7/29 Alex AMPS 495

Status
Not open for further replies.
Alex is all bouncy again and his numbers aren't as good as they were a week ago. I'm not sure what the reason for this is but I hope he's not getting sick again *sigh*.

Sometime early this morning (like 6:00AMish) one of my boys threw up, and I'm not sure which one it was because I just couldn't get out of bed. But when I did I saw that whoever it was really threw up A LOT. So someone is a little bit under the weather or at least was this morning. I fed a smaller amount of food this morning. Alex's temperature was normal so I guess I'm just gonna keep an eye on both.

Everyone is napping now and all p's seem to be in order. :?

Enjoy the rest of the day..I have to continue my job hunt :(

My laptop crashed and it has all my links in it (like for "yesterday's condo") so I don't know how to do it offhand. If someone can send me the format I'd appreciate it because I may not have it back until next week which is just great :sad:
Thanks :razz:

Two Days Ago
 
Sorry that Alex is up so high. Let's hope he threw up and that caused the number and that nothing else is wrong. Ate too fast?

I'm not sure what link you are talking about. I just copy the URL from my last condo, when I starting the new one, I click the URL button above the text box and paste the old URL in between the brackets. If you want to name it not just show the address backspace into the first set of brackets type = and paste the URL there. Then move back between the 2 sets of bracket and type in the name. Here is yours from the last post I could find http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20826&p=207001&hilit=Alex#p207001
 
Code:
[url=http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20826&p=206948#p206948]Yesterday's info[/url]
Copy all of the green stuff and paste it to show this:
Yesterday's info

This is exactly what Ann & Tess said to do. I wanted to show you what it looks like. :-D
 
Duh..thanks you guys..why do I have to complicate things? I don't have any idea????? !!!! :lol:

(I think it was Jackson who did the throwing up, not Alex. Just by the way he's acting today. So maybe Alex has a minor infection or something because he's hungry and not acting sick-UNJINX UNJINX )!!!!
 
have you thought about raising Alex's dose, and then feeding to prevent the drops? What I mean is to always test at +1, and if +1 is already lower than PS, go ahead and feed some HC at that point to try to put on the brakes. Then if you're able to prevent the nadirs from dropping so low, you'll be able to increase Alex's insulin dose to help combat the high numbers. The idea is to flatten him out. It would probably flatten him out at a higher level at first, but when you increase the dose it should help bring everything down (and stay flat).

Not everyone can do that, because it does require testing aggressively to catch if +1 and +2 are dropping, then to be sure the food is doing its job. You're home a lot, though, so you could probably do it. Just a thought.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
have you thought about raising Alex's dose, and then feeding to prevent the drops? What I mean is to always test at +1, and if +1 is already lower than PS, go ahead and feed some HC at that point to try to put on the brakes. Then if you're able to prevent the nadirs from dropping so low, you'll be able to increase Alex's insulin dose to help combat the high numbers. The idea is to flatten him out. It would probably flatten him out at a higher level at first, but when you increase the dose it should help bring everything down (and stay flat).

Not everyone can do that, because it does require testing aggressively to catch if +1 and +2 are dropping, then to be sure the food is doing its job. You're home a lot, though, so you could probably do it. Just a thought.

His dose was just increased today and that is a good idea but i cant always carry through with it because of Alex's ketone issues.
We tried to do that this past weekend but with a dose reduction. He was doing so well on 2.00 with a lot of double digits in there that it seemed the way to flatten out the whole curve would be to lower the dose and I agree. But As soon as the dose was lowered, Alex stayed too high for a little too long and started throwing ketones, soooooo :?

That's why I don't work to well with a higher flat curve either. Anything above 300 for more than 6 hours and there's a good chance he'll start throwing the 'tones again so I really hate having to feed him more than MC food unless of course he's really low because I don't want him hanging above 300 (and even mc food will turn him around pretty fast most of the time. He's a wacky little guy ...what can I say). :( It's very difficult and frustrating and I honestly do lose a lot of sleep over this. But that's not to say that I won't try it again. We're not quitters :razz:

Thanks Libby ♥
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top