7/3 Mike's Buddy PMPS#308 ~was hoping for lower

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike&Buddy

Member Since 2011
No late snacks or anything, yet a close 400. Sores are along his whiskers area but no place else at the moment.

Previous:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46704
 
Re: 7/2 Mike's Buddy AMPS#381 ~still high

just sending my buddy Binks' buddy Buddy strong healing vines, and lower bg vines as well...

celi & binks
 
Re: 7/2 Mike's Buddy AMPS#381 ~still high

I guess you've investigated whether he has an infection, which can drive up BGs?

And Buddy isn't getting any meds with steroids? We've just been handling skin issues with the vet, who keeps suggesting medications with steroids, despite Kitty's diabetes!

One other thought: Does he eat out of a plastic dish? Any chance this could be the acne some kitties get from plastic?
 
Re: 7/2 Mike's Buddy AMPS#381 ~still high

Sending healing vibes to Buddy. . .

Mike, what does Buddy's vet say is the cause of this? Could it be some sort of parasite, like bot fly larvae (does he go outdoors?)? Cushings?
 
Re: 7/2 Mike's Buddy AMPS#381 +1.5 339 ~still high

All of them are inside kitties; but they do hang in the back screen porch when ever possible. Vet says they can only figure it out by an over night stay and invasive bios on the sores.

We have said no for reasons stated in the past (they want to put him completely under); he is 14, has a L2 HM, Asthmatic and requires a light sedation for long travels because he goes totally nuts in the car (this can throw blood work and other tests off), and you can imagine what it is like for him at a vet place with out me around. And they are starting to get picky about owners hanging around during procedures which they use to let me do. It is a mixed bag of pros, cons and mixed feelings about procedures and protocols. Blood tests have never shown anything significant in the past. Pred was used in the past to treat these sores, but it made him a FDB kitty!

They use paper plates for feeding when I am home, and a ceramic bowl when I am away.

Diet is FF beef classic and the occasional FF ocean fish and tuna.
 
Re: 7/2 Mike's Buddy AMPS#381 +1.5 339 ~still high

I will throw out a couple of speculations, for whatever they may be worth (which may be nothing):

1. FF: Possible allergies? Would testing a food change be worthwhile? We have had great luck at first, and then Kitty appears to develop allergies to it. In our case, he throws up, but a skin allergy could be possible.

2. For Kitty's ears, we tried a non-steroidal Otic called Zymox that Sienne had heard about. They also make a skin ointment without steroids.
http://www.amazon.com/Topical-Pet-w...unce/dp/B002UUV1OC/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
Might not be okay for use where it can be ingested, but the company is very helpful when contacted directly.

3. Do Buddy's blood tests show eosiniphils high, as allergy indicator?

4. And excuse me if you have already answered this: You've investigated dental/gum issues?
 
Re: 7/2 Mike's Buddy AMPS#381 +1.5 339 ~still high

Kathy and Kitty said:
I will throw out a couple of speculations, for whatever they may be worth (which may be nothing):

1. FF: Possible allergies? Would testing a food change be worthwhile? We have had great luck at first, and then Kitty appears to develop allergies to it. In our case, he throws up, but a skin allergy could be possible.

It was considered; but these things come and go. He has been eating FF for about two years now. What would be the best question is; Why only now and then these sores appear and when he has eaten the same stuff for a while. (We eliminated all poultry for the meantime).

2. For Kitty's ears, we tried a non-steroidal Otic called Zymox that Sienne had heard about. They also make a skin ointment without steroids.
http://www.amazon.com/Topical-Pet-w...unce/dp/B002UUV1OC/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
Might not be okay for use where it can be ingested, but the company is very helpful when contacted directly.

We use various things for his sore depending on their level. Cortisone, Atopica (pill) - was stopped because no one had any profound info on it) and Neosporin mostly.

3. Do Buddy's blood tests show eosiniphils high, as allergy indicator?

So far none; Bit at present ( or since his findings of being a FDB kitty) I can't find his last test since early this year. I guess I will have to ask them for a copy.


4. And excuse me if you have already answered this: You've investigated dental/gum issues?

He does have some build up; we try to do a pic and scrape now and then. But he has to many issue to risk being put under for dental these days. He may have some inflammation, yes.
 
Re: 7/2 Mike's Buddy AMPS#381 +1.5 339 +3 333 +5 294

That food issue is interesting. Kitty eats one food for a long time - then suddenly starts throwing up. I've discussed with others that food allergies can develop over time.

Of course, the cortisone could raise his numbers, being steroidal.

You are really in a bind between needing to avoids steroids and not being able to anesthetize. Have you posted on general health with this? Some of the lab techs might have some useful insights.

It's tough. Keep us posted. Will send healing thoughts - couldn't hurt!
 
Re: 7/3 Mike's Buddy PMPS#308

So, we hit 300 tonight. I guess it's back to square one on what is going on as posted in past condos. confused_cat

Ugh... and my day off is gone and off to work for a full 7 days. :sad:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top