7/29 Rocky PMBG 54 +14 71 +16 64 +17.5 70 +18 70 +19 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon LL!

Rocky is still looking good today so far, and I reduced his insulin dose to .75u this morning. I have been feeding him about every two hours during the first part of his cycles because it typically takes about two hours for his BG to come back down after each mini-meal. The other thing is, by feeding him those mini-meals spaced about two hours apart, then testing, I'd like to think that it helps me to choose the right amount of carbs for his next mini-meal.

But, Rocky has been going lower anywhere from +4 through +6, and if I feed him a lower carb when he's showing me a lower number at +4 through +6, (like at +6 today he was 55 and I still fed him only a 2% carb), there is a chance that his BG will come down to 40 within two hours after feeding him that mini-meal. My thought process changed about the 40s though, when I got back from my retreat in late June. I feel more comfortable with Rocky's BG when he's in the 40s, and feel completely unhappy when he has a BG that's floating in the stratosphere of pink, red, and black numbers.Those colors are not healing colors in LL.. For me, what I found is that If I *guessed* and tried to feed him a higher carb food to potentially avoid a dip into the 40s, it almost always meant a trip to the moon and back for Rocky and then we'd be on a dosecrease scale. But we're not going to live like that any more.

This morning his BG went up to 82 from the 65 at AMPS, even though I fed hm the 0% carbs NVIV. I said to Rocky, "Looks like our Road to Remission ends here, my sweet boy," and then I picked him up and hugged. But to my great surprise, when I tested him at AMPS +4, his BG had come back down to 64. A part of me wonders if that 82 was his livers response to those hours he spent in the 40s yesterday morning, and then add to it the fact that I didn't give him an insulin shot last night. It would be great if that 82 is the highest his liver is going to freak out and produce more insulin for a bounce. But, that 82 still freaks me out.

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122531

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 63 +2 56 +4 49 +5.5 49 +6 46 +6.5 45 +7.5 62 +9 53 +10 54 +11.25 52
(no shot)PMBG 57 +14 65 +15 60 + 15.5 58 +17 77 +18 70 +19 68 +23 67

I was able to input some of Rocky's SS data into the computer last night. I was up until 2AM. It's complete up through July 14. It's takes FOREVER to fill in the information.

I really dislike not seeing Mariko's condo for Lucy, even though she told us yesterday that she was no longer going to post her numbers. I totally, completely understand that any amount of time spent in LL is time spent away from Lucy. However, it just makes everything seems so final, and I hate goodbyes.. :cry:
 
Re: 7/29(no PM shot):Rocky PMBG 54

Rocky's BG had come down from 59 at AMPS +10, to 54 at his PM shot time. I did not feel safe giving him a shot tonight. There were no 40s today, so, maybe we have found a dose that he is going to settle into for awhile. I'm just super tired tonight, and I need to sneak in a nap, if I can, and that means I wouldn't be able to monitor Rocky very well should his BG touch down in the 40s.
 
Re: 7/29(no PM shot):Rocky PMBG 54

I feel the same way about Mariko and Lucy. Rocky is on a mission this time for real I think. So you drain the depot and see what happens next. No matter what it is exciting!!
 
Re: 7/29(no PM shot):Rocky PMBG 54 +14 71

Elise, Rocky's BG went up to 71 without the insulin tonight, after eating 1/4 can of the Nature's Variety Instinct Venision w/ 0% catbs. It makes me very nervous when I see a rise in his BG after he eats that first mini-meal of each 12 hour cycle. nailbite_smile This morning, even after his shot last night, his BG went up to 82 after that AMPS meal. Yes, his BG did keep coming down after that 82, it was the highest he went today, even after feeding him 3 meals for the AM cycle. I wanted him to eat 4 meals, but he wasn't hungry again until the PMPG.

I am slowly draining his depot, and this freaks me out. My gut tells me that if he can't surf the 40s without insulin that he won't go into remission. We didn't see any 40s today on the .75u. The other thing is, I've been feeding Rocky the 0% carbs and the 2% carb food when I haven't given him a shot, and maybe that too is helping to keep his BG lower. I believe that if I fed him a 4% carb that his BG might really jump a lot higher.

It's hard for me to get excited about Rocky's BG numbers because I worry that we're going to be going right back up the dosing scale, again. I guess things could be different this time.
 
Re: 7/29(no PM shot):Rocky PMBG 54 +14 71

Hi Tina, Rocky's numbers look very good for no shot! I give you credit being so comfortable when he drops into the 40's though, that makes me nervous and I tend to go HC. Hope you get some sleep tonight, you did a lot last night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top