7/29 Checkers.. PMPS/271

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20930

Good Morning All,
Started new cartridge, and also new strips today. He hasn't moved from preshot, to +2. I see a lots of pokes in my boy's day, today.
Because it was new and I thought the old one may have petered out, I reduced from 1.25, to 1unit. I can always increase, but didn't want to risk hypo, if new insulin packs a punch.
He's had his 2 breffis', and is more active this morning; he's usually napping by now.

Hope to see some good greens and blues from everyone today. :smile:
 
Re: 7/29 Checkers.. AMPS /316..+2/316..huh??

According to the sample "curve" in the stickies, +2 should be about the same number as AMPS. So Checkers is right on target. I don't think you need to skinny the dose just because it's a new cartridge. That would just add confusion. If I were you I would just give your normal dose tonight and see what happens. Lantus likes consistency and it is best not to tinker too much!
Have a good day, Barb

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 7/29 Checkers.. AMPS /316..+2/316..huh??

I agree with Ella. Frankly, you wouldn't see too much of an effect this cycle from dropping the dose. There's still overlap from the shed that will influence this dose.
 
Re: 7/29 Checkers.. AMPS /316..+3/380

Okay, I'm in panic mode now! 380 on Presto...417 on Relion, (which is always higher).
Plus 3, is always the start of action for him. Yikes! This climbing, is scaring me.

The reason I reduced from 1.25 to 1u, is because I though it was bad insulin that made me increase in the first place.
 
Re: 7/29 Checkers.. AMPS /316..+2/316..+3/380

We all give a BCS or even a fur shot now and then, Checkers is fine and will get back on track soon. If the new Lantus is stronger it could even be a little NDW reaction.
 
Re: 7/29 Checkers.. AMPS /316..+2/316..+3/380

Hope he comes down....should be just fine any minute now....Come on Checkers....bring those numbers down now. Hope you guys have a good day...it's Friday Eve you know!
 
Re: 7/29 Checkers.. AMPS /316..+2/316..+3/380

Hi Barb - agree on all that was said above. He will get back on track - I would continue with the normal dose. We all do the BCS dose - been there. :-D It sure does seem to be a pink morning out there.

Come on down checkers!! You can do it.
 
Re: 7/29 Checkers.. AMPS /316..+3/380 +4/307..+5/316

Thank you for uplifting thoughts. :smile: This day is starting out very stressful, 'cause it's unusual.
316/ amps
316/+2
380/+3
307/+4
316/5
317/+6
260/+8
Somewhere around +4 is probably a food spike. I forgot to write in my journal, when he was eating. Kept getting interrupted by phone.
I have been keeping a log, for over a year, before I found FDMB. Now I have so much trouble with Google docs, that I rarely bother to post feedings etc.
Patience...patience. *sigh*

Too too weird, for Checkers to surf the same numbers all day. I'm starting to wonder if it was a fur shot, and I just didn't realize it. Thing is, I always slide my hand down over the injection site, to look for wet fur.
 
Re: 7/29 Checkers.. AMPS /316..+3/380 +4/307..+5/316

316/ amps
316/+2
380/+3
307/+4
316/5
317/+6
260/+8
284/+11.5

I know I should not have reduced this morning dose, from 1.25 to 1 unit, because I was nervous about fresh insulin.

Should I now go back to 1.25 for PM dose? I have until 7:30 DST to make a decision......Please advise!
 
Re: 7/29 Checkers.. PM dosing advice, please!

Thanks Libby. I had gave the 1.25 for pm. This was a strange day for us. Guess I'll be making a late nite check.
 
Hi Barb! There - better pmps! Glad to see you went back to the dose. I hope that will get things back on track. For me - I will keep the dose when I bring in new insulin. Should there be an issue you'll now - I don't think you'd run the risk of hypo. :-D on the patience comment - I'm still trying to learn how to do that...

Come on checkers! Down for your mom - she's stressed out and would love to see lower numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top