7/29 callie feeling like crap after shot ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

calliecat an marty

Member Since 2011
good morning everyone ! Happy Friday

I was wondering if anyone had had the same experence as callie ?? callie is on pro zinc she has been for little over a month
she started at .05 units bid and then went to .75 and then to 1 unit , her numbers really have been that great and kind of all over or flat .

my question is when she gets a higher dose she gets real tired and sleeps all the time and it puts her ps numbers higher than smaller dose , on higher doses it almost seems like she is high on drugs ?? has this happened to anyone else??

please look at callies ss and let me know what ya think ! thanks so much from callie and marty :YMHUG: :?
 
Just checking details first, because those may alter the advice you get:

what, specifically are you feeding? How much and when?
Are you picking up the food 2 hours before testing and shot time?

Were some of those doses 0.05 or 0.5 ? What syringes are you using - U40 or U100 (using the correct dose adjustment for the change in scale)?

Are you following and have you reviewed recently, the instructions on the PZI sticky?
 
Hi Marty,

I replied to your post yesterday because I was concerned that Callie's dose was too low. Again, I only have experience with Lantus so I'm just going to speak in general and leave the specific dose advice to experienced Prozinc people.

Insulin is a hormone, not a drug. Normally it's produced naturally by the body, but in diabetics it's not so that's why they need insulin shots. Insulin does nothing except lower blood sugar levels. There are no side effects to insulin, because that is all it does. So your cat won't feel bad or act weird because of insulin--she would only feel bad or act weird because her blood sugar levels are too high or dropping too low. In both instances, it would mean she's not on the right dose of insulin.

So then we can use your data from your tests to see which one it is. Callie has never had a number in the normal range, and has had some very flat cycles. There are no numbers below the normal range, which is what would indicate that the dose is too high. So that means Callie's dose is too low right now. I hope someone experienced with Prozinc can come along and help you with the specifics of adjusting it up. Back when she was at 1u, it looks like it should have been raised more instead of dropped.

I think that it's a coincidence that Callie seemed to be more sleepy on the higher dose. It could have been because she just happened to feel more poopy those days from her extended high blood sugar, or maybe it was the summer heat, or whatever reason. But I think Callie will start to feel a whole lot better once her blood sugar gets down into a normal range, which can only be done with a proper dose of insulin.

Have you been posting in the PZI forum? They can give you advice on how to get your dose up to what it should be.
 
I know that you felt that the .5u was too much insulin so you tried the .25u, I'm sorry that it didn't work for Callie.

Now you can raise her dose with confidence instead of fear knowing that less insulin wasn't the way to go.

You are doing a great job Marty. Hang in there. :YMHUG:
 
hello everyone ! sorry it took so long to post back but I had relay for life today and tonight and I came home to take care of callie and then back to relay, DH watched callie when I was gone and would call me if callie was doing anything strange, all she did was sleep :(

I upped her dose to .5 and her numbers are back in pink, and she is not active at all .

Julia I am diabetic myself so I know how I feel when mine is low or high , when I am low I sweat my heart pounds my legs get shakey my eye sight gets blurry ( which my eyes have really been affected by the diabetes) when I am high I'm get mad mood swings If i'm crabby my DH always says check you stuff lol! well he does'nt say stuff he says sh*t :lol:

I have been posting on pzi , my worries on callie are when she gets a higher dose and her numbers go up she does get this weird look my dh notices to. Yesterday callie was running up and down the steps and playing ,purring wrestling with her sister , giving me kisses cat_pet_icon and that was with the .25u .

last night I increased her dose and she has been off by herself again and sleeping all the time except when I check her ,feed her and shoot her, I gave her 1/2 unit last night and all today, I am at a total loss here I will call the vet on Monday and see if I can get callies insulin changed.

BJM I feed callie ff classic , I check her bg at 7:30 am 7:45 feed her and 8:30 give shot , then at 1:00 pm I give her 1/4 can if she gets hungry at around 4:30 or 5 pm I will give her a teaspoon of food to tide her over, then 7:30 pm I check bg and 7:45 pm feed 1/2 can of ff then I check her at night but I always check her first and if she begs for food I will give her 1/4 can of ff. I also give her pure bites chicken snack when I check her just a couple small little pieces.

I use u-40 syringes , the vet told me I could use no other ! I'm planning on doing a curve on sunday when dh can help me with callie she is so much calmer with her daddy helping :-D better for me to!

I did read the link for pro zinc which calmed me down some , thank you for the link ;-) like I said before I don't dance unless I have a couple of drinks and I haven't drank for a long time so I want to thank you all for helping me with this sugar dance ! :YMHUG: to all from callie and marty !
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top