7/3 Angie amps=122, +3=95 feeding when not monitoring?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

I just woke up to test and shoot an hour and a half late. :sad: Alarms were no match for me this morning.

I don't know what to do about shot times tonight and tomorrow night:
- Tonight I have dinner plans with people I don't know well. I've already arranged dinner around Angie's previous shot time (shooting before I leave) and my hypoglycaemia diet (can't eat carbs 4 hrs before I sleep) so I can't change on them at the last minute.
- Tomorrow night I will be at an information night for a potential job and will have needed to skip or shoot even later anyway.

The messy plan:
yesterdays/ normal shot time: 6 am/pm
today's shot time: 7.30 am, 10 pm (when I get home from dinner)
tomorrow's shot time: 9.30 am/pm (I'll be home at about 8.30 pm anyway)
Friday: 9 am/pm
Saturday: 8 am/pm
Sunday: 7 am/pm
Monday: 6.30 am/pm
Tuesday: 6 am/pm Woo hoo! Back to normal.

I normally go to bed at 10 pm. I can stretch that to 11 pm but no later - I'll just end up sleeping in and messing things up again. So if I shoot I will need to program snacks into her bowl and won't be monitoring past 11 pm.

Does that sound ok? Would it be better to skip tonight and tomorrow night to keep it more even and make sure that I'm not shooting when I can't monitor?


Yesterday's condo is here.

Thanks for your help again,
Grace
 
Re: 7/3 Angie - amps=122 -? messed up shot times

Too bad about the sleep in, but you must have needed it. We normally don't recommend shooting any more than than 1/2 earlier each day unless the cat is significantly higher before shot time. Shooting early can act like a dose increase. Your plan up to and including Friday night sounds good. Can you do Saturday 8:30, Sunday 8:00, Monday 7:30, Tuesday 7:00, Wednesday 6:30 then back to normal?

The late shot tonight acts like a decrease, so she "should" be OK, but who cat predict what cats do? :lol: Maybe test her just before what would be shot time and decide then if you have to skip. If you skip tonight, you can shoot at 8:30AM/PM tomorrow and then work your way back in half hour steps.
 
Re: 7/3 Angie - amps=122 -? messed up shot times

The other option would be to skip one shot to get back on track. If it makes the most sense to skip tomorrow night, you can then shoot at your preferred time the following morning and be back on schedule. I agree with Wendy -- it's not advised to shoot an hour early especially if you're seeing pre-shot numbers that are looking this good and if you can't be home to monitor.
 
Re: 7/3 Angie - amps=122 -? messed up shot times

Oops - I did mean to put them earlier in 1/2 hour increments. I had to re-read it a few times to spot where I hadn't. Thanks for picking that up Wendy!

I think I'll follow Sienne's option of skipping tomorrow night. That way I will only have one evening that monitoring will be difficult for.

the simpler plan with a skip:
yesterdays/ normal shot time: 6 am/pm
today's shot time: 7.30 am, 10 pm (when I get home from dinner)
tomorrow's shot time: 10 am, skip pm
Friday: 6 am/pm

I'll program her auto feeder to give her treats tonight to keep her bg up. If pushing the dose later acts as a reduction there should be less chance of her going low, right? Would feeding LC at +2 +3 and +4 be enough? Her nadir is normally at about +3. Would MC be a good idea at +2?

Jetzin is going to think it's Christmas with all these extra snacks! He get's quite a good deal out of Angie's diabetes.
 
Re: 7/3 Angie - amps=122 -? messed up shot times

Will you be able to get a +1 tonight before bed? The LC feeding sounds good, just not sure about the MC.

Lucky Jetzin. My civie loves test time too. :lol:
 
Re: 7/3 Angie - amps=122 -? messed up shot times

GraceAndAngie said:
I think I'll follow Sienne's option of skipping tomorrow night. That way I will only have one evening that monitoring will be difficult for.

the simpler plan with a skip:
yesterdays/ normal shot time: 6 am/pm
today's shot time: 7.30 am, 10 pm (when I get home from dinner)
tomorrow's shot time: 10 am, skip pm
Friday: 6 am/pm
A much better, safer, and less stressful idea.

Jetzin is going to think it's Christmas with all these extra snacks! He get's quite a good deal out of Angie's diabetes.
My civie loves the extra treats at J.D.'s low numbers too :cool:
 
Re: 7/3 Angie - amps=122, +3=95 - feeding when not monitorin

Hi Wendy - yes, I could get a +1 - not much more than that though. I'll plan to go with LC unless she has a drop.

Hi Dyana - thanks for affirming my plans. It helps to proceed with confidence that I haven't misinterpreted.

How much of a drop would suggest MC? Or below what BG level should I give her some MC?

I usually need to plan ahead in the evenings because there generally isn't anyone on the board by that time who is confident giving advice.
 
The late shot does act like a dose reduction. The big question mark will be whether the effects of any dose change will be felt that cycle or in a subsequent cycle. These kitties refuse to read the rule book!
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
The late shot does act like a dose reduction. The big question mark will be whether the effects of any dose change will be felt that cycle or in a subsequent cycle. These kitties refuse to read the rule book!

Ah, I see - so we may not have a reduced chance of a hypo because of the depot. I wish there was a rule book - I would love to read it! Thanks Sienne.

What do you think of my plan for feeding LC? What would I look for to make me want to feed MC instead?
 
If the +1 is the same or lower than the PS, I'd think about leaving out something higher carb.
 
With as well as Angie is doing, I bet you barely notice anything with the skip. But you might see some Wonkiness from shooting early than shooting late. But it shouldn't take too long to get her back on track.

I agree with Wendy. If her +1 is not substantially higher than her PS, Id leave out HC.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top