7/3 Zener PMPS 258;+3 307; +5 269 IBD meds?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Good morning LL! MamaLizBean is home and all is right in the world. :-D Zener did not show her favorite color numbers yet - blue. He did have happy appy this morning, so that's even better! He is on the way down in this cycle, so time will tell. If we don't see better numbers soon, we will once again add more juice - dosecrease gauntlet tossed. :cool:

Morning poo report - only one and it was part pudding and partly formed. We've cut back on the miralax and upped the fortiflora. We hadn't heard back from our vet yet, which is unusual. It is a holiday week and the office told me she is out until Friday. So, we made an appointment to take him in to see her on Friday. We are wondering if it may be time to consider adding a med for his IBD, or if his kidney function may be changing. It could just be the heat, and all may sort itself out. We are definitely much cooler this morning, after breaking a record with 1.76in of rain in yesterday's first significant monsoon storm. :shock:

We've read quite a bit about treatment for IBD in FDMB and other sites online, and see two meds most often recommended - prednisone and budesonide. Any thoughts or experiences with these meds and is one preferable over the other for cats with FD?

Hope everyone has a lovely Wednesday in LL! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/3 Zener AMPS 310;+3 240 IBD meds?

Come on down Zener! Everybody is home now.

As you know, T is on predisolone for his asthma and it helps his IBD. He is also on flagyl daily for his IBD. Those two things together seem to have really helped and we haven't had any issues. Of course you trade off higher insulin doses.

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 7/3 Zener AMPS 310;+3 240 IBD meds?

Hi Anne and Liz

I have no thoughts on tummy meds. Just checking in to see what Mr Zener is up to. I love hearing that he is eating well, even if his tummy isn't feeling so good. :sad:

Hi Liz.....welcome home :-D .
 
Re: 7/3 Zener AMPS 310;+3 240;+6 269 IBD meds?

I don't know about the meds either. It's good to hear Zener has a happy appy. I hope the vetty visit goes well and you can get Zener's tummy feeling better.

Welcome home Liz. It sounds like you had a good trip.
 
Re: 7/3 Zener AMPS 310;+3 240;+6 269 IBD meds?

Hi Anne!

Gobs and I are doing some visiting this evening and wanted to say hello.

I'm sorry, but I can't help you out re: IBD meds...

Anyways, have a great fourth :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/3 Zener AMPS 310;+3 240;+6 269 IBD meds?

For renal cats that get GI issues they may use slippery elm bark; has that ever been tried in IBD?
 
Re: 7/3 Zener AMPS 310;+3 240;+6 269 IBD meds?

Welcome home Liz :-D

Hope the vet can give you some answers on Friday. My GA kitty, Rocko, had IBD. This was in the 90's and the only med I was offered was Prednisone. He did not have FD, and he did wonderful on it for many years. He lived a long and happy life.

Bet the house feels complete now!
 
Re: 7/3 Zener PMPS 258 IBD meds?

Not much action in today's cycle, and nothing much since we last saw a dab of green six cycles ago, so up another drop, back to 1.0u for the umpteenth time. As MamaLizBean says "it's hitting a moving target." ;-) Happy appy at PMPS, so beans are relieved for another cycle. :-D

Our vet emailed us and thought from the symptoms I described it is likely a GI upset of some sort and not kidneys. She thought we could take a look at his current regime of meds and discuss some options. We have an appointment Friday morning.

Liz had a great time in Vancouver and is happy to be home. Thanks to Melissa & Taragon, Barb and Checkers, Carla and Furball, Kat & Gobbles, BJM and Cleo and Jane for stopping in with information and encouragement. We like to be prepared when we go to our vet and she would be disappointed if we showed up without doing our research beforehand. :razz:

More cooling rain this afternoon - beans and kitties love it. Zener was out on his bench in the backyard between his 2nd and 3rd serving of dinner, and drops started to fall. He did his version of a mad dash across the yard into the house. Can't have his fur getting wet! bcatrun_gif

Wishing all in the US a happy July 4th tomorrow and we hope all our Canadian LL family have recovered from Canada Day. party_cat
 
Re: 7/3 Zener PMPS 258 IBD meds?

Hi Liz & Anne,

I have some thoughts on the prednisone. As Melissa said it will raise the insulin dose, sometimes considerably since it is a steroid. It could also make Zener ravenous. I gave it to my kitty that had seizures he was not diabetic. Its one of those meds that you can't just quit giving you have to ease them off of it once it's started. From what I understand it can cause a tremendous headache. The Flagil that Melissa mentioned, that is what the vet put Dusty on when he was having soft serve stools. It works :mrgreen: . Well, lets just say it firmed Dusty's stool up within just a couple of days. The generic version is called Metronidazole. Dusty was given 50 mg Tiny Tabs of the Metronidazole and he took one tablet every 12 hours. He took that for 14 days. It's actually an antibiotic for the intestines. It's supposed to kill off the bad bacteria so the good bacteria in the intestines will get back in control. It didn't seem to have any affect on his BG when he took it either like the Predisone is known to. Whatever you decide, I hope Zener's poos get back to normal soon. Believe me, I know there is nothing like a stinky soft serve poo. It will blow the whole house up and air fresher doesn't seem to get rid of the stinch fast enough. You will laugh at this just as the builder of my house did. I maped out where I was going to put Dusty's LB before we moved in and as the house was being built I had our builder install a bathroom fan in the mud room so I could turn it on when Dusty has a bad poo. It somewhat helps. I know the builder thought I was crazy, but Dusty had been blowing it up so often that I was trying to think ahead and take care of the issue. It's quite embarrassing to have people over and out wafts the odor and the soft serve ones are the worst. Right now Dusty's issue is solved. His poo although large is firm. I've been giving him a tsp. of babyfood squash mixed in his food every day and that's helping him with his poo being too firm. I've only tried the Mirilax 2 times. I don't know how often I will give it too him since the 2nd time cleaned him out real good. Good luck
 
Re: 7/3 Zener PMPS 258 IBD meds?

Steroids may suppress the function of the adrenal glands when taken long term. If you then stop them abruptly, and the adrenal glands don't start back up, you can die.

That is why some steroids may be given in alternate day doses (to reduce adrenal suppression) and why tapering off them is done (to give the adrenals a chance to start up slowly and catch it quickly if there is a problem.).
 
Re: 7/3 Zener PMPS 258 IBD meds?

Paws crossed for this new dose. It is rather like chasing a moving target. Or a dance where you don't know the steps. :lol:

I'm glad Zener's appy is good, not so happy on the soft serve results. Sending good vetty vines for Friday for some answers.

Woohoo on rain for you! Just in time for July 4th. party_cat A video of Zener dashing to avoid the rain would be very cute. ;-)
 
Re: 7/3 Zener PMPS 258;+3 307 IBD meds?

Thanks Elaine and BJM! The Metronidazole is what our vet mentioned us possibly trying if his poo issues weren't resolving by Friday.
 
Re: 7/3 Zener PMPS 258;+3 307 IBD meds?

I hope that everything will be normal and OK by Friday and that you don't have to worry yet about IBD, etc. But it's great that you are doing your "homework" and that you have so many good suggestions here.

Welcome home, Liz.

Enjoy your cooler, rainy weather.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/3 Zener PMPS 258;+3 307 IBD meds?

Hope Zener uses that added drop of Lantus to get back to his pretty blues and greens. Also, hope you get some answers on Friday and get his meds straightened out. Poor guy. I hate hearing that he's not feeling up to snuff. Shasta sends love to her buddy! Happy 4th!
 
Bear Man had IBD (diagnosed by colonoscopy) for many years, and a lot of different treatments were tried. He did try Budesonide. It is a steroid that is said to act more locally in the gut and to have less of a systemic effect, which may make it more ideal for a diabetic cat. I am not sure that it is terribly effective, but it is worth asking the vet about, and possibly trying before Prednisolone. Bear Man had some success with it for a time, but after a while it was not enough for him. Another medication which is sometimes tried for IBD is Leukeran (Chlormabucil), the chemotherapy drug that is used for intestinal lymphoma and which is also sometimes used for IBD. This is a drug that worked for Teddy's lymphoma, but which Bear Man could not tolerate (inappetance, nausea). What worked best for Bear was prednisolone (not prednisone). He was at different doses of this over the years, and it was what helped him the most. Sometimes we did a course of it and tapered off, but after years he was on it consistently. Sometimes it was also not enough for him and he had to step up to injections of a stronger steroid - Dexamethasone. Bear Man's diabetes was caused by steroid treatment, and eventually his long term steroid use caused Cushings. Prednisolone will very likely affect Zener's BG. I think that early on in the disease you can treat with a lighter hand - e.g. short courses of steroid, use of raw diet (never tried by Bear, but many have had success), Budesonide, herbals such as Slippery Elm Bark (we never used this), etc. Later in his disease, Bear Man had severe illness, and it took more to fight it down. It's possible that a course of Prednisolone may get the inflammation down for Zener and he may be able to wean off until the next flare-up.

Bear Man also took Metronidazole. It is said to have an anti-inflammatory effect on the gut and is often used for IBD. He also took Pepcid AC and the Ondansetron and Cerenia that you also use. Another med that Bear and Teddy sometimes used for loose poo was Tylosin (Tylan) which was sometimes effective. Bear took Buprenorphine when his pain flared up. I think he got a lot of the cramping that Zener gets. He never did well on appetite stimulants.

Bear Man's initial IBD symptoms were diarrhea, passing blood in the stool, vomiting, and inappetance. Good luck with the vet appointment. I hope the vet can help you find something to help Zener.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top