Re: 7/29 Hardey AMBG +48 122 +51 76 vet wants me to come i
The PDF Sienne cited.
Also, pulled from our various resources, here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making
using a human glucometer:
< 40 mg/dL
- Treat as if
HYPO
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.
< 50 mg/dL
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50.
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.
50 - 130 mg/dL
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers. (May even go as low as the upper 30s; if
not on insulin, this can be safe.
> 150 mg/dL
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.
180 - 280 mg/dL
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is high.
>= 280 mg/dL,
if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones;
if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.