Tina & Rocky
Member Since 2013
Good afternoon LL!
Rocky is still looking good today so far, and I reduced his insulin dose to .75u this morning. I have been feeding him about every two hours during the first part of his cycles because it typically takes about two hours for his BG to come back down after each mini-meal. The other thing is, by feeding him those mini-meals spaced about two hours apart, then testing, I'd like to think that it helps me to choose the right amount of carbs for his next mini-meal.
But, Rocky has been going lower anywhere from +4 through +6, and if I feed him a lower carb when he's showing me a lower number at +4 through +6, (like at +6 today he was 55 and I still fed him only a 2% carb), there is a chance that his BG will come down to 40 within two hours after feeding him that mini-meal. My thought process changed about the 40s though, when I got back from my retreat in late June. I feel more comfortable with Rocky's BG when he's in the 40s, and feel completely unhappy when he has a BG that's floating in the stratosphere of pink, red, and black numbers.Those colors are not healing colors in LL.. For me, what I found is that If I *guessed* and tried to feed him a higher carb food to potentially avoid a dip into the 40s, it almost always meant a trip to the moon and back for Rocky and then we'd be on a dosecrease scale. But we're not going to live like that any more.
This morning his BG went up to 82 from the 65 at AMPS, even though I fed hm the 0% carbs NVIV. I said to Rocky, "Looks like our Road to Remission ends here, my sweet boy," and then I picked him up and hugged. But to my great surprise, when I tested him at AMPS +4, his BG had come back down to 64. A part of me wonders if that 82 was his livers response to those hours he spent in the 40s yesterday morning, and then add to it the fact that I didn't give him an insulin shot last night. It would be great if that 82 is the highest his liver is going to freak out and produce more insulin for a bounce. But, that 82 still freaks me out.
Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122531
Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 63 +2 56 +4 49 +5.5 49 +6 46 +6.5 45 +7.5 62 +9 53 +10 54 +11.25 52
(no shot)PMBG 57 +14 65 +15 60 + 15.5 58 +17 77 +18 70 +19 68 +23 67
I was able to input some of Rocky's SS data into the computer last night. I was up until 2AM. It's complete up through July 14. It's takes FOREVER to fill in the information.
I really dislike not seeing Mariko's condo for Lucy, even though she told us yesterday that she was no longer going to post her numbers. I totally, completely understand that any amount of time spent in LL is time spent away from Lucy. However, it just makes everything seems so final, and I hate goodbyes.. :cry:
Rocky is still looking good today so far, and I reduced his insulin dose to .75u this morning. I have been feeding him about every two hours during the first part of his cycles because it typically takes about two hours for his BG to come back down after each mini-meal. The other thing is, by feeding him those mini-meals spaced about two hours apart, then testing, I'd like to think that it helps me to choose the right amount of carbs for his next mini-meal.
But, Rocky has been going lower anywhere from +4 through +6, and if I feed him a lower carb when he's showing me a lower number at +4 through +6, (like at +6 today he was 55 and I still fed him only a 2% carb), there is a chance that his BG will come down to 40 within two hours after feeding him that mini-meal. My thought process changed about the 40s though, when I got back from my retreat in late June. I feel more comfortable with Rocky's BG when he's in the 40s, and feel completely unhappy when he has a BG that's floating in the stratosphere of pink, red, and black numbers.Those colors are not healing colors in LL.. For me, what I found is that If I *guessed* and tried to feed him a higher carb food to potentially avoid a dip into the 40s, it almost always meant a trip to the moon and back for Rocky and then we'd be on a dosecrease scale. But we're not going to live like that any more.
This morning his BG went up to 82 from the 65 at AMPS, even though I fed hm the 0% carbs NVIV. I said to Rocky, "Looks like our Road to Remission ends here, my sweet boy," and then I picked him up and hugged. But to my great surprise, when I tested him at AMPS +4, his BG had come back down to 64. A part of me wonders if that 82 was his livers response to those hours he spent in the 40s yesterday morning, and then add to it the fact that I didn't give him an insulin shot last night. It would be great if that 82 is the highest his liver is going to freak out and produce more insulin for a bounce. But, that 82 still freaks me out.
Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122531
Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 63 +2 56 +4 49 +5.5 49 +6 46 +6.5 45 +7.5 62 +9 53 +10 54 +11.25 52
(no shot)PMBG 57 +14 65 +15 60 + 15.5 58 +17 77 +18 70 +19 68 +23 67
I was able to input some of Rocky's SS data into the computer last night. I was up until 2AM. It's complete up through July 14. It's takes FOREVER to fill in the information.
I really dislike not seeing Mariko's condo for Lucy, even though she told us yesterday that she was no longer going to post her numbers. I totally, completely understand that any amount of time spent in LL is time spent away from Lucy. However, it just makes everything seems so final, and I hate goodbyes.. :cry: