7/29 Georgia's Simon PMPS 124 +3.5 83 back from vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Simon's AMPS is much better today so I am feeling a little better about things. I am still taking him to see the vet today so he can look at Simon's ears and possibly test for a UTI. He is doing great this morning except he woke me up at 3:30 this morning with his meowing. Not sure what is going on with that. My DH is out of town and when he is not at home, I always close the bedroom door and lock it so a burgler can't get in (I know, I am a little scared to be by myself!). Usually the door is open so maybe Simon wanted to go explore the house at 3:30 but couldn't. So I ended up opening the door and tried to go back to sleep, but really couldn't. At least I have the day off from work except I have to go see my doctor today for an ultrasound of my thyroid. Hopefully, everything will check out ok. I'll take Simon after my appointment. Have a great day, everyone. It is Friday -- Yay!!!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=48622
 
Re: 7/29 Georgia's Simon AMPS 158

Hi guys .. I'm glad to see simon's numbers coming back down .. but a vet visit will put your mind at ease too .. aren't cat's funny? If the door is open, they want it shut, if it's shut, they want it open! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/29 Georgia's Simon AMPS 158

Hope your ultrasound goes well and shows all is normal and hope Simon's vet visit goes easy and no UTI.

Enjoy your Friday
 
Re: 7/29 Georgia's Simon AMPS 158

Morning Georgia. That's a nice AMPS for Simon today. Good luck with Vetty, and I hope no UTI and a good report on his ears. Good luck with the ultrasound on your thyroid, and I hope it will help with a diagnosis. Keep us posted on both you and Simon. Take care.
 
Re: 7/29 Georgia's Simon AMPS 158 +6 86

Yay for green!! I think Simon is trying to get out of the vet visit today by giving me his first green number in a few days. I am still going to take him in for just a quick check-up, especially for the vet to look at his ears.

I ended up having to have a biopsy done on my thyroid. Not a pleasant experience since they don't even numb the area before they stick the needle in! The MD doesn't think there is too much to worry about.
 
Re: 7/29 Georgia's Simon AMPS 158 +6 86

UGHH on your thyroid experience that sounds painful ((((HUGS)))) to the Bean and good luck at the vet today
 
Re: 7/29 Georgia's Simon AMPS 158 +6 86 back from vet

Please pray for Claudia and Rocket. They need all our support and prayers right now.

Just got back from the vet with Simon. Vet thinks Simon's ear allergies look a little better but feels like his chronic issue looks like it could be a staph issue. He is recommending Convenia because it works really well on skin problems. Of course, I questioned it because of the whole "what if he has a bad reaction" thing. He said there is not a rush to do it if I feel uncomfortable, but he wants me to think about it. I asked him about cyclosporine, and he says I can try it, but that Convenia should work better. What do y'all think about this? He does not believe in using Convenia in any other instances except for skin problems. He also suggested that I can always drop Simon off first thing in the morning during the week and they will monitor him all day after he gets the injection. I just don't know what to do. He is still scratching but not as bad, but he does have a little irritation on his head from where he has been scratching.

Vet also suggested putting Simon on something for some suspected arthritis in his legs. Does any one have experience with Adequan, cosequin, or dasuquin? Is one better than the other? Vet says adequan is used more often just because it is an injection and some cats won't eat their food with the cosequin or dasuquin.

I did buy some Omega 3 supplement to put in Simon (and Cleo's) food.

Also got the test result back on Cleo for the Protein/Creatinine test. Cleo was .1 and the range is normal if it is under .5. So Cleo is good, right?

Sorry this is so long. Simon was a trooper and didn't even meow when they took a urine sample. They should get the results back on that in 3 days.
 
Re: 7/29 Georgia's Simon AMPS 158 +6 86 back from vet

Sorry for the lack of clear answers from the vet!!

I'd be hesitant with the Covenia as well. Even with the vet monitoring Simon, if he has an adverse reaction, there is no getting it out of his system, only dealing with whatever reactions he has, which could end up being a very expensive vet visit. Is he suggesting that there are no other antibiotic options for skin conditions? We used both Clavamox and Baytril when Willie was in full-on pemphigus mode, and both did a good job of keeping any infection at bay. The dermatologist switched him from the Clav to the Baytril. You do have to ensure that the dosing protocol is being properly followed for Baytril as it can cause blindness at higher doses.

Cyclosporine works by suppressing the immune system so it doesn't attack the skin cells. From what I've read online, folks have had good success with it for feline skin allergies. I have had tremendous results with it in treating Willie's pemphigus.

One thing with the Omega 3 supplements... I would ask the vet how much EPA/DHA the kitties need and then make sure you are using supplements that will provide that dose in a cost effective way. Fish oil/Omega 3 is one of the most poorly regulated products on the market, and many products available contain little active ingredient and a whole lot of filler, so that you may need 8+ pills per day to get the amount of EPA/DHA (the omega 3 fatty acids clinically shown to have an effect on various conditions) needed for the benefit you need.

No input on the arthritis supplements... will be interested to see what others offer!

Fingers and paws crossed that Simon is feeling better soon!
 
Re: 7/29 Georgia's Simon AMPS 158 +6 86 back from vet

Moonie & Copper were both on Cosequin & more recently Dasuquin and they always ate it in their food! It is made with Glucosamine, and Avocado/Soybean unsaponifiables powder, and Sodium Chondroitin--and is supposed to help the feline urinary system...I have found it great for Moonie.
Then I also give her Drs.Foster & Smiths Vita Coat or now called Vita caps that have Lots of Omega 3 oils in it but just a few drops in her food--Neither cat ever noticed anything or any taste, but I do mix it in real well..And they hardly ever got hairballs!
Hope Simon feels better soon--I have held off the Adequan, as I would use only for extreme arthritis problems, so she's not ready for that yet..Thanks for your always kind wishes for us & we wish you & your babies good health too! Hugs from us!
 
Re: 7/29 Georgia's Simon PMPS 124 back from vet

Simon has been on both baytril and clavamox so neither one of those has helped him too much. I think I might go with the cyclosporin even though I have heard it is very expensive. Of course, it would be more expensive if Simon had a reaction to the covenia. The Omega 3 product I got from the vet is called Actis Omega, made by sogeval. It is a spray that I am supposed to do one spray 1x/day in the food. Has anyone heard of this product and used it?
 
Hi guys... sorry for the late visit...

I am glad Simon is doing better - great numbers too.

I can't help much with the questions... though I know I would try and stay clear of convenia. It does work well on skin conditions, one of my cats who has a sensitivity issue was given that and it did clear up the problem. i am also very leery of using the drug - once given you cannot undo it - it stays in their system for at least 14 days, and if there is any problem, you will be fighting the reaction for days on end. Good luck with your decision.

I am glad all kitties are doing well. YAY!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top