7/3 - 7/9 Chase

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandi & Chase in AZ

Member Since 2017
Good morning, all! We've been MIA due to moving to a new city. I've been testing Chase regularly but my meter lost his BG numbers for 7/1 and 7/2 AND the evening numbers after his PMPS for 6/30. I thought it would keep all numbers but apparently I tested too many times and it only keeps so many numbers. :( This has never happened to me, before. I thought that when I finally got back online, that I would be able to record all of his numbers. It's so bad that I lost 2 1/2 days, but I've just got to move on. No use crying over spilled milk, right? :( So here are Chase's numbers for the days of 7/3/17 through today... 7/9/17 (so far).

7/9: 700 AMPS 185, +1 261, +2 132, +2.5 123, +3 84, +3.5 80
(The meter is acting funny. Twice it wouldn't read and I had to put a 2nd test strip in. HOW DO YOU KNOW IF THE METER NEEDS A NEW BATTERY? I'VE HAD THIS METER SINCE FEBRUARY)

7/8: 630 AMPS 234, +1 238, +2 148, +3 94, +4.5 92
7/8: 630 PMPS 232, +2 197, +3.5 166

7/7: 700 AMPS 207, +3 144, +4.5 163
7/7: 630 PMPS 191, +2 189, +3 190

7/6: 630 AMPS 233, +1 233, +3 167
7/6: 630 PMPS 150, +1 149, +2 88, +3 82, +4 92

7/5: 630 AMPS 189, +1 165, +2.75 93, +3.75 106
7/5: 630 PMPS 248, +1 212, +2 154, +3.5 119

7/4: 700 AMPS 277, +1.5 208, +2.25 166
7/4: 630 PMPS ?, +3 204 (I don't know what happened to the PMPS test number for this evening)

7/3: 630 AMPS 152, +1.5 111, +2.5 119
7/3: 630 PMPS 226, +3.25 153, +4.75 82, +5.25 85, +6.5 103

7/2 and 7/1: Lost BG numbers. Last recorded numbers are 6/30/17
 
Last edited:
Most meters have a low battery indicator but since yours is doing weird things, it won't hurt to replace it. They are not expensive. I do it preventatively every couple of months or so. After changing batteries, if the weirdness continues, time for a new meter.
 
The relion meter will show an image of a battery when it starts to get low. I had my first battery last almost a year. They are very simple to replace.
 
Sandi

Chase is bouncing and I think he's possibly getting into some lower numbers after you quit testing.

At this point, with all the changes you are going through with moving and starting a new job, I think you are going to just have to leave the dose and hope he settles out a bit until you are at a point that you can try a dose increase again, if it becomes necessary.

What you can do is be sure you are feeding his curve as he's coming down. If you can flatten out the curve more by catching him before he takes a big drop, then the overall curve will come up, and you'll have room to safely increase the dose.

How do you do that? Well, it does involve a little more testing but, you might also think about possibly feeding a food that is a bit higher in % calories from carbs. Instead of a 2-3% food, he might do better with a food in the 8-10% range....you want roam tick with low carb but higher low carb than you are feeding.

I know that sounds easier said than done but that's how you start to fix it.....catching the drops and feeding the curve. We have found that some cats (and Gracie was one) just do better with a higher low carb food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top