7/3 Neko PMPS 407 +3 337

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=74275
Yesterday and two promising PS numbers which fizzled. At least the AM had blue, not sure about that PM though!

7/2 Recap
AMPS 320 +3 307 +5 260 +8 190
PMPS 291 +3 433

Neko seems to be feeling good. I think she likes the low pinks and high yellows, as that is when she usually starts playing. I'm glad I set the alarm for the AM as neither cat woke me up. It's good to see her not as starved as she has been.

Today was vet day. It started with visiting the oncologist with my friend whose dog has lymphoma. He is almost finished chemo but a couple of the nodes have grown a tiny bit. I'm along for support. The vet wasn't thrilled but said it wasn't too too bad. Many paws crossed on that one.

Once I got home from that it was time for a quick lunch then off to take Neko to her vet. We had a blood and urine draw. We'll get another geri-panel and urine culture and got blood drawn for IAA and acro tests. The vet said she thought it was a bit soon for the latter two tests. She surprised me - she had been consulting with "the experts" on phone call this morning and that what her experts said. Oh well, it's only my money. :lol: :roll: I did leave her the one article I have that says tests should be done once you are at 1U BID per kg, which she is now. Once we have all the test results (could be up to 10 business days), then the vet is suggesting a consult with an internal medicine specialist.

Neko wasn't thrilled by the vetty visit, and promptly started grooming herself as soon as she got back in the carrier. She is a good little frightened angel while there. She is currently under the bed, because it is now sunny and hailing! Forecast says possible thundershowers today, then SUN for several days! Theo decided he wanted a whack a thon under the bed. He is such a pest. I chased him away. Last thing Neko needs right now.

Help, I need the KTSS to help me get the vetty smell off. They took SO much blood out of me and poked a stick in my belly too! And momma bean smells even worse. She was at two vets today and one of them with a drooler.
 
Re: 7/3 Neko AMPS 341 +3.5 330 +6 284 back from vet

Lol!! Theo and Neko sound like Gizmo and Gabby. Gizmo pesters the heck out of Gabs.

If your vet is sending the blood to Michigan State, the labs are run on Fridays only. It's entirely possible if the FedEx pick-up is today, the blood could be there by Friday. I don't know if there's anyplace in Canada that runs the labs. The only place in the US that runs the tests is MSU.
 
Re: 7/3 Neko AMPS 341 +3.5 330 +6 284 back from vet

Hope the tests come back with all good results for Neko! Moonie usually pees on the vet techs :lol: :lol:
These cats are funny!! Have a good night!
 
Re: 7/3 Neko AMPS 341 +3.5 330 +6 284 back from vet

Hope the tests come back with all good results for Neko! Moonie usually pees on the vet techs :lol: :lol:
These cats are funny!! Have a good night!
 
Re: 7/3 Neko AMPS 341 +3.5 330 +6 284 back from vet

Hi Wendy, that's nice you went along with your friend today, and I hope her dog does well with the chemo. Sounds like a thorough Vetty visit with the b/w for the different tests. Oh poor Neko; they all sure do not like those Vetty visits. So funny with Theo and Neko! :lol: Hope the thundershowers pass quickly.

Neko, for sure the KTSS will help you get rid of the Vetty smell today and spoil you with treats and a massage for your poor tummy.
 
Re: 7/3 Neko AMPS 341 +3.5 330 +6 284 back from vet

Glad to hear the tests were done. For Harley, I got a call from the vet tech saying she didn't think the tests were necessary. My reply - I will find a clinic that will do them. Got a call from the vet saying - yup, they will do the tests. Funny how people are. Will be anxiously waiting the results.

pattie
 
Re: 7/3 Neko AMPS 341 +3.5 330 +6 284 back from vet

@Sienne, yes, the tests are going to MSU. The samples first go to one of the local labs who has experience sending blood across the border, so getting there by Friday might be a stretch. Theo is only 3 years younger than Neko but sure acts like a kitten sometimes.

@Ann - my friends dog hasn't had any bad reactions to chemo so far. He loves visiting his vet tech friends there. Thundershowers seem to have passed for now and I've got Theo on my lap to keep him away. He's OK with that! Now Neko can calm down. The vetty visit doesn't seem to have made a huge change in BG.

@Roni - thanks for your good wishes. We'll have paws crossed here for a while. Regular B/W results back tomorrow, then a few days later for urine culture, then the acro/iaa later. This is the first b/w since Neko's diagnosis so I'm curious to see what has changed.

Mags - thanks for getting the KTSS going. The tummy is OK, just not as starved as I used to be, but I love tummy rubs. You can come in the solarium door. It's nice and sunny but not too hot there.
 
Re: 7/3 Neko AMPS 341 +3.5 330 +6 284 back from vet

Wendy --

My bad!! The tests are run on Wed. and results are sometimes available by Friday. Sorry for the confusion. Probably best that the samples aren't going to be in transit to the US given that Wed. is a holiday here.
 
Re: 7/3 Neko AMPS 341 +3.5 330 +6 284 back from vet

Hi Wendy, I haven't visited your condo before I don't think, I have a hard time getting around with my illness, so I try to keep off the computer, but I thought i would get to know a few new kitties and beans. Your kitty is gorgeous! Looks just like my DSL's kitty.

Hope the blood work comes back all great!
 
Re: 7/3 Neko AMPS 341 +3.5 330 +6 284 back from vet

I'm not sure if I've visited you guys before, either...good luck with the blood test results! Neko is gorgeous...I'm sure KTSS will be by soon to take care of the vetty smell for both of you :lol: !
 
Re: 7/3 Neko AMPS 341 +3.5 330 +6 284 back from vet

Wishing Neko good test results. What a good kitter for putting up with all the pokes. You're a champ Neko!

Glad to hear you're finally getting sunshine :-D
 
Re: 7/3 Neko AMPS 341 +3.5 330 +6 284 back from vet

yeah, they do take a lot of blood for those tests. i remember when i got punkin back all alcohol-covered, i wanted to just gather him up and run away! he looked like he'd been through a wringer. no fun for the little girl, but at least it's done.

ok, as you asked, i looked at neko's ss. you have a couple of options for tactics. when a cat is getting a 1unit dose and you increase (per protocol) by .25u, that's an increase of 25% of the original dose. i have mixed feelings about giving bigger dose increases. sometimes i do it, sometimes i see that .25u makes a difference to his BG. you may want to do some experimenting and see how neko responds. at a 7.25u dose, a 25% increase is something more than 1.5u. personally, i wouldn't increase by that size at this point, but you could increase by .5u and see what kind of response she has. with a 7unit-ish dose, increasing by .25 is likely equivalent to a cat on 1unit having a shaving or fattening to their dose.

i had one or two times where i increased punkin by greater amounts - 1 unit or so. it made me nervous, honestly, and i found that smaller increases made changes, so i went with my gut and what seemed to work best with punkin. your job is to really pay attention to how neko does and go with your gut as well. we got up to 15.5u at the time of the SRT last September. most of the dose changes past about 9units were by .5u. take a look at his ss for 2011 and you'll get an idea of the tactics i used on him.

the one thing that i would do differently, looking back, is that i would not skip shots when he was in blues, and i would continue to follow the protocol goals, aiming for less than 120. i think continuing to focus on good green numbers will allow neko's body to not develop glucose toxicity. allowing cats to remain high, even in 200's all the time, means that they develop a resistance to the insulin and it requires more and more insulin to pull them down. that's my wisdom from hindsight, and i think it's true regardless of whether a cat has iaa, acro or just plain glucose toxicity. it is easier to follow this tactic when you have smaller doses than when a dose gets bigger. some of the cats on the facebook acro group have gotten to doses nearing 100units per dose. i would rather be aggressive in treating and dosing at lower doses than when you get to more than 20 units per dose. know what i mean? i'm just being honest as i see it - i disagree with the dosing strategies (avoid green numbers) of that group because i have seen multiple acro cats do well in greens and they seem to be able to keep their doses down. if punkin had gotten to a dose over 20 or whatever, i would also get reluctant to push into greens.

so . . . i would continue to be aggressive, aiming for dose increases that will keep neko under 120 as much as possible. when punkin was in a similar situation, i increased doses after 4 shots if it looked like nothing was happening, ie, if i didn't see greens. i think you could've increased tonight. you'll get a feel for it as you go along. i don't think it needs to be different than what you've been doing for the past several months. i also don't think neko looks all that bouncy, just high. maybe a little bit of a bounce to that 87 on the night of the 26th, but it resolved by the next day.

you could increase the size of the dose when you do increase, say to .5u tomorrow morning.

the other thing to keep in mind is that NDW happens too - so when you increase a dose if you immediately see 24 hrs of higher numbers, it may be NDW and you may need to let the dose settle in to see what it really does, just like you do now. i think it's a mistake to change a dose with every shot, however, so letting the dose change settle is helpful.

have i overloaded you with strategies/tactics, or been too general? is this what you're looking for? i'm trying to tell you the thinking behind what i did with punkin, but maybe it just makes things confusing.

let me know what questions it brings up for you. and hang in there - she's still the same sweetie, she needs you as much as ever, and getting a high dose diagnosis for her, if you do, isn't the end of the world. iaa is self-limiting, usually less than 1 year. if neko has acro, it's treatable, as you've seen. you've got support and the best LL family ever at your side!

you're not alone in this! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/3 Neko PMPS 407

PMPS 407
Well today ended not so well. Combo of vet visit, dose not working, whatever, at least it's a low 400's. So I upped by .25 tonight.

@Pattie - my vet's attitude to most things is that she'll do what the customer wants. She doesn't generally push things but gives options, information, and then goes with what you want. I was glad to hear she was researching before my visit today.

@Sienne - timing does sound better, the samples should be at MSU by next Wednesday. Just hope they aren't too backed up with this Wednesday a holiday.

@Barb - yes, don't all long haired kitties look beautiful! Thanks for taking the time to visit.

@Amy - thanks for stopping by. Neko will appreciate any KTSS help - her numbers seem a bit stressed out by the vet visit. I'll take any kitty massages too!

@Tamara - thanks for the well wishes. I think Neko just freezes at the vet, I have a hard time getting her out of the carrier, even with the freeze dried chicken bribes. Sure hoping summer is finally arriving.

ETA @Pip - thanks for the support from across the pond!

@Julie - yet another patch in Neko's fur from the blood draw. At least this time they managed to hide most of it behind some long fur. Thanks for the post on dosing ideas. Definitely something to think about. I chose to do a .25 increase tonight after more of no action. That way if I get up the nerve for a .5 increase, it'll be on the lines! I might still be a bit conservative until I get the results and get a better idea of what I'm dealing with. I'm pretty comfortable still at shooting PS of blue as I've done a few new and seen how she responds, just wish I'd have more of them.
 
Re: 7/3 Neko PMPS 407

Wendy

I'm sorry today wasn't such a great day. I'm glad you got the tests done for your own peace of mind and no matter what, Neko is Neko. I'm also glad Julie gave you some ideas and it makes sense to wait and see what you are dealing with, if anything.

Big hugs. You got us...I k ow the waiting is hard.
 
Re: 7/3 Neko PMPS 407

oh hahaha wendy, i know exactly what you mean about wanting to hit the lines on doses. i've made decisions on dose based upon that too!!! it's very scientific, of course, it's known as Dosing By Lineosophy. ;-) :lol:

the more you try this or that out and see how she responds, the more comfortable you will feel about all of it. it gets easier. keep good notes in her ss so that you can look back and connect dots. that really does help.

oh - and about the blood test, i meant to tell you that i phoned MSU lab last year and they told me that they have sometimes had trouble with Fed Ex, so they encourage people to use the US postal service. just thinking that since her blood is going to an intermediate stop in canada first, it might be possible for you to make a phone call tomorrow about it.

however, if you can't, i wouldn't sweat too much about it. i'm sure it will get there. the iaa test is done when the blood arrives, the acro tests are started on wednesdays with results usually available on fridays. the other weird thing about that lab is that your vet has to "retrieve" the test results or arrange to have them sent. i think they post them on a website or can email them. i didn't know that and neither did my vet, and it delayed the results for us by one very long week (for me, at least). perhaps your vet already knew about that, but if not, you might want to inquire.
 
Julie, the blood goes first to a vet lab in town, then they do the shipping etc. to MCU. I imagine the results will go to them, and then to my vet. The vet lab even lists the tests on their web site as services offered, and at I heard from one person here that they had used that lab, so they do have experience doing this, but we can't get US postal service from this side of the border. Of course with going through the middle guy labs and the shipping and border crossing, the cost is just a teensy bit more than what is posted on the MSU side :lol: My vet had to come back into the consult room when she found out the prices to make sure it's what I wanted. Fortunately I had been forwarned on what it might cost. :shock:
 
Dont worry Wendy. Waiting is the worst that can happen because you're going to think of all sorts of things to scare yourself. Neko is still our sweet Neko. Nothing changes. Honestly, I think 0.1u or 5u, you still have to do the same thing everyday! What is important is our kitty is happy. Hugs!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top