? 7/29 pre insulin bg 133

Shorshe’s Mum

Member Since 2024
Hello,

shorshe’s bg was steady the last few days mostly in the 100s and early 200s. From last evening her BG was steadily increasing. I have held the 1.6U dosage since 24th July. Now her BG is 133 before her evening shot. Should i skip or reduce or delay?
 
Would you please set up our spreadsheet? I can’t follow yours.

You don’t reduce the dose with a bg of 133 even if you are following SLGS. Reductions are if under 90. Since you don’t have a signature or a spreadsheet you would skip the dose if under 200. You also could stall without food and retest to see if the bg is coming up without feeding after 20-30 minutes.

Sorry nobody answered you. What did you do? Please remove the 911 and change it to a question mark. The 911 is reserved for a hypo.
 
I am not familiar with the spreadsheet format you are using. It'll really help us if you can use the same format the rest of us use. We are used to looking at data at a certain way and with certain colour coding.

In addition to a different format of spreadsheet, there is other information we like to see in the signature. Information about that is in this post, as well as how to set up our format of the spreadsheet.
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

Depending on what dosing method you are using, and the amount of data you have, the answer as to whether to shoot or not will vary.

I'm going to remove the 911.
 
Reading back on your older posts, you are feeding dry food (which should be in the signature). That means you have to follow the Start Low Go Slow dosing method. I don't know how much blood glucose data you have, so can't tell if you have enough experience yet to shoot lower numbers.
 
I am not familiar with the spreadsheet format you are using. It'll really help us if you can use the same format the rest of us use. We are used to looking at data at a certain way and with certain colour coding.

In addition to a different format of spreadsheet, there is other information we like to see in the signature. Information about that is in this post, as well as how to set up our format of the spreadsheet.
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

Depending on what dosing method you are using, and the amount of data you have, the answer as to whether to shoot or not will vary.

I'm going to remove the 911.
thanks for removing it. Have updated my signature
 
We are used to seeing the spreadsheet with the oldest data on the top and the data for today on the bottom. After looking at hundreds and possible more than that spreadsheets over my time here, my brain is wired to see data that way. Sorry, would it be possible for you to switch the order of the entries? And to use our spreadsheet format. The one you have is close, but still missing some columns.

Also, we talk in terms of + times, which relate to the number of hours after the shot. So your "7 hours" would be our +7. We are all over the world so actual local times don't mean anything to us. I see AM and PM actual times on the spreadsheet. It's OK to have a separate Time column beside the AMPS and PMPS columns if you find that helpful for you.

One last request, please take a look at our Sticky Notes, including the one on Dosing Methods. People here follow one of the two dosing methods listed there. Depending on whether you are following Tight Regulation (TR) or Start Low Go Slow (SLGS), our suggestions may differ. If you could put TR or SLGS in the signature that would help. She has to be eating all wet food or raw to follow TR.
 
Hi @Wendy&Neko I have added the remarks column. I actually haven't tested between 7th hour and before insulin shot (12th hour) so I did not include those colomns.
I have now changed the sheet to read from the oldest to the latest date.
I didn't copy the FMDB sheet in full as I already had an existing spreadsheet and I cannot change 1 hour to +1 on mine. Any spreadsheets whizz here who can help me out: how can I stop changing it to a formula when I type "+ 1"?
While I read about SLGS and TR protocols, Shorshe's current inappetence due to largely undiagnosed liver issues means that she is not eating most things (her usual dry food or wet food) by herself in enough quantity. So I am syringe feeding her low carb wet food (0 to +3) as well as allowing her to nibble on dry prescription diet (15% carb) just before giving insulin (at 0). As a result, I am playing it by ear based on her numbers and reducing increasing in 0.25 U increments. So I wrote "custom" in the spreadsheet.
 
Back
Top