 4 cans of friskies a day...

I was gifted a meter from one of my husbands parishioners (we're both clergy) and tons of strips and lancets, thank god.

Thank you :-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top