7/29 Taz, AMPS-204, +2.5-166, +4- 122, PMPS-90 (111 @+10 minutes later), +1-142, +2-100

Yes. Stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes.
Post result please
Hi, that's what i had thought I read on here before, but I wasn't sure. We stalled ten minutes and then tested again. It rose to 111, so we went ahead and fed/gave shot. I've shot a 109 before, but never a green.

Thank you for responding back. For the future, what would I do if he doesn't climb in that 20 minutes? I thought he was nadiring around +3.5 but now I'm not sure. :( I have high carb and honey on the counter just in case.
 
Hi, that's what i had thought I read on here before, but I wasn't sure. We stalled ten minutes and then tested again. It rose to 111, so we went ahead and fed/gave shot. I've shot a 109 before, but never a green.

Thank you for responding back. For the future, what would I do if he doesn't climb in that 20 minutes? I thought he was nadiring around +3.5 but now I'm not sure. :( I have high carb and honey on the counter just in case.
Because it is a lower than normal preshot I would get a +1 and a +2 to see what Taz is doing and then test as needed after that.
You can gradually lower your preshot number as you gather more data.
If he doesn’t climb in the 20 minutes, you can stall a further 20 and then post and ask for advice if needed.
 
Because it is a lower than normal preshot I would get a +1 and a +2 to see what Taz is doing and then test as needed after that.
You can gradually lower your preshot number as you gather more data.
If he doesn’t climb in the 20 minutes, you can stall a further 20 and then post and ask for advice if needed.
Ok thank you. I will definately be getting those early readings tonight. I was going to increase his dose a couple of days ago but he hit a green, so I stalled. I'm glad I did.
 
He’s telling you he doesn’t need an increase! :D
He sure is. Lol

Did you switch back to slgs? At tr you could shoot 50 and above as long as you can monitor:)
I don't think the 50 applies to Taz because he's tested using an alpha track monitor. Taz is just (hopefully) getting over pancreatitis again, and I've been struggling quite a bit with it this last time. So I've been holding his dose because I couldn't handle the added stress. I have a lot going on right now, and I'm exhausted emotionally and physically. I've come to the realization that because of the cysts on his pancreas and the chronic pancreatitis, we will probably never reach remission, so I'm just trying to keep him in lowish numbers as much as possible but within a safe range. I'm thinking about going back to SLGS because I'm starting back to work next week and won't be home during his first 4 hours after insulin. I'm already stressing out about it.
 
He sure is. Lol


I don't think the 50 applies to Taz because he's tested using an alpha track monitor. Taz is just (hopefully) getting over pancreatitis again, and I've been struggling quite a bit with it this last time. So I've been holding his dose because I couldn't handle the added stress. I have a lot going on right now, and I'm exhausted emotionally and physically. I've come to the realization that because of the cysts on his pancreas and the chronic pancreatitis, we will probably never reach remission, so I'm just trying to keep him in lowish numbers as much as possible but within a safe range. I'm thinking about going back to SLGS because I'm starting back to work next week and won't be home during his first 4 hours after insulin. I'm already stressing out about it.
That's right I did forget about the AT. But even at that it would've been 68. Having said that I will say I understand the stress. It has to work for you and if it is too much then you need to ease the load. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Dont count him out he may surprise you! Kitties are amazing creatures with so many unknowns:)
 
Back
Top