7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 38 @ 3.8 PMPS 133 Dosecrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
I've been up since before 4, so I'm going btb soon.

She ate around 1 1/2 Tbsp FF for breakfast, maybe a little less. She also ate in/on my bed, and was kind enough to fling bits of food on the sheet, so that will be in the laundry soon...

She's still congested and was drinking quite a bit of water when she woke up with me at 4:00. And she had a sneezefest all over me too (I have since showered). I considered giving some cyproheptadine to see how it would help the congestion, which we think may be allergy related (seems to get worse when she goes outside for a while with me). Instead, I gave her between 50 - 75 ml squids between +10 and +11. She will no longer sit still for that, so I have to keep a hand on her and try to keep an eye on the amount in the bag and it's not as easy as it sounds! At least I remembered to cut the flow off before taking the needle out of her today - I've sprayed the Ringers solutions around like a hose quite a few times. Hey - I'm still new at this and we only use the fluids when I think we need them - once or twice a week... Less often lately cuz there was so much going on with Blue.

I don't know what happened last night - Kasha was headed down - 90 @ +3. Then, at +4, she swung up to 118... no idea why... she was sleeping in the papasan chair, don't even think she got up to eat.

Blue was cuddled with me on the couch almost all night. It was really cute - he had his left hind leg thrown over me and was cuddled up close in a way he'd never quite be able to do with 2 hind legs, cuz the other leg would always be in the way. Not now. That little guy is always turning lemons into lemonade, or whatever that expression is.

The pet steps in the living room backfired on me. I can no longer sit on the couch and eat in peace. Instead of Kasha sitting on the floor, begging... She comes up right next to me and waits for an opportunity to steal bad food. Next thing you know, I'll be eating pastry in the car because I am not going on an all low carb diet! I've given up sugar before when I've had health issues and the sugar-free lifestyle is not for me!

Yesterday
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124

Sorry to hear Kasha is still sneezing. Nice AMPS for her. I can see where giving the squids would be hard at times. I was giving them to my GA kitty, and it wasn't easy with him. I can picture Blue with his leg thrown over you. We sure can learn a lot from pets in the way they handle their handicap.
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 61 @ 2.7

Ok, maybe this explains what happened last night... Just a thought...

I just woke up on the couch with Blue (my "btb" was actually "btc"). Kasha had gotten up and searched out Blue's bowl of food (because I hadn't yet put out any other food). I had a feeling she was dropping. So - she dropped down to 61. She may have dropped lower, cuz there was some new food on board by the time I tested her and I'm not sure how long that would take to get into her bloodstream.

If this happened last night, maybe the 90 I caught at +3 was already on the way back up. Then she held the blues all night - like a little, tiny bounce.

Isn't it fun playing detective?
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 61 @ 2.7

Nice catch this morning....Kasha is looking good! Cute story about Blue...he is amazing, isn't he? wow!
Hope you all have a wonderful day! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 61 @ 2.7

I don't even bother playing detective with FD, it's too exhausting. Thank heavens we have the experts here to help us. But is the AMPS is a bounce its a good one that Kasha has cleared already. She's doing great!
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4 Dose Advice?

Is it too soon to reduce her dose?

She was eating LC and still dropped to 48... I think it's because I got dressed to go out for a bit! There's a bakery that makes the best butter cookies and it's hit or miss whether they have them and I can only make it there on Saturday mornings... It's been years since I had these cookies... I'm having a little food obsession right now and I think Kasha figures if SHE can't eat the butter cookies with me anymore, then I shouldn't eat them either.

I like playing detective. I always want to BE one of the experts - LOL... it's amazing how much more sense a lot of Kasha's numbers make when you learn a little bit more. Not that they ALL make sense... but just knowing how easily a bounce can happen, etc... explains a lot and makes me feel better about where we're going...
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4 Dose Advice?

Nope, it's not too soon. Congrats on the dose reduction. I'm going to assume you'll shoot a fat 0.25? Or do you want to try for 0.25?

As for last night, remember that you need to factor in meter variance. There can be as much as 20% variance in any number you get. It does look like Kasha spent a lot of the cycle surfing blue but these are still very good numbers.

I suspect that you will not be able to leave a plate of food unguarded!
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4 Dose Advice?

Yay! Thanks Sienne. And thanks again for responding so fast that the suspense didn't have time to build!

I don't think I can measure a f.25. I'll probably grab some syringes and experiment a little today to see what I can measure. If I'm not confident in the f.25, I'll just aim for .25. I thought I'd have more time getting comfortable measuring the s.5! But I'm not complaining.
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4 Dose Advice?

There's not a lot of difference between a skinny .5 and a fat .25 -- maybe a drop? I'd be more concerned about measuring a dose consistently. (I was posting almost at the same time you were asking your question about dose!!)
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4, 38 @ 3.8 Dose Advice?

Well, she was bound and determined to get herself some of that supposedly 9% FF Elegant Medleys that always bump up her BG... I was holding off, but not when she throws a 38 at me.

She's sneezing away while she eats - I think she put her whole face in the bowl cuz there was gravy in more places than on her mouth. She actually might have gotten some in her nose... Talk about inhaling your food...
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4, 38 @ 3.8 Dose Advice?

Well, it there was any question about a dose reduction, we now know the answer. With a 38 this early in the cycle, I'd vote for the 0.25u. Congrats (again).

I don't think you're gonna get your cookies, though! Sorry!
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4, 38 @ 3.8 Dose Advice?

Sorry to hear that Kasha is still congested. I know how difficult giving squids alone can be sometimes. I have 2 furkids with CRF and sometimes the fight to give squids is very stressful. Thank goodness neither needs them on a daily basis.
Concats on the dose decrease! I'm still too darn confused about this whole FD thing to play detective just yet. :smile: Loving the image of your tripod kitty snuggling up to you like that. Always have to remember that handicapped is OUR concept, not theirs! :-D
BTW, those butter cookies sound yummy! :-D
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4, 38 @ 3.8 Dose Advice?

Congrats to Kashsa and you on the doscrease. Wow, she is on her way to you know what...shhhh!

I was wondering what kind of takeout food you were doing today. I think I'm stuck in the apartment, this morning anyway, as we have a parking problem here with only 70 parking spaces for 120 apartments. Yes, I'm looking for another apartment. There is always pizza delivery.

Anyway this is so exciting with Kasha,
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4, 38 @ 3.8 Dose Advice?

WHOOOOO HOOOOOOO!!!!! GO Kasha!!! Congrats on dose crease!! It's all good :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4, 38 @ 3.8 Dose Advice?

Ann and Maggie11 said:
Congrats to Kashsa and you on the doscrease. Wow, she is on her way to you know what...shhhh!

I was wondering what kind of takeout food you were doing today. I think I'm stuck in the apartment, this morning anyway, as we have a parking problem here with only 70 parking spaces for 120 apartments. Yes, I'm looking for another apartment. There is always pizza delivery.

Anyway this is so exciting with Kasha,

anti-jinx!

Since I doubt I'll be getting those incredible butter cookies... I think I might take a drive to Whole Foods and pick up a couple of pieces of cake. They make this amazing yellow cake with buttercream frosting and strawberries or raspberries. My mom has been craving it, so I figured I'd grab a piece for her too. For some reason, Whole Foods decided to build 2 locations in Cleveland - all on the East Side (Cleveland is divided, East vs West). I live on the West side. The 2 Whole food locations are only 5 miles apart. It just doesn't make sense.
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4, 38 @ 3.8, 70 @ 4.5!

Whoa - she went from 41 at +10.1 to 70 at +10.5! I had gotten out some higher carb food just in case she was dropping... but I guess those 9% FF medleys did the trick (and then some). For some reason, I still don't believe they are really 9%... She just gets too much of a boost from them.
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4, 38 @ 3.8, 70 @ 4.5!

morning krys!

what a fun filled morning for you! i don't have a ton of background on kasha so ignore these comments if you've been there, done that, but i've used the allergy med for years with my kitties with great success. we had a CRF kitty who loved to sneeze snot boogers in my face (hope this is late enough for those this sensitive stomachs) and it really helped her feel better. six also takes the med as needed. his problem with allergies leads to his throat swelling. we use chlorpheniramine maleate (chlor-trimeton).

sweet blue story. hope kasha is leveling out.
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4, 38 @ 3.8, 70 @ 4.5!

Congratulations on the dose reduction. You guys are doing so great. Keep it up!
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4, 38 @ 3.8, 70 @ 4.5!

Amy and Six said:
morning krys!

what a fun filled morning for you! i don't have a ton of background on kasha so ignore these comments if you've been there, done that, but i've used the allergy med for years with my kitties with great success. we had a CRF kitty who loved to sneeze snot boogers in my face (hope this is late enough for those this sensitive stomachs) and it really helped her feel better. six also takes the med as needed. his problem with allergies leads to his throat swelling. we use chlorpheniramine maleate (chlor-trimeton).

sweet blue story. hope kasha is leveling out.

Thanks, Amy! My vet just recommended I try that when we saw her yesterday. I also have cyproheptadine around and I wasn't sure which would be better. I always feel better trying something that is recommended by someone who has actually used it with her cat! Thanks for the advice - I really appreciate it. I'm going to try to pick some up today.
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4, 38 @ 3.8, 70 @ 4.5!

We use the generic....so much cheaper if you can find it. Our vet has dosed 2mg (1/2 tab)...but Six is a big boy (16 lbs) so you might want to use less or see what others have dosed.
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4, 38 @ 3.8, 70 @ 4.5!

Amy and Six said:
We use the generic....so much cheaper if you can find it. Our vet has dosed 2mg (1/2 tab)...but Six is a big boy (16 lbs) so you might want to use less or see what others have dosed.

While Kasha has been as high as 15 lbs in another life, she is currently a svelte 10 lbs, so my vet recommended 1/4 tab (1 mg) twice a day.

Maybe I'll walk up to the nearest drug store before it gets too hot out and I get too lazy to walk!

Thanks!
 
Re: 7/3 Kasha AMPS 124, 48 @ +3.4, 38 @ 3.8, 70 @ 4.5!

Don't forget to remind Kasha and Blue to come to Luna's 6 month anniversary party. Maggie requests Blue as her escort.
 
That PMPS may have a little food behind it. They licked one bowl clean before I got home, but I forgot there was another bowl on the front porch. While I was stalling before dinner time, Kasha found that bowl and started to eat a little of the nasty old food in it. Blue was nibbling at food crumbs that had fallen on the floor... I guess they have to get a good solid base in them before they go on to Luna's party!

Kasha ate nearly 2 Tbsp food... over 1 3/4 Tbsp, at least. With chicken dust. Just before dinner, I gave her 1/4 tab of Chlor-Trimeton to try for the sneezy stuff. I wanted to be able to keep an eye on her when I gave her something new. She ate it in a skinny pill pocket, no problem.

Gave her approx .25 u insulin. Had a hard time measuring today for some reason. It kept looking too small and I'd draw in a little more insulin... measure... repeat... What a tiny amount! I wonder if it will do anything.

Blue used the pet steps to get onto the couch. Earlier today, he used them with encouragement (me parked behind him, tapping him on the back and gently prodding him forward). Tonight, I was on the couch - he hopped over and then went right up them. That's my boy. I hope he and Kasha don't start fighting over them now.

Ok - there's cake to eat and dinner to be procured. I'll check in and see how the party's going later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top