7/3 Tomcat AMPS 377 +6.5=264 PMPS 334 + 6=380

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99049

Evening all

well we finally got a YELLOW today!! not good enough....but I will take it. unfortunately, tonight it all went uphill!!!

I gave a fat 4 unit AM Shot and a 4.25 unit PM Shot given his AM nadir of less than 300.

I did experiment with a 4% carb diet in the am cycle (thanks Wendy), it did seem to work. I did not feed as much and only the super low carb food. I hate to ration his caloric intake, as he needs to gain muscle/fat.....but I also need to get that damn insulin to work! I will re-look at my tattered Dr. Lisa food list and pick out the lowest carb with the highest caloric foods....

I never realized that Tom is so carb. sensitive. then again.....it could have just been today!!! now that I am aware of it...I will start to gather more info.....to see if this is indeed the case.

of course, tonight....DH wanted to go out and of course, Tom wouldn't eat PMPS: I tried several super low carbs options...NOPE! so since I HAD to get him to eat I had to resort to his favorite Authority Catfish (7%). So that experiment was off for the day!

when I got home at +6 he was HIGH!! I don't know if it was the catfish or the constant fireworks!!!

do you all still think he needs a super increase? to 4.5? or shall I wait the 6 cycles (5 now)?

question: I keep thinking about my vet Freaking over Tom's 119 value. He was really concerned with that! "I don't want him any lower than that".......really? is this a typical freak-out from a vet? why is that?

thank you all so much for your input yesterday!!! I really loved scanning and "saving in favorites" Mr. Grey's SS (thanks Marje)!! makes me feel so much better!! to see another sugar-cat that took A LOT of juice and then...........it happened! Gives me hope for better days.....

night all

~kelly
 
I would wait four cycles and see what he is doing. The protocol does state that cats experiencing high, flat curves can be raised after four cycles. But my tendency, unless he is really high (red/black nadirs) is to have you stick with six cycles. Also, you don't want to dose hop so much as it can affect his depot. But better to ask for help during his fourth cycle....we can look at it for you and let you know what we think. Just put "dose ?" in your subject line. I also think that as long as the majority of his nadirs are pink, I would increase by .5u.

I think his BGs are pretty much within meter variance other than the yellow he had today. So, no, I don't think the 7% food had alot to do with it nor do I see him as being overly carb sensitive. Remember that carbs and calories are not the same. Iams Max Cal is 3% but has over 300 calories in a can whereas alot of foods that are higher in carbs, have less calories. So if you need him to gain weight, it's ok to give him a higher calorie food or give him more food. Just don't go overboard. As a general rule, cats need about 20 calories/pound of ideal weight. I also think that for many diabetic cats, they actually do better with foods that are in the 4-5% carb range. There have even been some that did better on foods that were in the 10% carb range. ECID... ;-)

Yes, 119 is a typical freak out for some vets. It's safe for Tom to go into the 50s on a human glucometer. I think for the vet, they might perceive it as a liability issue. They can't be there to help you whenever the numbers go low and so it's easier for them to have you run the BG a little higher. Also, he might not realize its a human glucometer and that they can run approximately 30 mg/dL less than an Alpha Trak or other animal glucometer.

Let us know if we can answer anyother questions!
 
You are probably one of your vet's few, if not only, clients that home tests blood glucose. For clients who don't test, it is dangerous if the cat gets below 100, from the vet's point of view. Back when I started out and wasn't testing, :oops: , my vet stopped increases when we got into the blues at nadir. She was much more comfortable with Neko being in the greens once she saw the spreadsheet and the amount of testing done. I was her first client to home test and have given her all the documentation for the protocol we follow here.

Tomcat could be bouncing from those yellows today. Back in the early days of our sugar journey, Neko used to bounce a lot, even from yellow. She hasn't stopped bouncing, but it takes a lot lower numbers now. :lol: Neko has a high dose condition. We just kept on going up according to the protocol until we found the dose she needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top