7/29 Harley PMPS 322, +3/296

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Am making this short for now. VERY high this AM. All the karo caught up with him. I am doing a touch of R to get him down.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/29 Harley 548

Ouch!

Morning Pattie,

When you get a chance, I am interested in how the rest of t he PM cycle went; when you went to bed I believe he was at a karo induced +5.5/98.

How much Lantus are you planning to shoot? How much R ?
 
Re: 7/29 Harley 548

Long, long night with Harley. Today I gave the earned 3.5u Lantus and 0.1 R to get him down. I am home all day so I can test. Have no idea why he fell so fast last night but it was hard to get him to surf or even go up.
This has got to be a good thing - he is down to only 3.5u. I am trying to look at this as a good thing but with a 548 this AM, it is hard. He is not himself this AM, tired, and not eating all his breakfast.

Will update ss at about 6:30

Pattie
 
Re: 7/29 Harley 548

Sorry Dyana, I forgot to link yesterdays condo. I must be tired also. Both Harley and I could use a nap today.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/29 Harley 548

Good choice on the dose. He will come back down.
Harley and Pattie said:
Have no idea why he fell so fast last night but it was hard to get him to surf or even go up.
IAA is strange. When it breaks the insulin that was bound to the antibodies is released. No way to predict or know when/how much/how long.
Harley and Pattie said:
This has got to be a good thing - he is down to only 3.5u.
It is a good thing. It was a long night for Harley - I'm sure he has karo hangover.
glad you are working from home today -

I'm off for a bike ride. I'll check back with you guys afterwards.
~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O)
 
Re: 7/29 Harley 548

Pattie, what a long night for you and Harley! Good luck with this dose. Glad you'll be home today and hope you can get a nap and some rest in there, too. Sounds like a busy day.
 
Re: 7/29 Harley 548, +.75/584

584/+.75. If Harley has not come down in 1.5 hours, I am going to give another .1u R. This is way too hard on his kidneys

Pattie
 
Re: 7/29 Harley 548, +.75/584

What a day yesterday! ohmygod_smile Hope Harley slides down and you both get some rest :smile:
 
Re: 7/29 Harley 548, +.75/584

Hello again!

Couple questions -

Was the last HC w/Karo at PM+5.5?
If yes, did he eat at all after that?

I'm off to get ready and go to tnsbp (the not-so-bad place). I'll check in with you two from there but I will be blind to his ss since my work computer blocks access to google docs (thank goodness that was not the case when BK was going through episodes like this)

I'm still digesting the recent rapid changes. Hard to form an opinion when dealing with some big unknowns. One thing is for sure, Harley is an IAA kitty that underneath it all is way more sensitive to insulin than BK was.
 
Re: 7/29 Harley 548, +.75/584

Hi guys .. ouch this morning! I know this is all from yesterday so remember today is a new day and harley can come down a good bit .. have a great day!
 
Re: 7/29 Harley 548, +.75/584

Yes, 5.5PM was the last karo and last meal until this AM. I do think he snacked on his brother's breakfast but it would not have been more than a couple tsp (not even a tbsp).

testing in 15 to decide if more R is needed. It would then be +2 for the R.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/29 Harley 548, +.75/584, 1.75/464

Harley is coming down nicely. No additional R given. He is crying like crazy and I don't know if it is because he is hungry or wants to go outside.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/29 Harley 548, +.75/584, 1.75/464

I'm glad to see he's turning around. Give him a snack and if he's still yelling, he wants to go outside. (Aren't we all well trained?)
 
Re: 7/29 Harley +3/336

Harley has come down into the pinks. I have given some FF to slow the decent. He does seem happier now that he is out of the 500's.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/29 Harley +3/336

Hi Pattie!
Below is what I have as a recap starting wih Hahrleys PM shot on 07/28:

07/28/pm
+24.5 - 273/PMPS - shot 3.75u Lantus (skinny)
+ 1.5 - 265
+ 2.5 - 205
+ 3.5 - 109 - fed HC/LC combo
+ 4 - 60
+ 5 - 52
+ 5 - 43 - fed HC w/karo
+ 5.5 - 98 - fed HC w/karo
+ 6.5 - 197
+ 9 - 430
07/29/am
+12? - 548 AMPS - 3.5u Lantus / 0.1u R
+ .75 - 584
+ 3 - 336

Did I get it right?
couple questions -
In general, how much do you feed Harley and and what times?
During last nights wild ride, how much HC did you feed each time? karo?
Did you shoot this morning at +12, or +11.5 (since you shot a half hour past your usual time last night)?
 
Re: 7/29 Harley PMPS 322

Looks like once he returned from Outer Mongolia, he has been flat pink. For Harley, that 322 is very close to yellow .
What are you going to shoot tonight?
 
Re: 7/29 Harley PMPS 322

Sandy, I have printed out your post and will try and answer your questions.

"In general, how much do you feed Harley and and what times?"
I have been trying to stick with 2-3 cans of LC FF a day. Generally it is 1/2 for breakfast (5:30-6am), 1/4 can at 11:00-noon, 1/4 can at 3:00-4, 1/2 can for dinner. Then only 1/4 can before I go to bed (9-10pm) and then 1/4 can at 1-3am (depending on when he wakes me up). If I go to the 3 cans, then I just add a bit more at the snack times, not the meal times.
Then, depending if he gets upset with tests, I will give a small nuggets of freeze dried salmon. This is not everyday.

"During last nights wild ride, how much HC did you feed each time? karo?"
That is a difficult question since I don’t measure it. The HC is about 2 Tb. Lately I have drained off the gravy and mixed that (about 2 tb) with ¼ can FF, thinking that the gravy will get him higher and LC will keep him there for a bit.
The karo – was about 1-1.5 tsp each time (twice)

“Did you shoot this morning at +12, or +11.5 (since you shot a half hour past your usual time last night)?”
I shot at +12. Since work is not very understanding about me being late, I try to back the time to the original 5:30-600am. My guess is that 99% of the time I shoot at 5:45-5:50am

Let me know if that helps.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/29 Harley PMPS 322

Pardon my curious nature; thanks for indulging it. . . :smile:
Harley and Pattie said:
“Did you shoot this morning at +12, or +11.5 (since you shot a half hour past your usual time last night)?”
I shot at +12. Since work is not very understanding about me being late, I try to back the time to the original 5:30-600am. My guess is that 99% of the time I shoot at 5:45-5:50am
I'm confused - are you saying you took back your half hour this morning, to get back to schedule? (just trying to figure out if you shot 1/2 hour early, 11.5 hours following last nights shot)

When's the next test? ? ?
 
Re: 7/29 Harley PMPS 322

Ah, OK I thought so. So, you actually gave him his AM shot today at +11.5. I strongly recommend that you note that somewhere on his ss; I would place it in your preshot number cell, so you see you shot that number at something other than a +12. It would be a good habit to get into. Timings are important.

Harley may have more wild rides like yesterday coming up. When you get a chance, take a look at BKs ss, starting at 6/17/2009/pm through 6/19/2009. Total craziness. Skipped 2 shots in a row, then trying to recover and get back on track somehow. Cats not eating, rushing to the vet, testing for ketones, doses all out of place, inconsistent dose amounts, both Lantus and R. Trying to figure out what's the best action to take to get back on schedule due to work schedule...
When you are in the heat of a crazy low/dropping , what/when do I shoot streak you don't want to accidentally shoot early twice in a row. Things can change so fast with an IAA kitty it can make your head spin. There may be a time when you can't get another set of eyes - an accurate ss will be important then.

I know this can be exhausting at times...
You are doing great. When the dust settles I'd like to hear your thoughts on yesterdays action packed cycles.
 
Harley is finally back in the yellows.

One thing from last night Sandy is that I would not do the second shot of karo. I think that drove him too high, too fast. Other than that, I will need to study it all tomorrow.

Have a good evening and thank you.

Pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top