7/30 callie .05 ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

calliecat an marty

Member Since 2011
good morning !!

well I have raised callies dose since 7/28 pm, and her numbers keep rising this morning ps = 414 ??? what should I dose her?they are no fur shots and she hasn't eaten since 11:30 last night.
 
I can't give dosing advice and glancing at your SS it looks like you're getting the same results since you lowered the dose? Unless someone with some experience comments before you shoot I would stick with the same dose for this morning. You've checked for ketones & it was negative right?
 
She needs to eat, try coaxing her to try some more food.

I have to take Harley to his vet appt. so for now maybe post in Health again. Sorry.
 
I'm glad that you raised the dose, because it really seems she was not getting enough insulin. When you give a lower dose than what they need, it tends to take a little bit more time to build up to where their body manages the insulin better -- you sort of lose momentum when you give too little, in other words. The fact that her numbers stayed flat or rose indicated that what you were giving simply wasn't enough.

You haven't answered another question I asked before. What type of syringes are you using and how many gradations to they have (marks)? Are they marked in whole units only or do they have smaller markings like half units? I assume they are U40 syringes (the barrel will say)? If they are not marked that well, it can be difficult to stay consistent with doses since you are estimating amounts. When cats first start on insulin it is a good idea to try to make small changes in dose at a time until you know better how they will react, and if your syringes can't do that then it can cause problems.

Another concern is that it is unclear how much Callie is really getting. A couple of times you have said she is getting .05U -- that is 5/100 of a unit, which is not something I'd think most syringes could even measure effectively. I can measure 0.1U (10/100 = 1/10 of a unit) on my U100 syringes, but they have half unit markings and I have to use a conversion chart to do this. I'm guessing you were really giving 0.5U (5/10 = 50/100 = 1/2 of a unit) since that's easier to estimate on most syringes. 0.25U = 25/100 or 1/4 of a unit. I know it can be confusing when you first begin, but it is important to be sure what you are giving each time.

Please keep Callie at the 1U dose and if you can, do more frequent readings today (a curve) so we can see what type of a pattern she's getting on the higher dose. If you test more frequently (every 2-3 hours), we can see what her nadir (the lowest point) really is. If the pattern is flat, she may need more insulin. If she spikes up, she may be getting too much. Please post here so we can help you before you make another change because it can be tough to decide what is happening when you first start out. Shaikha has been getting insulin since June 2010 and I still struggle sometimes so it helps to bounce it off others to get their thoughts.
 
I'm sorry I did post on one of these threads that I am using u-40 syringes the vet told me not to use any others, and I do mean 1/2 unit.
 
Like Wendy said...we want to help you...post your test today and lets see if we can figure out what is going on with Callie!
 
calliecat said:
I'm sorry I did post on one of these threads that I am using u-40 syringes the vet told me not to use any others, and I do mean 1/2 unit.

Do your syringes have markings in between the units? If so, how many? In other words, are 1/2 units and 1/4 units marked on there or do you only have marks on whole units (1U, 2U, etc.)?
 
nope just the unit markings I asked the vet about different needles an she got upset and said that these were the only needles I could use with pro zinc , it doesn't help that living were I do I have no vet choices and no place here to get different needles.

callies +2 = 285

kim i know everyone is trying to help me and I would be lost without you guys!! :YMHUG: I'm mad at myself and feel bad for callie that her mom is such a dumb ass , it just stresses me to no end she is counting on me to make the right decissions about her health and i'm letting her down :(
 
Oh NO, you are not letting her down. You are doing a Great Job. Do you know how many people just give insulin to their cat without testing to be sure they are safe? Just testing at home and looking for the best dose, is so much more than most people do.

Kitty was dx 6 months ago, and we joined the group immediately (just like You). She still is not regulated.....trust me, I have tried everything possible to get her in the "perfect" range of numbers---but, it hasn't worked. But, I wake up each day thinking, maybe today will be the day something comes together. I keep trying, just like you are doing. When we came here, I knew nothing about feline diabetes--I felt like a Dumb A$$!!!!. I still don't know a lot, but I have listened to the experienced people and tried to learn--so, I can make good decisions to help Kitty.

One of the main things I have learned is.....we do the best we can, that is all we can do. Our cats are the lucky ones! And Callie is lucky. A lot of kitties come here and go off the juice or get regulated really fast and easy. But, that is not true for all. I am not sure Kitty will ever get regulated....but, I keep trying! Just like you will---you will keep trying to get Callie in lower numbers.

Callie's numbers are not that bad. You have not been at this dance that long-- so, don't be so hard on yourself. Drink a glass of wine tonight and relax. It will get better and Callie is SO lucky to have you as her bean!

And you know what.......I still feel like a Dumb A$$, I just hide it better!! ;-)
 
calliecat said:
nope just the unit markings I asked the vet about different needles an she got upset and said that these were the only needles I could use with pro zinc , it doesn't help that living were I do I have no vet choices and no place here to get different needles.

callies +2 = 285

kim i know everyone is trying to help me and I would be lost without you guys!! :YMHUG: I'm mad at myself and feel bad for callie that her mom is such a dumb ass , it just stresses me to no end she is counting on me to make the right decissions about her health and i'm letting her down :(

Agree with Kim! You are doing great so far. Don't be hard on yourself. We all have lots to learn even if we've been at this a long time! I'm still learning myself.

About the syringes: You DO have a choice as to what to use, but use what makes you comfortable, okay? The problem with syringes that do not have in-between marks is that it is nearly impossible to tell how much you are giving if you are between the unit marks. To ensure you can measure more precisely, you may wish to try a different syringe. In most places, you can buy insulin syringes without a prescription. Do you have a Walmart near you? If so, you can pick up the following: Relion 3/10 cc 31G 8mm syringes for U100 insulin. These syringes are marked in half units, so it makes dosing between units easier. U100 syringes are marked for a different insulin, though, so you have to use a conversion chart to be sure you give the right amount. If you want to try this, let us know and we'll give you a link to the chart. To see how easy they make it for me, Shaikha was getting 0.7U per shot. Using the conversion chart: 0.6U = 1.5 mark and 0.8U = 2.0 mark on these syringes, so 0.7U is just over the 1.5 line -- I basically just eyeball it so the insulin is just over the 1.5 line and that's about 1/2 way between the two marks. Since I started using these syringes, I can go up in 0.1U increments which makes tweaking doses MUCH simpler than my U40s allowed. You may also be able to buy better U40 syringes online that have more markings than what your vet gave you if you are nervous about trying the others. I like using the U100s though because of the easier marks and because I can buy them locally so I never have to worry about running out (and they are cheaper too than what my vet sold me, another plus).

Hang in there! Get your curve data today and we'll help you get through this.
 
I would like to try different syringes, can the vet with hold callies insulin if I tick her off even more than what I have ? cause I buy my syringes from them and if I stop getting them and she asks me what I'm using she can't say no to me getting callies insulin there can she because i'm not doing what she tells me to??

thank you for making me feel better and yay :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT dancing_cat dancing_cat

callies + 4 = 184


:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: thank you so much for all your help !
 
Looks like she likes the increase!!!

Just tell the vet you can't afford to continue buying the syringes, so you are reusing your old ones---that should buy you a month or so to see if you like the new ones....Maybe she will feel sorry for you and give you some! Then you can post them in the supply closet!

An understanding vet would not with-hold the insulin, but who knows what any given one would do?
 
calliecat said:
I would like to try different syringes, can the vet with hold callies insulin if I tick her off even more than what I have ? cause I buy my syringes from them and if I stop getting them and she asks me what I'm using she can't say no to me getting callies insulin there can she because i'm not doing what she tells me to??

thank you for making me feel better and yay :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT dancing_cat dancing_cat

callies + 4 = 184

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: thank you so much for all your help !

What a pretty blue! More insulin was the trick, then. You're on the right track!

On your vet, I just wouldn't bring it up. You don't need to tell her what type of syringes you are using. You only need to tell her the dose you are giving. If she asks why you aren't buying syringes from her, tell her you got some somewhere else. I doubt she'd ask, though. One bottle of insulin will last you a long time the way you are using it so I don't think this issue would come up anytime soon.

You can find the conversion chart here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm. Only use it with U100 syringes. If you are nervous the first time, just double check here to be certain you are giving the right dose. For what you are giving right now, 1U of U40 insulin = 2.5 mark on a U100 insulin syringe, for example, so you'd report the dose as 1 unit since that's what is really given. I'm really glad I switched though. There might be others on this board who know of a source for U40 syringes that have better markings than yours, so that's another option too.

Go Callie!
 
My vet freaked out when I told her about the U100s, so I just started buying them online (Hocks) and didn't tell her. Worked fine. Some have printed out the conversion chart and taken that to the vet and gotten the vet on board, guess I'm just the sneaky type, lol, didn't even think of that.

I'm glad you raise the dose and it's nice to see a blue! I wouldn't worry about the higher PSs for now, she will probably get them for a while as she gets used to being on insulin, and as her body starts to adjust to seeing blues & such that it maybe hasn't seen for a while. If it starts to be a pattern we can help you reevaluate at that point. For now, I'd focus more on what you are seeing mid-cycle - you want to get to upper greens ideally.
 
BIG YAY !!

callies + 6 = 154

:thumbup :YMPEACE: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT drinking24 drinking24 drinking24 party_cat party_cat CAN YOU TELL I'M HAPPY haha_smiley haha_smiley

have I told all of you just how WONDERFUL YOU ARE AND I LOVE YOU ALL !! :YMHUG: callie and marty !
 
Looks Great.....Callie wanted more juice! (I can relate!!!!!)

I am happy for you......can you tell???!!!!!!


dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat :RAHCAT :RAHCAT dancing_cat dancing_cat :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
callies + 8 = 163 YAAAAAAAAAY !

:thumbup :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

oh yes I'm still VERY HAPPY !
 
I am curious-- how is she acting today? Is she playing and acting like she feels better?

I really am happy for you!
 
no she has been sleeping most of the day , I wake her to check her , no playing , right now she is in the bay window basking in the sun lol ! she is usually hungry at feeding time but I have to say come on honey eat your nummies but she has not cleaned her dish since this morning .

Kim what do I do for dose tonight ?? I will check her at 7:30 , I'm sure her numbers will go up , if I post her numbers will you advise ??

Today her nadir seemed to be right on at + 6 , this is the best day since all of this started :-D and Its all because of my FDMD family ! :YMHUG:
 
Post her pmps--there should be some others around also. I am assuming your 7:30 is my 8:30--I am EST....
 
Looks like she like the increase!!
great curve today
and you are doing a fabulous job!!

hang in there!

Densie and Shakes
 
Hold tight. I will look at the SS, but it looks like Robin is on so hopefully she will see your post and respond.
 
I say yes, stay with one unit. You got a good response and no scary low numbers on the 1 unit today.

If you are not comfortable with this, then hold tight and see if you get additional responses.
 
let me see if I am kinda catching on ! my thinking today amps 414 all through the day she droped 260 at her nadir so if I shoot 1 unit ( in a perfect world ) she would drop no lower that 97 ??
 
Think in percentages instead of true numbers....

So if you shot 1 unit and she was 400 at preshot and dropped to 200 at nadir that would be a 50 percent drop. So if you had a 300 preshot and you shot 1 unit, "in a perfect world"-- you would have a nadir of 150. Now, trust me that is way to simple--but, that is a way to look at it. It is also believed that it takes 3 to 4 cycles for the kitty to fully adjust to the dose. As long as you are testing and are prepared for any low numbers you will be okay!

Just always be prepared for a larger drop--it is unpredictable.

You are doing great and Callie has had a GREAT day!!!

Good for you!
 
callie had a fantastic numbers day today and it was not because of me it was because of all of you ! :YMHUG: I guess why I feel so stupid is because I have diabetes and I can't figure out callies , she had a better day today than me lol ! mine was up and down up and down ~~~~ I know tomorrow may be totaly different for her but we will take it as it comes even though I'm not a doctor I have to have patients haha_smiley haha_smiley ( sick attempt at being funny) !

I will give callie 1 unit for pm , one thing I noticed is her nadir moved from +2-+3 to were it sould be +6 :smile:

thank you all very much for all your help !!
 
calliecat said:
I would like to try different syringes, can the vet with hold callies insulin if I tick her off even more than what I have ? cause I buy my syringes from them and if I stop getting them and she asks me what I'm using she can't say no to me getting callies insulin there can she because i'm not doing what she tells me to??

thank you for making me feel better and yay :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT dancing_cat dancing_cat

callies + 4 = 184


:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: thank you so much for all your help !

Do you still have the box the insulin came in? On mine, it says "refills until May, 2012". I can order as much as needed until then without vet approval. I would think your vet wrote the prescription with an expiration date that would allow you to reorder as needed without having to contact the vet every time. Worst case, tell them you left it out, or the vial broke. Heck, tell her some nice soul on the FDMB had 50 spare syringes cuz their cat went OTJ, and you got some u40s for free. I really don't think it's their business what kind of syringe you are using or where you got them.

Carl in SC
 
carl the sad thing is I don't have a script for her insulin I get it from the vet same with needles , but I am going to get the walmart ones when I can get there.

the vet that I go to ( the only one around here) there is a man vet and a woman vet, callies is the woman, the man vet is the owner and he is fairly new to. when callie was first dx there I paid the vet every time I took her! callie had to wait a week to start her insulin because they wanted a urine sample ! so when I called the vet to see if I could pick up callies insulin she said it was brought to her attention that I had a previous bill there from 7 years ago when there was a different vet there! It was 371 dollars and that I couldn't have callies insulin unless I paid it , I paid that bill 7 years ago but had no proof that I paid it soooooooo I paid it again to get callies insulin, that is why I think she would maybe not give it to me :( I am not going by everything she tells me to do and we butt heads , she doesn't want me to home test ! says there is no way I should use different syringes ! thats what scares me :(
 
Oh, don't worry about it. Worse case situation, you buy the U40s from the vet and I will buy them from you. I use U40s--my vet doesn't have a clue what I am doing...so, if you run into a problem...you just buy the U40s, I will pay you and then ship them to me.

No Problem!!!

Life is Good.....We will work it out if it becomes a problem!
 
Glad she had a good day!

A note on the syringes, it may have been mentioned & I missed it but the U40's have a 1/2 inch needle. When I first switched to U100's I continued with the 1/2" needle cause that's what I was used to. Thumper decided she didn't want to get shots anymore so I switched to the 5/16" (8mm) needle & it really works great. You don't have to tent much at all & I've heard some people don't tent at all. Someone said they don't like the short needles though so keep in mind it's what you feel comfortable with. I just wanted you to know there is another option.The 31 gauge needle is also thinner than the ones my vet sold me with Pro Zinc so that helps a little too. Is there a Wal Mart anywhere nearby or a Walgreens? Wal Mart wouldn't let me buy one bag to try the different needles but Walgreens did. I think it all depends on the area though. You can order them by mail at Hocks or I think some people have mentioned American Diabetes Supply? There is a lot to learn so just keep on reading & asking questions! You're doing great!
 
calliecat said:
says there is no way I should use different syringes ! thats what scares me :(


I didn't see this until after I posted. My vet really cautioned me about using different syringes when Thumper was first diagnosed. She explained to me I would be giving an incorrect dose if I used other syringes. She didn't know there was a conversion chart here! That may be what your vet is concerned about. She's thinking if you use U100's & don't know the difference you will be shooting the wrong amount of insulin. I would not try to explain/discuss it with her though, just from my own experience. I bet they will sell you the insulin & not question you if you don't mention syringes. If they question you like someone else said just tell them someone gave you some!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top