? 7/30/24 WATSON AMPS 357 Libre/ 316 Meter

Rosie Lass

Active Member
Watson’s Libra ended today, two days early. I’m thinking I might like to give him a break for a couple days but I’m wondering how many times I would have to check his glucose manually? I know before breakfast and dinner but if I check one time mid cycle on each, will that be enough so a total of four pokes Or do I need more than that?

@tiffmaxee
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Diane Tyler's Mom
@Staci & Ivy


I’m so sorry. I thought I posted this on the Lantus page and I don’t know if I can move it myself or how to do that
 
Last edited:
A mid-cycle test would be great in addition to the preshot tests. When does he typically nadir? Try for that hour. Or in the evening cycle you can get a test a bit earlier to make sure everything looks good. Sorry nobody replied here. You should really post this question on either Feline Health or the Lantus Levemir forum where many people will see it.
 
A mid-cycle test would be great in addition to the preshot tests. When does he typically nadir? Try for that hour. Or in the evening cycle you can get a test a bit earlier to make sure everything looks good. Sorry nobody replied here. You should really post this question on either Feline Health or the Lantus Levemir forum where many people will see it.
Oh my gosh, I thought I was on the lantis page. Is there a way for me to move it? And thanks for your reply!
 
A moderator would be able to move it. Otherwise, you can ask over there. If it’s going to be a couple more days you can vary the test a bit (+4, +6, etc.) each day. If you have specific concerns like if he’s a known diver early in the cycle then you would want to get a +2 to see what’s going on. Otherwise, I would shoot for a mid cycle test. Is he cooperative with you for testing? I remember him because of his adorable photo.
 
A moderator would be able to move it. Otherwise, you can ask over there. If it’s going to be a couple more days you can vary the test a bit (+4, +6, etc.) each day. If you have specific concerns like if he’s a known diver early in the cycle then you would want to get a +2 to see what’s going on. Otherwise, I would shoot for a mid cycle test. Is he cooperative with you for testing? I remember him because of his adorable photo.
He is cooperative. I can test anytime during the day. I was thinking +6 during the day. His nadirs are all over the place. He Usually he gets his shots at 10am & 10pm and I go to bed around midnight so that test would have to be at +2 and then not again until +11 before breakfast
 
It sounds like a good plan. It looks like he really could benefit from switching to TR as opposed to SLGS, but it must be because of the dry food that you are still following SLGS? He is a but all over the place with nadirs, I see, but he tends to do it between +4 to +7 a lot the time lately. When will you place the new Libre? Do you put them on yourself?
 
It sounds like a good plan. It looks like he really could benefit from switching to TR as opposed to SLGS, but it must be because of the dry food that you are still following SLGS? He is a but all over the place with nadirs, I see, but he tends to do it between +4 to +7 a lot the time lately. When will you place the new Libre? Do you put them on yourself?
I’ll have to look up TR, I can’t remember exactly what that entails. He IS a bit all over the place and he has been for the last year. I will probably put the new Libra on tomorrow after his breakfast. He is sure enjoying being naked tonight though
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
The dry food I am feeling him is Young Again zero carb so I don’t think that should affect his numbers. He only gets it as a between meals snack and a little for overnight and he hast to share with three other cats. I did look up the TR method but it sounds really confusing to me and I’m not sure that I know enough about how insulin affects him to be able to do that. I read it through a couple times and I’m still not really sure that I understand it very well. It also sounds like it’s not very Successful for cats who have Been diagnosed longer than six months ago and he was diagnosed in march 2023. Thanks for your reply yesterday. I did get in a pre-dinner and a + 2.75 test last night and The new Libra should be ready to scan at 11:19 this morning
 
Most cats who go into remission are following TR. It simply allows you to adjust doses every 6 cycles (3 days) and the reduction point is below 50 (as opposed to 90 for SLGS.) So it gives you more flexibility and allows you to keep the cat in more normal BG numbers (50-120 are normal BG range for a cat).
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
You make it sound so easy as compared to the instructions I was reading. Could I still use the Libra or what I have to be checking him manually more often? When he has the libra on I only check him before shots or if his numbers get too low
 
Yes. You can use the Libre sensor. Just watch out for the Libre with low numbers. They frequently read too low and scare people when cats are in lower numbers. A Libre might make you think your cat is about to hypo when that’s actually not the case. As long as you can do a check with a regular meter on low numbers it’s fine.
 
Yes. You can use the Libre sensor. Just watch out for the Libre with low numbers. They frequently read too low and scare people when cats are in lower numbers. A Libre might make you think your cat is about to hypo when that’s actually not the case. As long as you can do a check with a regular meter on low numbers it’s fine.
@Suzanne & Darcy
Do I still dose every 12 hours like I do with SLGS?
He’s had a good run of numbers in the Green today, so maybe I don’t want to increase tonight. What are your thoughts?

I can check multiple times during the day if the number looks low, but generally, I only get a +2 after his night shot and then I go to bed
 
Yes. Insulin must be given every 12 hours.
With green nadirs like today, I would hold that dose!
@Suzanne & Darcy
Thanks for your help today. I guess I will change my spreadsheet to TR And see if I can do it

@Suzanne & Darcy
Just one more question for you, Watson has not been in the green that much do at what point don’t I give him a shot? What number am I looking for? Anything below 150 I don’t shoot? Anything above 150 I do?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top