7/29 Shasta AMBG=258 +18.5=364 PMPS=271 +2=214 +4=234 vet report

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deborah & Shasta

Member Since 2012
7/28 Shasta

WCR: 2 Ps in place. She pees and sometimes she purrs. That's it for the moment. Ok, here's the gist of the day...

Last night's dose of Bupe was very psychedelic for her. She didn't want to be anywhere near me and her back legs were causing her concern which then caused me concern. All the while, I was just hoping that the pain had gone away for a while. I "slept" on the floor of the living room so that I could be closer to her. Needless to say, I got less than 2 hours of sleep. She wasn't interested in food past midnight and then I skipped her AM shot and didn't feed her because I didn't want her blood work to be food influenced. Ok, I have her a few niblets of a Chicken Pill Pocket.

We arrived at my vet's office at 7:30am, but didn't have an appointment. I felt horrible about just showing up and it turned out that they were completely booked and were short 2 techs. :oops: I explained the vet tech what was going on, but I knew I would forget to tell him something or wouldn't phrase something the right way. When the vet came in, we talked about the possibility of P'titis and he starts talking about the test they use...at which time, I said "Spec fPL?" and he said "Yes" and for some reason, I thought we were on the same page...the vet report that I got today only listed the SNAP fPL (abnormal) and he made no mention of SPEC fPL results pending. Anyways, they took Shasta to the back and told me they'd call me when she was out from sedation. You mean I have to leave her? o_O I thought I was going to have a meltdown right there. What if she didn't come out of sedation and I didn't have a chance to kiss her again? Every horrible thought hit me. So, I left their office, ran a few errands, came home and started cleaning. I've been going, going, going since 5am and couldn't stop or I'd cry and/or fall asleep. So that's why her condo is so incredibly late. I am so sorry.

Vet report: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4QkzekNQKfYUGVFcm5VZ0pvNVE/view?usp=sharing
All looks normal on blood work (except glucose) and SNAP fPL is abnormal. Her heart sounded fine (for being sedated), her teeth were fine, she's really skinny. He said that he almost did x-rays but decided she didn't need them. I told him that I wish he had. He kept trying to find a nice way of saying that she isn't right in the head (even since last time he saw her...March 25th.) He settled on the word "senile". For a while now, I've thought there were some neurological issues with her...her little leg flicks, she's got a head tick. Yeah, I know...she's just turning 17 about now.

So, he wants me to give her sub-q fluids every day (100mL), 1/4 - 1/2 tab Cerenia (as needed, every 12 hours), and Bupe. I told him that the .04mL dose was too much and he said that it was the lowest recommended dose, but if it was too much, I could lose a drop. Since I don't like wasting meds, I cleaned last nights' syringe and pushed .02mL into it, so no wasting!

Back leg wobbliness: so, she's still really wobbly, but not as bad as last night. When she goes to lie down, she starts to lower herself down and then kind of falls to the side. Last night, she'd just fall over. I can tell she's in pain back there. She's been holding her tail kind of funny and although I'm really trying not to "handle" her, I had to pick her up this morning to put her in the carrier and again, this evening to get a poke. I tried to be gentle, but she cries and hisses...pain. At first, I thought it was the P'titis, but tonight while she was lying down, I gently ran my finger down her spine and when I got to her butt area...she told me to stop. I tried one more time, same thing, more aggressive "STOP" with a hiss and she got up and left. I got it on video, but that will have to be tomorrow's condo. So, could this be a spinal cord injury? Could it be something she's lived with for a while but because of not eating, it's now taking its toll? I'm unfamiliar with spinal cord injuries in cats...can they resolve themselves? Dangit, I wish my vet would have taken x-rays.

Again, I am so sorry for the late post. I've been so nervous and worried and helicoptering over Shasta every 4 minutes. Typing this condo is the longest I've gone without checking on her. I felt all of your prayers and vines today and wish I could give you all hugs and thank you in person. Thinking of Rhiannon and DH & Debie today. :bighug: Sending healthy vines to all our sugar kitties and their hoomins! Blessings!

~Deborah & Shasta


AMBG=258 (no food - skipped shot - vet visit)
+16=427 - vet's reading
+18.5=364 (13% FF Grilled Chicken in Gravy)
1/2 tab Cerenia

.02mL Bupe
PMPS=271 (13% FF Grilled Chicken in Gravy 1oz & Zobaline)
+2=214
+3= crumb of cypro
+4=234 3% FF T&G & Miralax w/ sprinkles of Pill Pockets)
+5.5=239

Poo Pee tally
Pee piles - 4
Poo piles - 0
 
Last edited:
I was watching.....
figured you were typing.... and you were....
many prayers and vines....
I think like people, older cats can get pinched nerves, spinal issues, so yeah, that x-ray would have been nice.

the vet is wrong about the lowest dose....
Shadow got 0.1 mL daily for a very long time.
 
Thank you, Rhiannon. I asked her if she wanted to go with me to my chiropractor tomorrow and she got up and walked away. :rolleyes: Spine issues scare me; human & cat.
Lw9-y4Dr71ODPoJO5cb-JOUhDuqAZVH0FDqcy-_Yr30=w36-h18-no
She's just got me really scared right now.
 
{{{Deborah}}}

What a shame they didn't take x-rays. Sounds like it really is needed. Have you ever explored the possibility of a vet that comes to your house? I know there are some out there, but don't know about your area.

I hate to say it, but if the weakness in the back legs persists, I'd take her back and insist on x-rays. Hopefully the reduced dose of Bupe will not make her loopy, but will help with the pain. Sending mega vines. And :bighug::bighug::bighug:.
 
When I've had to give bupe, I've given lower amounts than the vet recommended. MC & Furball both ended up getting 0.1 ml after their dentals, but it was oral and I gave it every 8 hours. With Callie's cancer, I only gave 0.06 ml every 8 hours, but she got down to weighing only 4 lbs. Sending prayers and hugs. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Deborah :coffee::coffee::coffee:

Agreed on the bupe dose. I wish I could remember what Mannie's dose was, it has been too long, but I do remember that I gave the lowest recommended, ti was too much, and halved that, which worked much better for him. I've known a few folks here too that have looked at the total daily amt that worked for their kitty, and divided that by 3, and gave it three times a day rather than two. They felt it kept things on a more even keel, and had good results.. Anyways, I would not worry about giving a lower than recommended dose. Bummer too on the no x-rays, it seems that it would have been helpful to determine of it is some sport of injury, or maybe arthritis, perhaps a disc problem? I hope things improve in that area. many good healing vines fr you Shasta.

Hugs to you Deborah, it is never easy when our kitties start to age. Be well little one.
 
I am so sorry you and Shasta are going through this. Our civvie, Turnup, was diagnosed with kitty alzheimer's when she was 16. It is so hard to watch them age. I hope the bupe is helping and that you are getting some rest. ((((Deborah))))
 
Trix also has such a hard time with bupe...she was fine with it in her younger days, but now it makes her eyes huge, makes her frighteningly wobbly, and I can tell she is super uncomfortable when she has it. So I know exactly what you're talking about with Shasta. Hopefully you can find the dose that gives her relief without throwing her for a loop.

Sending tons of prayers that whatever is going on with her back heals up. I share your frustration that the vet didn't take x-rays, but unfortunately there is no turning back time on it....so more prayers and hugs for you....
 
I'm sorry to see that the vet didn't take X-rays or run the Spec fPL and chose the SNAP test instead. You get so much more info with it. I too found finding the right dose of bupe difficult but the dilated eyes should happen as that should happen at any dose. Max must hide pain really well because he always would eat with the nausea meds so I haven't used a lot of bupe for pancreatitis. Hope things improve quickly. :bighug:
 
Oh gosh, Deborah, I'm sorry this is such a tough time for you and Shasta. My Spikey had some aging kitty issues. Nasty arthritis. Some dementia. He'd get lost in the house and yowl and yowl and yowl 'til I'd come get him. Bupe helped with the discomfort, but it did make him a little "zoned out." But it gave him comfort. I think.

My dog had a neurological event back at the end of June. Possible stroke, although not a definitive diagnosis. His back legs are wonky and he can't lower himself all the way to his beds. So far down and then he plops in a thump. Could be a pinched nerve, a result of the "stroke" or some other spinal or cervical injury.

So many possibilities. Like others, I, too, wish your vet had been a little more proactive with diagnostic tools.

But I send vines to you both. This is so hard when the answers are so elusive. Vines and hugs...and light and anything else that will make this difficult time a little bit easier.

Marilyn and Polly
 
her spinal issue could even be "just" arthritis. If so, adequan can help with that - it definitely helped punkin. Bupe too - If the 0.2ml is too much, you could reduce it further. I know a number of people who have given it every 8 hours, so 3x per day. Maybe a smaller dose more often like that would help her.

Her lab work looks pretty darned good for a 17 year old kitty! The only other high number was eosinophils, which i've been told can be from allergies. We live in pollen country, so assumed that's why punkin had higher eosinophils. I don't think they're anything to worry too much about.

Hope she's doing a bit better today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top