7/3 Jack AMPS 164

Status
Not open for further replies.

KigerKat

Member Since 2011
Hello, everyone!

Jack and I are new here, but I wanted to take a moment to introduce ourselves.

Jack is my "Good Buddy", a Maine Coon mix that has been with me for almost 10 years. He was abandoned in front of a Petco just after Thanksgiving, and I was just getting over being dumped and needed a new friend. We have lived happily ever after ever since!

Our little family has grown over the years. First with a sister (Phoebe - blue & white DSH, 9 years), a husband/stepfather (Brett), and an obnoxious little Bengal brother (Maverick - 5 years).

Jack was diagnosed with feline diabetes on June 24th, just 16 days ago. Our vet started him on 1 unit of Lantus/bid. His original BG test at the vet's office was in the 400's. We took him in to the vet last Monday for his first glucose curve, where he tested mostly in the 300's and 400's, but his lowest reading was 258 at about +6. The vet decided to increase his dosage to 3 units/bid.

The kitties have always eaten Science Diet Oral Care (dry food). After Jack's diagnosis, we began to research the topic online (my husband is the research KING!) and read all about the nutrition content of dry food and the results of having a high carb diet. After a lot of confusion and more research, we decided to switch all 3 kitties to Wellness canned food. Needless to say, the KigerKats did not mind the change at all. :-D They are now on an all wet food diet!

We had our first semi-scare with Jack Friday and yesterday. My stepsister had a diabetic kitty that had many complications, and she unfortunately had to put her down about a year ago. She was very generous and sent us the glucose meter and all of the supplies she had. It arrived Thursday. We were planning on doing our own curve at home today (Sunday), so I thought we should probably practice before we did. I tested him on Friday and got a reading of 54 about 8 hours after his morning shot. When my husband came home, we tested again before his evening shot and got a reading of 50. We panicked a bit and decided to skip his evening shot.

Then yesterday morning, we tested his AMPS and got a reading of 196. We went ahead and fed him and gave him 3 units. After reading what was posted on his update thread over on the Feline Health board, DH and I discussed it and decided to call the vet. He told us to test him at +6 and then call him back with the number, which ended up being 44. Jack was very lethargic, but still alert and not showing any other signs of hypo. We do have a bottle of Karo syrup with q-tips taped to the side, a suggestion of my stepsister, ready to go!

The vet told us not to give him a shot last night or this morning. His reading at dinnertime last night was 71 and then 164 this morning. We are supposed to call the vet with his evening number tonight and then we'll see if we should give him any insulin.

He does seem MUCH more energetic today! Just now, he was running between the back door and the living room window to see some kind of critter that must be in the backyard. He's acting more "normal" today than he has been in the past few days.

So, that's us and where we are in a nutshell. We have already gotten a lot of great advice from this message board, and I look forward to learning and working with all of you so I can get my Good Buddy OTJ soon!!
 
Here's the link to your post on Health.

Welcome to Lantus Land!! I'm glad to see you got Jack's SS up and running. Google has been "difficult" lately.

While you and your vet are deciding about whether to shoot tonight, I'd still get a test or two in today. With the 44 yesterday, based on the dosing protocol we use, Jack would get a dose reduction. IMHO, I think starting Jack on 1.0u makes much more sense than 3.0u, but you'll need to discuss this with your vet. Starting lower, will enable you to work his dose up in a safe and more gradual manner. As I said over on Health, between the stress at the vet's office and eliminating the dry food, you are probably going to see much better numbers at home.

Please ask questions and let us know how we can help.
 
I just tested again, and he's down a bit to 142. He is still acting like his old self again, which includes following me around the house like a puppy, scratching his pads (he's declawed in the front) on the corners of the couch, and looking out the living room window and back door.

The even better news is that I was able to do the test on the first try!! It has taken me on average 3-4 tries before I get a good drop of blood. I must be getting better at it!
 
Tested again, and the result was 173. I called the vet, but no answer. Hopefully, he will call me back soon and let me know what we need to do. I'm guessing we end up giving him 1 unit tonight.
 
WELCOME, CARRIE & JACK!!

you have found the place for help....
folks are a bit scarce here due to the holiday, but you will be amazed at the vast knowledge, generosity, and support you will find here.

this forum is without a doubt the reason that my cat is still with me and in great health.

celi & binks
 
Just spoke with the vet, and he told us NOT to give Jack any insulin tonight. When we check it tomorrow morning, if he is over 200 then we only give 1 unit.

Thanks for the nice welcome, Celi! I'm looking forward to getting to know everyone here!!
 
Hi, Carrie,

Welcome to Lantus Land! I just want to hug you for adopting Jack that Thanksgiving weekend. :YMHUG: He is a sweetheart.

You have come to the right place to take the best possible care of him. Between you and your Research King, and all of the knowledge and support here, Jack is going to do great. Sounds like you have a good vet, too, and you have a smart dosing plan. Start low, go slow -- you'll hear that a lot here - the best way to find Jack's best dose.

Happy July 4th to you and all the family!
 
just want to add my welcome to lantus land! there is an incredible amount of knowledge here and you'll be able to get the help you need to help jack.

i'd encourage you to read the starred "stickies" at the top of the lantus forum. there is SO much information there - perhaps your husband will enjoy going through it all. i found i have to read everything, then when something new comes up i go back and read again. maybe start with the "new" sticky - it has the best summary of everything.

so glad you're hometesting. all of us here have gone through the beginnings of that, so if you have any trouble or need any suggestions, holler. everyone's got their own little bag of tricks that we use to do it. after learning more, i would never give insulin without hometesting again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top