7/3 Rupert PMPS 190 +2 170 +3 151 +5 154 +6 190

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=74263&p=804699#p804699

numbers:
AMPS 442.8
+3 297
+6 329.4
PMPS 444.6
+2.5 370.8
+5 354.6

flat day yesterday for Rupie. snuck his dose up a smidge to 2.25 again.... thinking I need to hold him at this dose a little longer unless he totally crashes on it. seems to be coming down at *slightly* slower than his usual pace for his +2.4. I think Mr. Liver IS getting there but when I shave to 2.0 it's not quite enough..anyway.. Rupert is BEBT as usual, coat looking sleek and shiny, he's as annoyed as I am at the POURING RAIN.. dammit! June apparently was one of the worst June's we've ever had, with only four days over 20 (70), and July so far has been nothing but rain other than Sunday which was a 'not bad' day but not up to usual standards! Bleah. My riding ring is a lake this morning. Think I'll take the day and go over and visit my folks! it's either that or head to the mall and that' always ends up being expensive!

Hope everyone has a good Tuesday and has cooler or warmer or dryer weather, as appropriate!!!
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert AMPS 354 +2.5 208

Hi Pip!

i wanted to respond to your pm here, because all dosing advice is supposed to be given in public not in pm's. that allows for the best possible advice, since we are all lay people.

anyway, i see absolutely nothing in rupert's ss to suggest a high dose condition. high dose means exactly that - needing a HIGH DOSE. cats on 2.25 are definitely not in that category. save your money for something you really need!!

looking at his ss, this is what i see. most yellow preshot numbers bring a drop to blue or possibly green, and often it happens fast. if i were you, i think i'd try giving him more low carb food (increasing the volume) when you see an end to a bounce coming. right now it looks like the bounces go about 3 days, then as they resolve, if i were you, i'd feed him more and earlier in the cycle. if he can't afford more calories, then increase the carbs but perhaps without going into high carbs, something like the Elegant Medleys at 11%. does that make sense?

it looks like his bouncing has lessened to me. i know you're working on the carb manipulations, so perhaps that's helping. it looks like he bounced yesterday from the 93 on the 7th, but if you've got a 208 at +2.5, i am guessing it's already beginning to resolve. that's super. i think i'd feed him more now (more volume of a LC) and see if you can hold him flat for the bottom of this cycle so he doesn't go too far down. then see what he does tonight. if you can keep him above 150, perhaps he won't bounce tonight and you'll be able to let him get a little lower in the next few days.

for what it's worth, that's my 2 cents that i would try. i do think he looks better and less dramatic! you're doing something right!
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert AMPS 354 +2.5 208

Just to respond to below:
anyway, i see absolutely nothing in rupert's ss to suggest a high dose condition. high dose means exactly that - needing a HIGH DOSE. cats on 2.25 are definitely not in that category. save your money for something you really need!!

IAA is not a high dose condition, it is a resistance condition, so the dose of 2.25u would not be considered as needing and acro test, but an IAA test should be kept in mind.
The dose of 2.25u can be considered as IAA - by checking the ss of other IAA cats, it would be noted that some are at doses as low as 2.75u currently.

ETA: to share my earlier message -

Looking at your ss for Rupert, it's looking like you need to up the dose to 2.25u and make arrangements to have the IAA and acro tests done.
I am not leaning towards acro, but your numbers sure look like an IAA spreadsheet.
If you want to see a similar ss, look at Pattie and Harley's ss.

Those crazy swings from low greens up to 400s and higher are resistance, not bounces.
You are going to need to get more aggressive and start using R to pull down the really high numbers because they are too hard on Rupert's body and over time, will cause harm.

Please make the arrangements to have him tested and if you want some guidance on IAA, you can look up Sandy and Black Kitty whose IAA cat went OTJ and also Pattie as she has worked Harley down from 10u to 2.5u.
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert AMPS 354 +2.5 208

gayle, i'm not sure you understand glucose toxicity, which can exist in any diabetic cat. here is a link with info on it. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62944

Rupert got to a 25 on a skinny 2.25 on june 21st. that doesn't suggest glucose toxicity, or iaa, or any other special condition, in my opinion. it suggests he's a bouncy cat, and working on managing the food, using volumes and carbs, to prevent him going too low while bringing down the bouncy highs is the best tactic in that particular situation.

i'd remind you, as you already know, that giving dosing advice by pm's is forbidden. suggesting a dose to someone is clearly giving dosing advice.
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert AMPS 354 +2.5 208 +5 190

thanx for the input everyone! I"m happy with the way things are going today, nice relatively slow slide to a blue number for +5..hoping he'll stay there for a bit. if it's not too dramatic, as you pointed out Julie, perhaps he'll stay there a while. Guess tonight's PMPS will tell the tale.. although he's very hard to predict! He's had a couple of snacks thru the morning and is residing on the couch, lower level since Oliver snagged the primo spot early!, looking grumpy - and I can't blame him, today is totally miserable. Hubby has headed out to the boat to work on some wiring, he's pretty low today too, this weather gets to us all. I'm off to visit my mom and dad as it's their anniversary. Rupie seems to be 'mellow' in his reactions today so shouldn't be a problem. Hope everyone has a good day.
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert AMPS 354 +2.5 208 +5 190

I agree with Julie. I think we're seeing a very bouncy cat. I would reiterate my suggestions from Sunday about using food to manipulate the curve to deal with the bouncing.
Sienne & Gabby said:
I think front loading the curve with food will help. I would spread Rupert's meal over 3 installments (PS, +1 and +2) or even 4 installments (PS, +1, +2 and +3). The idea here is that by spreading the food out, you may soften some of the big drops. Give a different feeding schedule a couple of weeks trial to see if it helps. I would also suggest that you consider using food, even higher carb food, to try to prevent Rupert from diving quite so steeply or even to prevent taking a dose reduction. Right now, the flatter you can get the cycle, the better.

FWIW, Gabby was the queen of the dive and bounce. At Jill's suggestion, I spread out Gabby's meals and would add higher carb food when her numbers started to drop or were in danger of getting a reduction as a means of trying to flatten out her numbers. The overall goal was to see blues at pre-shot times and greens in-between. I think for now, if Rupert could get more consistently in blues and yellows and minimize the swings, that would be a reasonable goal.

The typical management of IAA requires fast increases and often the use of R. I would categorically say this is the wrong approach for Rupert. Rupert dropped to a BG of 25 at +2.5 from a pre-shot of 246 on a dose that was slightly less than what Pip is currently shooting. It took Pip a good deal of time to bring Rupert's numbers up into a safe range that day. On 7/1, Rupert was almost at 400 and dropped into green numbers. IMHO, fast increases are not called for here and again, IMHO, would not be a safe course of action for this cat. This kind of pattern is not typical of IAA. These are bounces.
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert AMPS 354 +2.5 208 +5 190 +8.5 219

sneaking back to the yellow for mid afternoon check... not too bad really... nice sort of day for him, slow dip, slow rise... hopefully he won't go too high for his PMPS, but at least I'm not seeing a lot of over-reaction in either direction today! have a feeling tonight could be interesting.
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert AMPS 354 +2.5 208 +5 190 +8.5 219

Lookin' for a nice blue pmps, Mr Rupert.

Oh, and reach up and grab Check's hand and haul him down with you, okay? :-D
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert AMPS 354 +2.5 208 +5 190 +8.5 219 PMPS 190

thanx Checkers! hearing you loud and clear, nice blue (just) PMPS. hope we get to play together tonight!
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert AMPS 354 +2.5 208 +5 190 +8.5 219 PMPS 190

Way to go Rupert - a very nice slide today. Looks like you are copying Zener. Hope that blues tonight promises sun tomorrow and some interesting numbers tonight Pip!
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert AMPS 354 +2.5 208 +5 190 +8.5 219 PMPS 190

Very nice today! One thing I'd like to add to Julies and Sienne's posts. When you are frontloading, I'd actually go one step further and put the volume really early in the cycle. So if you do 4 mini meals (PS, +1,+2, +3), I'd feed the larger portions at PS and +1. And I think both ladies have great ideas of feeding a little bit higher low carb food.
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert PMPS 190 +2 170

nice blue surf going on for Rupie so far. He had a decent sized snack at +1 and I'm just about to give him about a tablespoon more. hoping to keep the blue surf going all evening.
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert PMPS 190 +2 170 +3 151 +5 154

STILL surfing the blues at +5 :-D :-D now I"m wondering what he'll throw me at AMPS, will he rocket up to a red... go to the pink.... or maybe show me something better??????? fingers crossed. I fed slightly bigger snakcs at +1 and +2, a teensy bit at +3, and right now at +5 I've given him another tablespoon of Wellness Chicken & Herring.... fingers crossed
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert PMPS 190 +2 170 +3 151 +5 154

shhhhhh Marjorie! don't spook him! tee hee. hoping this slide into a nice flat blue was slow enough that his liver doesn't panic. I'm gonna get one more test before I go to bed in about 20 mins or so... just to make sure he's safe. I don't think he's going to drop anymore, but lately he's been so erratic it's a tad hard to predict. I'm back at work tomorrow so I can catch up on my sleep then !!!!.
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert PMPS 190 +2 170 +3 151 +5 154

looking great tonight! you might post what you're doing timing, volume and carb-wise in your condos each day so that people can see what's up and offer ideas if they're needed. just a thought.

i was actually thinking really early on the front-loading - like 30% of the morning food at preshot, then 20% at +.5, 20% at +1 and 20% at +2 type of thing, mainly because he nadirs so early. so he's be getting something close to 3/4 of his cycle's food in the first hour or hour and a half. it's the kind of thing you'll want to tinker with - just record what you do so you can analyze it to figure out what works and what doesn't work. i'd probably try one food plan and give it through a couple of bounce cycles at least before changing something.
 
Re: 7/3 Rupert PMPS 190 +2 170 +3 151 +5 154

hmmm, meant to mention one other thought - you might try giving him 1 tablespoon or so of food at +9. some cats seem to get some pancreas action from that and their preshot numbers come down.
 
thanx for the suggestions. I tend to forget the food info in my condo/spreadsheet but will try to stay on top of it. Looks lik ehe's heading up now at his +6, fairly decent jump up, hoping that he doesn't bounce too high before tomorrow morning. Least I can head to bed now!

thanx again. Happy 4th of July everyone!
 
Pip & Rupert said:
June apparently was one of the worst June's we've ever had, with only four days over 20 (70), and July so far has been nothing but rain other than Sunday which was a 'not bad' day but not up to usual standards! Hope everyone has a good Tuesday and has cooler or warmer or dryer weather, as appropriate!!!

We're into winter here and doing better than you - all week over 20 and sunny, but it is a little chilly in the mornings.

Some lovely numbers from Rupie - hope he's realising that the diving crown is not an award to aspire to (anti-jinx)!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top