7/29 Johnny AMPS 269 PMBG 117

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
Well, he definitely did need a little more juice. So, this morning at an impressive +192, we gave him a shot. I'm glad we waited one more night to let him clear the bounce if he could or to be sure that he definitely needed some insulin support. I think it was clear. We gave him the smallest amount we could measure. I'm calling it a drop.

At +2, he was 233, so he's starting to drop.

Johnny was really active and racing around and playing when I left this a.m., so I think he sees a nice day ahead.

My chart is being tempermental, so I haven't updated with today's number and shot, but I will as soon as I can. OTJ Trial will be rescheduled shortly, I hope.

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20912
 
Re: 7/29 Johnny AMPS 269 +2(233)

I am sure you will get back on track. My SS has been acting up too...maybe an issue with google? Glad to hear Johnny is racing around and feeling good.
 
Re: 7/29 Johnny AMPS 269 +2(233) +3.5(167)

Now that's the drop I was looking for! It's amazing to me how much "good" is packed into one tiny drop of insulin.
 
Re: 7/29 Johnny AMPS 269 +2(233) +3.5(167)

nice!
glad you intervened. johnny needs just the tiniest bit of help right now. we'll be resuming that OTJ trial before too long. :-D
 
Re: 7/29 Johnny AMPS 269 +2(233) +3.5(167)

Okay, so he had a nice green surf today and is at an even 100 at +11.5. I'm sorry to be so needy, but would you shoot? We'll be around, but since he's a later shoot (8CT), tests past +4 or +5 really take a lot out of us. I just have no idea what to expect after him being off insulin for 7 days and dropping so well today. We'll do what Johnny needs us to do. My gut is saying shoot, but my brain is saying sleep. (kidding! kinda)

The chart is updated and has lots of fresh numbers from today.
 
Re: 7/29 Johnny AMPS 269 PMPS 100 - SHOOT drop?

what time do you need to shoot? I'm trying to round up some other eyes to look at your spreadsheet. I'm thinking Johnny needs a shot, but I'm not sure when.
 
Re: 7/29 Johnny AMPS 269 PMPS 100 - SHOOT drop?

He got this morning's shot at 8 (central), but we could wait until 8:15 or 8:30. I don't think that should matter.
 
Re: 7/29 Johnny AMPS 269 PMPS 100 - SHOOT drop?

it has been about 1/2 hour since the last test, can you test again to see which way he's going? Talking to Jill, be back...
 
Re: 7/29 Johnny AMPS 269 PMPS 100 - SHOOT drop?

He's 117 at +12.25. I'll change that to the PM number on the spreadsheet and move the +11.5 over into the 11 column.
 
Re: 7/29 Johnny AMPS 269 PMPS 100 - SHOOT drop?

I talked to Jill. What do you think about trying a SID (once a day dosing) experiment with Johnny? It's rare for cats to need once daily dosing, but it can happen sometimes with kitties who are trying to go OTJ.

What we're suggesting would be to skip tonight's shot, feed now, test in about 4 hours to see if he comes down, and plan to shoot a drop in the morning. Of course if his morning number is low, we'll have to move on to Plan C or D or whatever plan we're on now. :lol: Then we'll plan to continue shooting once a day until Johnny makes us try something else.
 
Re: 7/29 Johnny AMPS 269 PMPS 100 - SHOOT drop?

That plan sounds great to us. Might be just enough to get him over this last hump. Fingers and paws crossed! We'll post his number tomorrow around 7:45 a.m. Does that sound good? Or do you have specific numbers in mind that we would shoot if above?

Thanks for your efforts tonight! And Jill's. I hope it wasn't because I was being semi-whiny about sleep. I would do whatever we need to do in a heartbeat, but it just felt like, at this point and with Johnny being so sensitive to a drop, we might be creating an unnecessary fire drill only to be there again at the next shot time. You guys are the best!! Thanks for all the plans you've created! Johnny is impressed. :smile:

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you. A friend called with some questions she needed answered quickly.
 
Thanks, Sienne!

Was thinking more about the morning...maybe it would be better to just establish a "don't shoot" range. Brian was thinking 150 and up. I was thinking 120 and up. Thoughts? Or, if you'd rather we post in the a.m. and give time for a decision, that's fine too.
 
Hi Janice,

I'll leave the brainstorming to the other gals,
but just wanted to wish tons of good luck with SID!
:razz:
 
lol! cheryl emailed us about a low shoot number. i was debating between 130 and 140. :mrgreen:
i'd probably go with 130 for now... maybe lower it in a day or two after we see how johnny responds.
i do think we're all pretty much of the same mindset. we know what a tiny drop of insulin can do. whoever will be home with johnny tomorrow has to feel comfortable shooting, be around to monitor, and feel comfortable pulling up low numbers if necessary. ultimately, it's going to be a personal decision and i respect whatever decision is made.
 
I agree with everything Jill said. 130-140 was what I was thinking too, but when shot time comes you'll make the decision that feels right to you. Gut instinct is really important around here.
 
Thanks for the support, Ronnie! Jill and Libby...your thoughts about dosage are golden to me. Funny how we were all overlapping in thoughts. I think wer're confident (are you confident if you say "I think" lol) for tomorrow and go for our gut and hope for the best!

He's 169 at +3. We'll get a +4 and head to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top