7/29 Charms AMPS 270,+2 291,+4 211,+6 214,+8 181

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and Charms

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Awesome Condo!

Hi - Well these numbers are not as awesome as yesterday but they are more like I would have expected. Yesterday was crazy, but these are great numbers too. I did NOT increase the dose today. Kept it at 8.5 as advised. Charms did get into some butter this morning ( I know you warned me Deb) ! Not sure if that would affect his BG a lot. Look at his SS and let me know what you think and what I should do next with his dose.

Also - Now that I know Charms is capable of getting lower numbers, and because he is taking such a high dose of insulin , could you just give me some directions for what I should do if he gets a low AMPS or low PMPS, what numbers would make me not give him a shot. If it happens during a cycle I know I can ask for help, but at shot time I want to make sure I know what to do right then. - Sam
 
There is a Sticky Lantus and Levimir - Shooting and Handling Low Numbers at the top of the Lantus TR forum, under the announcements. It's a good idea to print out a copy and keep with your diabetic testing supplies.

Some good general guidelines but ECID so post here for help if you need it.

It's also recommended that you post here if you get a AMPS or PMPS number that is <150. We'll ask if you have plenty of test strips, HC (high carb) MC (medium carb) and LC (low carb) food, karo syrup or another simple sugar, can stay home to test and are well rested. You can be up for a while if Charms drops low. Someone will stay with you to advise you along the way for your first few times shooting low.

p.s.
Charms did get into some butter this morning ( I know you warned me Deb) !
Yes butter is still one of my civie Monet's favorite foods!
 
Not bad at all. It looks like Charms is only doing a yellow bounce in reaction to yesterday's beautiful numbers! :-D In addition to posting for help as Deb suggested, we always suggest when you shoot your lowest PS, or close to the lowest, that you get a +1 and a +2 to get an idea where the cycle is going. It'll be interesting to see the +10 or +11 from Charms today, to see if he is still coming down into PMPS. Once he's done with the bounce, we'll have a better idea of what this dose can do for him. I'd keep holding the dose for a couple of cycles yet. We hold doses a little longer once they get into green.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top