7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 PMPS 76 reducie!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aleven

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122513

Shooting green again today. Went well the last couple times but she was in the 80s then - today it's 70s. Will keep an eye on her.

Edited: her AMPS was 77, not 71. This conversion really gets me sometimes.
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77

do you know the spreadsheet automatically converts it for you? although i suppose it's a little inconvenient to have to go to the other tab and look to see what it was.

her spreadsheet looks fantastic! is this day 2 of your 4 consecutive days at home? so you've got 2 more days to monitor. i'm thrilled to see her nice flat cycles. you're doing great - keep it up!

This is the part of the protocol (from the TR yellow starred sticky) that applies to Mottyl right now:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Since 2006 we've encouraged those practicing Tight Regulation to attempt reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission.
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77

Eep! She's 43.2 at +3! I'm feeding her some HC, will test again in 20 mins. If nothing else I'm grateful this is happening now and not at midnight. Gonna be a long day.

Well I guess this means I'm reducing to 0.1 U...

I added the 911 icon because I'm a bit nervous and hoping anyone who's around can kind of check in on us from time to time.

Everyone please send good vibes today for getting her out of the danger zone!
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43! ACK!

The HC pushed her up to 59 but she's still a couple hours from nadir. What should I do between now and then?
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43! ACK!

I am sure someone will jump in here quickly,


Just keep an eye on her and probably try and test every 30-60 minutes to see where she is at....

You are doing great! I see an OTJ party in your future!!!
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43! ACK!

I can't stay on as I am at work, and my hour of internet use is up.

The high carb food can wear off fast, so keep testing every 30 minutes for a while. Once Mottyl seems to be stabilizing in numbers above 60, then I would switch to low carb food.

Safe surfing vines are heading your way.
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43! ACK!

Hi. When this happens to Max, I test every 30 minutes. I feed him a little lc if he is still in the 40"s I give some gravy or karo and a little food. Did you feed him and if so what?
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43! ACK!

I fed her some HC (friskies chicken and gravy) about an hour ago and it pushed her up to 59, as I posted above... haven't fed or tested again yet.
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43! ACK!

Please test again and post the results. I will be waiting. You are doing great.
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43! ACK!

She's now at 84 - I guess I'm seeing the influence of the HC I fed an hour ago.
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43 dealing with lo numbers

Well, now she's at 95 at +5.5. Still no food since the HC at +3. This seems like quite the food spike. Any thoughts?
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43 dealing with lo numbers

I think you don't need to worry any more about going too low any more. Mottyl is surfing nicely.
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43 should I reduce to 0.1?

So I assume the drop into the low 40s means I should reduce her to 0.1 for her night shot - do people agree? I just don't have the data or the experience to know what's called for here.
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43 should I reduce to 0.1?

Neither do I. Someone will get back to you before tonight's shot time. Good job today.
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43 should I reduce to 0.1?

Yup, I've been following the guidelines more or less - I just appreciate the feedback of the community, since I've been at this for less than a week and don't have enough data to support my decisions. The guidelines are somewhat dependent on knowing how your cat is going to respond to different numbers, and I have less than a week's worth of data. Her response to the lantus has been so extreme I feel like I'm jumping off a cliff every time I shoot. So I appreciate knowing people are around to check in with.
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43 should I reduce to 0.1?

ya did just great!

yes, reduce her dose tonight to 0.1u.

she's not going to be interested in getting insulin for very long. :mrgreen: you're super lucky - and wahoo that you had these 4 days off to be able to shoot her consistently and get to this point!
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43 should I reduce to 0.1?

I was more concerned that you had a written set of instructions in case no one was around. You're doing great!! (And so is Mottyl!)
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43 should I reduce to 0.1?

Fantastic, Anna!!!! Look at Mottyl go. Congrats on the reduction. Nice job getting her up to surf.
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 +3 43 should I reduce to 0.1?

Hi there :cool:
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
wowza!

Aleven said:
Yup, I've been following the guidelines more or less - I just appreciate the feedback of the community, since I've been at this for less than a week and don't have enough data to support my decisions. The guidelines are somewhat dependent on knowing how your cat is going to respond to different numbers, and I have less than a week's worth of data. Her response to the lantus has been so extreme I feel like I'm jumping off a cliff every time I shoot. So I appreciate knowing people are around to check in with.
You are correct -When it comes to FD, 'Knowing thy Cat' is key and you have not had the luxury of time to gain that knowledge.
It makes perfect sense you feel like you are jumping off a cliff with each shot - the whole thing requires a huge leap of faith -
But you jumped in with both feet - landing in the fast lane and rolling with it.
Looks like it is paying off. :mrgreen:

Well Done !
 
Re: 7/29 Mottyl AMPS 77 PMPS 76

Well, we went down to 43, up to 95, and ended up back where we started, roughly. Tonight I'll attempt to dose 0.1. Will need to find my glasses.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top