7/3 Loudogg AMPS 284 +3 325 +8 171 PMPS 151 +3 213 - Switching to TR

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
July 2, 2018 Condo - Positive for IAA 84%

Hello everyone!

Lou had an absolutely amazing day yesterday. It was his first full cycle with all blues/greens (dipped a toe in)!! SO exciting!! And then the fun continued into most of the PM cycle as well. I had set an alarm to check him at +6, but my alarm clock froze. I woke up a little after 2 am on my own and snuck in a test. From the higher (but still blue!) number, he may have gone lower, but perhaps he was just done surfing. :p

So today's AMPS was yellow, as I expected. After testing his +3 and getting a pink number, we decided to go to the casino. We just got back a bit ago, I tested him and he was at 171! He's really working on surfing full time and this is so exciting, especially after the IAA diagnosis yesterday.

This 3.0 dose seems to be working well for the SLGS method. I have realized recently that I haven't given him any dry food in at least 2 weeks. I just stopped one weekend and apparently never started again. In light of the IAA diagnosis and Lou seeming to calm down his bouncing, I am seriously considering moving to TR regulation. Any thoughts or suggestions about switching?

I hope you all have a wonderful day! Give your kitties extra scritches from me!
 
Last edited:
PMPS 151! So happy to see such a short bounce! Now hopefully we don't see only a quick peek at blues today. Hopefully he can work with this!
 
The biggest changes with TR are reduction point and how often/when you increase the dose. With TR, Lou would get an increase to 3.25 as he is only seeing the occasional high green. Annectdotally and from what I saw, keeping more green in the picture seems to help keep the antibodies at bay. The complication here is that we don't know if Lou's antibodies have already broken, though it looks like it. Generally lower nadirs means lower overall range of numbers and less time over renal threshold, which is a good thing.

The late nadirs can be common with IAA, as the antibodies grab the injected insulin. Even after Neko's IAA broke, she still had late nadirs. Her Lantus onset was after +3.

Looking good Lou, blue is good.:cool:
 
Thanks Wendy! I think it would probably be best for Lou at this point to switch him to TR. Slightly terrifying though, but I feel like we're getting enough tests in to do it. He had late nadirs on Vetsulin as well, but they really do seem to be a moving target on the Basaglar. Generally later on average though. I suppose that would also explain why his +3s don't always tell us much.

As far as the IAA - antibodies grabbing the injected insulin - can the antibodies release at random times and act like an increase?
 
Yes, the antibodies can die and release insulin at random times too, or at least random to us. Not really like an increase, but unexpected numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top