7/30 Bob AMPS=369 dry food question???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Good morning LL! Happy Tuesday! \M/

So, started Bob on the YA last night. He is looking slim and trim, but I don't want him to lose weight for all the wrong reasons. He did eat it all and I left some wet food out and did see him licking it (I put some fortiflora on it). I'm a little freaked out having to feed him the YA. It seems like a quality food, but it's weird. The pork freaks me out a little - but I have seen several canned food companies using pork including Evanger's and Natures Variety. Supposedly, you are supposed to free feed the YA and the kitties will only end up eating about 3.5 tablespoons a day because it's so nutrient dense. Hope it doesn't give anyone diarrhea. bcatrun_gif I really love the Orijen dry, but it has 20% carbs. Whyyyyyyyyyyyyy, Bob, why? Why do you torture your mom so? Why can't you just eat your canned fuds like the other good kitties?

Anyone have thoughts on Young Again?

So, Bob's numbers are high. Could be 1 of 3 reasons:

1. his reduced dose (cuz I"m a chicken)
2. the YA
3. could be still bouncing from Sunday

I really hope it's 3. If his BG goes up because of the YA, I'm switching him back to the Orijen and will just have to deal with it. I'll go sit on one of the other boards and be lonely. Unless you guys would let me stay on this board even though I'm breaking the law. :smile: I'm not going to think about that yet though. I just want him to eat.

Hope everyone is doing well and all kitties are feeling frisky! Prayers for under the weather kitties and beans.

Have a great day! :-D
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369 Thoughts on Young Again??

I would not switch him back to Orijen.

There have been a few people who used YA. In fact, I think there was someone (they didn't post in LL) whose cat went OTJ eating YA. FWIW, any food change can effect numbers. You're going to have to give this more than a couple of days to assess the effect of YA especially since there are other variables in the mix.
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369 Thoughts on Young Again??

Yes. Please give up the Orijen. It's too high carb.

Here is the ss of the one who went otj. Ninja's ss
Ninja had been eating Evo dry which was 8 or 9% carb and within a month of switching.... went OTJ.
She had to adjust the insulin quickly to accommodate the decreasing bg numbers. You can see the notes on the side since it was all experimental for her. She didn't post for help.


So it will take time to see how Bob reacts.
I think the hard part with dry will be how to feed when Bob drops low. Ninja's bean used milk and had ice cream ( and had honey) in case she started really dropping.
Ninja wouldn't eat canned at all so no gravy to boost her if needed.
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369 Thoughts on Young Again??

Well, Dara, it's best that Bob eat something. If that is the YA dry, so be it. If he still likes it, no reason not to keep it in the mix. I'd still put out some wet food for him to try. I just want to caution you that the YA is really high calorie so keep a close watch on his weight. Obesity in cats is one of the known factors that contributes to insulin resistance.

My recommendation is that you stay with the YA instead of going back to the Orijen. Lower carbs and we can see how the lower carbs are helping Bob.

It took Dr. Lisa Pierson 9 months to get one of her cats to switch to the wet food from the dry. She just kept trying.

I'll go sit on one of the other boards and be lonely. Unless you guys would let me stay on this board even though I'm breaking the law. :smile:
You don't have to go to one of the other boards but you are always welcome to if you want to. You are still welcome here, even if Bob is being stubborn about eating wet food.

Besides, the only other diabetic cat care board I know of is even stricter about what foods you can feed. Many that we consider ok are absolutely forbidden and vilified over there, even though they have no scientific proof to back them up.

So, Dara? Did you look at the "Cat Body Condition Score chart" I gave you a link to look at yesterday in your condo? Where does Bob fall on that chart? Which description fits him best?
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369 Thoughts on Young Again??

Dara, you certainly have done everything possible to try and convince Bob to eat wet. I've got stubborn civvies who won't eat wet - and not only that, but the only thing their digestive systems will tolerate is Science Diet Hairball (they are littermates with digestive sensitivities)! It mortifies me, so I can totally to relate. I understand how stressful it is to feed dry when you know wet is better, but a kitty has to eat something -and something that agrees with their bodies! At least Bob will eat the Young Again, and it's zero carbs. I'd still keep offering wet, too, but don't make a big, stressful deal out of it. I know when I tried to force my guys to switch, they read my stress and it made matters worse. Now, if I casually leave a bowl of wet out, they will eat some of it...not a lot, not enough to sustain life, but some - which is better than nothing.

Yes...stick around! Please!!! ECID, and Bob is who he is. You guys are part of the LL family now!
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369 Thoughts on Young Again??

Dara, gees know JUST what you mean! They WANT that kitty crack! Mine are not too smitten with YA - tried the 0 carb and it was a no go and then the 2.6% and that was a little better ...... just an FYI, I called YA and spoke with JENNIFER - she is fabulous! She sent me samples of the 2.6% and also a bag of "seasoning" to sprinkle on top. They are not CRAZY about it but ECID - yeah! So, maybe rather than give up, give Jennifer a call, they sent it to me really fast and no charge! Let me know if you need a phone number!

Bern
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369 Thoughts on Young Again??

Deb & Wink said:
You don't have to go to one of the other boards but you are always welcome to if you want to. You are still welcome here, even if Bob is being stubborn about eating wet food.

Besides, the only other diabetic cat care board I know of is even stricter about what foods you can feed. Many that we consider ok are absolutely forbidden and vilified over there, even though they have no scientific proof to back them up.

Thanks DEb! I think I started out on that site and they scared me. Are most of the people based in the UK?

Deb & Wink said:
So, Dara? Did you look at the "Cat Body Condition Score chart" I gave you a link to look at yesterday in your condo? Where does Bob fall on that chart? Which description fits him best?

I missed that, but I just looked at. It looks like Bob is now a 5 and before he was probably a 6, so he's lookin pretty good. Poor Hector is definitely a 9, little fat thing. I've actually noticed him looking a little better too so the wet food is helping. Supposedly, the kitties will not overeat the YA, but we shall see....

@ Sienne and Rhiannon - Never fear - I promise I won't give up without a really good try. I'm going to keep feeding the wet and try to relax about it. Maybe I am stressing him out. Also, Bob would eat the high carb gravy occassionally so I plan to keep it and I'll have to give it to him with a syringe I guess. I spent all day Sunday giving him syrup and gravy with a syringe, so nothing new...

@Amy - thank you Amy! That's so nice of you to say. I shall stick around and fight the good fight! \M/

@Bern - I have also spoken to Jennifer and she is super nice. Bob didn't like it when I first gave it to him, but I think he's happier with it than the wet so at least he's eating it for now. If he refuses to eat wet and YA, I just don't know what I will do. Think I'm going to buy some chicken breast and make it for him and see if he will eat any of it. he's usually weird about eating actual pieces of meat, but we will see...
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369 Thoughts on Young Again??

You do what you need to do to get food into Bob. We all understand that! A good way to see if Bob will eat raw is to just try a little piece of raw chicken the next time you are cooking it. If he likes it then try some raw food. I have to go to a smaller pet store to find it. There are also powdered supplements that you can add to raw meat without having to get a big grinder. Tess really liked TC Feline, but when she started to develop CRF it was too high in Phosphorus. If you are watching phos levels too NV Instincts Raw is the best.
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369 Thoughts on Young Again??

Try getting a package of chicken hearts or gizzards. They are a great treat and might be an easy way to get him interested.
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369 Thoughts on Young Again??

Ann & Tess said:
Try getting a package of chicken hearts or gizzards. They are a great treat and might be an easy way to get him interested.

Nooooooo, please don't make me. I'll throw up. As much as I love Bob, I don't know if I could do it. I got gaggy on some of the canned food! :lol: Maybe if i could have a butcher dice it all up nice for me and put it in a pretty package with a ribbon on it - that may work....
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369 Thoughts on Young Again??

:oops: So I saw your post title and immediately my thoughts were.... Young Again.... Absolutely I would like to be that again. :lol: :lol:
Then realized you were talking about cat food. ohmygod_smile Hahahahaha!!!

Best of luck with feeding Bob. I hope he will eat Young Again. I would eat it if it actually did what it's name suggested. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369 Thoughts on Young Again??

CD and BigMac said:
So I saw your post title and immediately my thoughts were.... Young Again.... Absolutely I would like to be that again.
Then realized you were talking about cat food. Hahahahaha!!!

Best of luck with feeding Bob. I hope he will eat Young Again. I would eat it if it actually did what it's name suggested.

HI CD (is that your name?) -

I would eat it too! I just got off the phone with the company and they have been selling the cat food for 9 years and INSIST it's a miracle food. We shall see - supposedly within a couple of months I should see more active, slimmer, muscle-y cats with soft, silky, luxurious furs. And that only eat 3.5 tablespoons of food a day. I hope it works cuz I got one diabetic, one fatty and one dandruff-y cat.
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369 Thoughts on Young Again??

So Bob is looking good with his weight sounds like and Hector definitely needs the "Jenny Craig" diet! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Thanks DEb! I think I started out on that site and they scared me. Are most of the people based in the UK?
Yup, I think those were the folks you may have started with. Scary advice on how to treat, or not treat, those low numbers. They would have insisted you ditch the dry food immediately. Not sure it would matter to them that Bob would not eat at all rather than not eat wet food.
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369 Thoughts on Young Again??

Hi Dara,

If you're looking at dry food, I've heard great things about "Young Again" (except the price - ugh!).

Nature's Variety makes several dry foods with similar protein & fat (50/22) numbers to YA with a better price tag. It has a little less fiber than YA. I use Nature's Variety Instinct Chicken Meal formula (with added water) as a supplement to canned food for our outdoor ferals - too many to afford canned food alone. Here's their link if you'd like to check it out as well http://www.naturesvariety.com/Instinct/cat/kibble/chicken Best price for the largest 12.1 lb bag is $32.99 with free shipping over $49 & 17% discount if you're new. http://www.doggiefood.com/instinct-grain-free-chicken-meal-dry-cat-food-by-nature-s-variety.html If just trying, they have a 2.2-lb bag for $8.99

However, ECID, & maybe there's a little bit of magic in the Young Again that makes it work so well.

If you do try the Young Again, let me know how you / Bob likes it!
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369 Thoughts on Young Again??

Oops! Mis-read your post - I see you ALREADY got the YA - OK, now I'm reading!

PS - pleze stay on this Board - we'd miss you!!!
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369, +5.5=332 YA Update

Thanks for the info Suzanne! The YA I bought has zero carbs. I checked out the Nature's variety but I think the chicken meal kibble has a few carbs. The freeze dried has zero, but I really don't think Bob would eat it. I've tried freeze dried treats and he has never eaten them. He has food issues!!!! I eat everything. What's up with that??

So, Update on Bob and YA - he is eating it and seems extremely happy to have his dry kibble back. I only hope he continues to eat it because the first time I tried to give it to him, he ate it at first and then refused. He's like my dad who is a diabetic and still continually eats garbage food. Sigh.

So, his numbers are looking kind of high, but it looks like it could possibly be part of bounce continuing from Sunday. I really hope so. I am praying very hard I don't have to increase Bob's insulin. I hope this YA is not making his BG go up.

Hope everyone is having a good day. I'm going to order bad food and watch Extreme Weight Loss! What a combination!
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369, +5.5=332 YA Update

So, Update on Bob and YA - he is eating it and seems extremely happy to have his dry kibble back


finally, right! fingers crossed the little stinker doesn't change his mind.......tonight.
;-) :twisted:
get your grub on Dara!! you know what I say about a good appetite? whether it human or feline:

price-less. never curse it.

I wish I had one....
:sad: :sad:
~kelly
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369, +5.5=332 YA Update

Good luck with the Young Again. I hope Bob will continue to eat it and it helps all your kitties.
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369, +5.5=332 YA Update

tomtom13 said:
So, Update on Bob and YA - he is eating it and seems extremely happy to have his dry kibble back


finally, right! fingers crossed the little stinker doesn't change his mind.......tonight.
;-) :twisted:
get your grub on Dara!! you know what I say about a good appetite? whether it human or feline:

price-less. never curse it.

I wish I had one....
:sad: :sad:
~kelly

Well, I think my appetite is a little too good. Are you saying you don't have a good appetite??

carfurby said:
Good luck with the Young Again. I hope Bob will continue to eat it and it helps all your kitties.

Thanks Carla! I hope so too!
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369, +5.5=332 YA Update

My crystal ball says give it two weeks.... to see if it helps.
Meanwhile, keep offering the wet stuff.... a little at a time to see if he'll change his mind.....
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369, +5.5=332 YA Update

Well, I think my appetite is a little too good. Are you saying you don't have a good appetite??

you got it! I am one of those stress starvers........

the last thing I want to do is even think about food when I am worried...stressed...freaked...scared....stressed....have a diabetic cat on high insulin that I am in control of....of which I have no control of! :shock:

I am a soda, ~O) , and e-cig junkie in tough times


so like I say,,,,,,,never curse a good appetite.

oh well,....never fear....I will be my chunky self once again......happy and snacky.... ;-)
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369, +5.5=332 YA Update

Don't worry Dara, you'll get this all figured out...Someday ;-) :lol: And what would you do if you left the board and didn't have all of us to talk to...You'd have to go to Olive Garden with all the hillbillies :lol: :lol: :lol: Hang in there and good luck with the food ;-)
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369, +5.5=332 YA Update

Rhiannon said
My crystal ball says give it two weeks.... to see if it helps.
Meanwhile, keep offering the wet stuff.... a little at a time to see if he'll change his mind.....

Good idea, I agree. Maybe now that Bob's back on kibble, the canned will look more enticing. You know, the grass is always greener.....give him options, & maybe he'll like the variety as long as he doesn't have to give up the precious kibble.
 
Re: 7/30 Bob AMPS=369, +5.5=332 YA Update

Does anyone know how long it takes for dry food to affect the blood glucose level?
 
Hi Dara,
Thank you for visiting Lucy today.
I hope you'll find food that Bob likes and doesn't raise his BG too much.
And I hope he'll eventually start liking wet!!!
I have a friend who's cat was soooo stubborn.
I think he tried every different cans he can find, tried raw too, but his cat would eat so little of them he was losing weight.
But so some reason, his cat started liking wet food suddenly.
First he only liked Friskies, but now he likes almost everything.
So, don't give up! Keep offering!
 
Hi Dara,

I am not sure how long it takes to show up in BG levels. I know it takes longer than gravy :-D And I know it lasts much longer.

I am waiting on a YA sample for my civvies. My one guy Simon, is a dry food junkie. I live in fear that Cleo will get into his kibble somehow. So, I am hoping he will eat it, just for peace of mind. He eats a little wet food if I put the Fortaflora on top.

Good luck, it is so frustrating!!!!!!

Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top