? 7/3 Michael AMBG 50, 46, 50 +6 77 pmps 67 +2 84 Why so low with a new reduction?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-66-8-5-65-pmps-62-2-71.140356/#post-1448113

Good mornin':coffee::coffee:
Day 40 of Good #'s. (anti-jinx)

I'm confused.:confused:M's amps was 50 1/2hr later, 46. 1/2 later 50. I fed lc food on the 1st 50 and he went 46. So I fed Hc mixed with Lc food + a drop of corn surup. He came back up to 50.
I didn't give him his am shot (.5u). I felt I should err on the side of caution since this is a holiday weekend.
Yesterday, I reduced his shot from .75u to .5 u. Why is M's #'s lower? What can I expect from not giving his shot this am.
Please look at his SS.
Any thoughts/advice would be appreciated.
Thanks a Bunch!
Yo everyone,
I'm at the lagoon in my green suit (amps 50):D:D
 
Probably just a little leftover action from the .75 depot...it can continue to have some effect for up to 6 cycles

I'd just stick with the regular LC food...without insulin this morning, he's not going to go hypo

Michael's looking great today!!
 
I think his pancreas is feeling real good. BTW you might want to change your subject from AMPS to AMBG since you wisely skipped. Surf green Michael.
 
Remember it takes 3-5 days for a Lantus dose to settle, due to the depot. This may include draining it!
 
Morning! :coffee::coffee::coffee:

I too believe that you have some depot action, and carryover from the prior dose, numbers can still dip after a doe reduction. I too would stick with the LC food.

Have a great day today!
 
:D:D:D

So much green!! I think those numbers signal that Michael was definitely ready for his new lower dose. I keep his spreadsheet open on a tab on my computer so I can watch his progress.

I think sometimes when a kitty is making their way down in dose, you really have to just follow their lead. Sometimes they stay nice and even, and then BAM, something changes in their body and they want less insulin. :D:D:D

Sometimes they follow the protocol, and sometimes not. I think when they flatten out like Michael has, it can be a little trickier to interpret their numbers. I will be very interested to see where Michael is at tonight after the skip this morning. I echo the sentiment that skipping was definitely the right choice.

Paula, you've done such a GREAT job with Michael! remember back when you were disheartened when Michael was bouncing so badly? When you've got a bouncy kitty, it can be frustrating to hear that cats bounce until they don't, because it seems like they will never stop bouncing. Now, you can point to Michael's spreadsheet as proof that bouncy kitties can and do eventually flatten out!

Have a wonderful day, Paula!
 
So true, Paula. You have been magnificent in caring for Michael. And his journey is an inspiration to everyone with a bouncy kitty. I do believe your boy is on a mission. I am soooooo happy for you both.

Marilyn and Polly
 
:D enjoy swimming in the green lagoon, michael! :D:D

if he's high enough that you feel ok shooting tonight, Paula, I'd try the 0.5u again.

If you don't feel like you can monitor this evening, maybe either drop to 0.25u or wait til tomorrow morning and restart with the 0.5u.

Depends on what he does between now and then, but I just want to throw some options out there for you to consider before it's shot time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top