7/28OzyPMPS-149,+1-148,+2-88,+2.5-64,+3-66,+3.5-83,+4.5-106

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/28 Ozy AMPS-297

I think all of the strips are pretty much the same. Basically, all they are is a 4 inch (approx) thin strip of plastic with some absorbent paper on the end that has a chemical reagent in the paper that reacts to let you know if ketones are present. Some people like to get Ketostix other get Ketodiastix. The latter also has a paper patch for testing urinary glucose. The latter lets you know if your cat is below renal threshold.

As for coffee, there are fresh beans and an espresso maker that's easily fired up.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy AMPS-297,+2-367,+4-194,+5-284

Well, the dip didn't last long. Back up to 284. I hate it when his glucose sits around 300 or worse. I think he feels crappy when it gets high.

His glucose was quite high yesterday and again today, so far. He had a pancreatitis issue yesterday and maybe some bounce from low numbers the day before. I held the dose because of the pancreatitis and possible bounce. What now? He has been on 2.5 units for 7 cycles. How long should I hold this dose?

His leg neuropathy seems to be very influenced by his glucose levels. It was getting much better but today it is worse, about as bad as it ever was.

I did get some ketone strips and I moved a cat box into the middle of the room we are both hanging out in so I can catch him in the act, I hope. Never tried this maneuver before.

He is sleeping comfortably now and seems much better today than yesterday, except for the neuropathy. He is quite alert and engaged and himself.

I spilled the bupe and lost about a quarter of the bottle. That hurt.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy AMPS-297,+2-367,+4-194,+5-284,+7-213,+8-244,+9-

Is it unusual to have this many ups and downs during a cycle? I did mark when he ate in his SS. He has gone quite a long time (for him) without asking for food. He hasn't eaten for six hours. Mostly he has been sleeping. No peeing either.


Update, update. He peed and no ketones. Yeah!!!
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy AMPS-297,+2-367,+4-194,+5-284,+7-213,+8-244,+9-

It's now less than two hours before his insulin time. +9 was 176, +10 was 188. He hasn't eaten for six hours and doesn't want to eat (highly unusual). So what do I do?

Should I feed him now that it is less than two hours until his PMPS? That is if he decides he wants to eat. He has gone back to sleep. He seems alert and okay when he is awake but he is sleeping more than normal for him.

What should I do about insulin if his numbers stay below 200? Should I skip tonight's shot?

This seems complicated. Please help.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy AMPS-297,+2-367,+4-194,+5-284,+7-213,+8-244,+9-

Hi, no dosing advice but if you go back to edit and put a question mark someone who has been helping you with dosing will notice that you have a question (it's showing a green smiley right now, so maybe you just mis-clicked?). You could even take some of the detail from earlier today out of the subject line and put a big "DOSING ??" in the subject line so it will get noticed more quickly.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy AMPS-297,+2-367,+4-194,+5-284,+7-213,+8-244,+9-

donaleen

We don't have a "no shoot" number in LL. Our suggestions are that if the kitty is below 150 at pre shot, you don't feed, post and ask for help.

I'd suggest you don't feed him now and get a +11.5 and let's see where he is. If he's headed up and you think he will eat, I'd shoot the full dose since he hasn't earned a reduction. If he's headed down, just be sure you put in your subject line "stalling need help".

Sound ok?
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy AMPS-297,+2-367,+4-194,+5-284,+7-213,+8-244,+9-

It's a good idea to note that negative ketone test on your SS in the Remarks column.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy 149 pre shot PMPS Stalling please help

Fixed sorry. He is ravenous and eating.

It's insulin time? What should I do?
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy 149 pre shot PMPS Stalling please help

If you stall, you shouldn't feed. There's no way to tell if numbers will be inflated by food or if they are coming up on their own.
Marje & Gracie said:
I'd suggest you don't feed him now and get a +11.5 and let's see where he is. If he's headed up and you think he will eat, I'd shoot the full dose since he hasn't earned a reduction. If he's headed down, just be sure you put in your subject line "stalling need help".
I'm sorry Marje wasn't clear. I think what she was implying was that you don't feed when you stall. Can your schedule accommodate being off schedule if you need to stall?
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy 149 pre shot PMPS Stalling please help

Sorry. I thought I was supposed to test and then see if he would eat. Even though he acted ravenous, he didn't eat much.

Yes, my schedule can accomodate whatever it needs to. Ozy is my schedule.

How often should I test him while I stall?

He may have dropped as low as he did because he didn't eat for quite a while (for him)...
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy 149 pre shot PMPS Stalling please help

I'm sorry, donaleen, that I was not clear that you shouldn't feed until you knew you were going to shoot.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy 149 pre shot PMPS Stalling please help

It's okay Marje. My mistake. I thought how much he ate had to do with making the decision when his numbers are so borderline and I am a newbie.

Since he isn't eating much, his pancreatitis may be bothering him though he shows no other signs tonight. Earlier I gave him cerennia because he was doing that lip licking thing.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy 149 pre shot PMPS Stalling please help

He is 173 now. I don't know where to put it on the SS

I am really sorry to add to the load. I know there have been lots of low numbers and sick kitties.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy 149 pre shot PMPS Stalling please help

No worries. Your not adding to anyone's load. I think we forget that not everyone completely understands Lantus-speak. (Whenever one of my friends asks for the time, I have to be careful to not answer in +time.)

It looks like numbers may be heading up. If you can stall for another 30 min and then re-test, that would be great. I want to make sure this isn't a food spike. If numbers are continuing up or are the same, I think it's OK to shoot as long as you have strips and HC food on hand in case you need it. If numbers are dropping, then please post. (Actually, post either way.)

If you shoot, please get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy 149 pre shot PMPS Stalling please help

Okay. I will re test in 30 minutes and post the result. If his glucose is on the rise, I will shoot (yes I have plenty of strips and HC food). If the number has dropped, I will wait for instruction.

If I shoot, I will test at +1, +2 and maybe a few other times in the night.

thank you so much.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy 149 pre shot PMPS Stalling please help

Glad to see Sienne is helping you!! The only thing I can add is that in your subject line, you can get rid of the words "pre-shot"....PMPS means PM Pre Shot

You could have had it say +12, 149 Stalling please help! It would tell members where you were and that you were waiting for help and not shooting. Once you decide TO shoot, that's your PMPS number.

If you're stalling for another 30, you'd say +12.5 (the number) and again add the "stalling please help"...or "dosing advice please"...or something like that

Your numbers start counting from the last time you gave any insulin. Hope that makes sense!
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy 149 pre shot PMPS Stalling please help

149 again (his insulin is now 1 hour late)

edited subject line as suggested. Thank you
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy 149 pre shot PMPS Stalling please help

Chances are whatever you fed Ozy has worn off and his +12 and +13 are the same. If you're comfortable shooting, I'd go ahead and shoot. And, like you planned, get a +1 and +2. If you need to test further, one of the experienced members will let you know. Marje should be back online by then. I'm not sure who else will be around. (I'm about done for the night.)
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy +12-149,+12.5-173,+13-149 Stalling please help

Okay, I am shooting. He is asking for food. Let's hope he eats it. Thanks.

donaleen
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy +12-149,+12.5-173,+13-149 Stalling please help

I'll be around for a bit this evening and looking forward to seeing your +1. When you get it, could you update the subject line of your first post to show PMPS 149 then +1 and whatever it is.

It's rather exciting seeing these nice numbers so early in Ozy's journey. :-D
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy +12-149,+12.5-173,PMPS-149,+1-148

Did he eat much food after his shot? He doesn't seem to get much of a bump in numbers from the food if so. Same thing on the evening of July 21st. Might be useful to know in the future.

I'll be around for your +2.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy +12-149,+12.5-173,PMPS-149,+1-148

He has not eaten as much as he usually does. The only thing he really liked today was the ground turkey I cooked him for lunch (he gets real meat at lunch most days).

Usually he eats quite often. But he hasn't been as ravenous since he started the insulin.

Today he acted like he was hungry but didn't eat much when he was offered food. I would say he ate about one third cup of Wellness grain free after his shot.

What is the best way to indicate food on his chart? Is how I did it okay?

thank you
donaleen
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy +12-149,+12.5-173,PMPS-149,+1-148

Several people here use the * to indicate feeding on their SS so that's a good way to do it. I do the same feeding every day, and describe it in Neko's profile with exceptions noted in the comments field of the SS. If you are interested in creating a profile, the instructions are here. The profile is a useful way to put information that people always ask you about, rather than loading up your signature.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy +12-149,+12.5-173,PMPS-149,+1-148,+2-88

Thanks... down to 88. Eating ravenously. I put some sprinkles (crushed dry food) to make it even more appealing.

Is this low reading likely to make him bounce? Is there anything I can do to prevent/help that?

Also, is there a way to get emails when you have a response to a message? The only way I know is to keep looking at and refreshing my posts.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy +12-149,+12.5-173,PMPS-149,+1-148,+2-88

That's a fast drop early in the cycle. Do you have any medium carb food? Could you feed 1-2 tsp of that? You don't want to feed too much food in total, because you may want him to be hungry later in the cycle. I'd suggest a +2.5 test.

Unfortunately bounces can be caused by fast drops (more than 50 points in an hour) as well as low numbers. You can use MC to slow the fast drops but not much you can do to help getting him used to greens other than having him spend more time in greens and getting used to it. The saying is that cats bounce until they don't. Neko is still in bounce mode, 1.5 years later. :roll: But she doesn't bounce as high as she used to.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy +12-149,+12.5-173,PMPS-149,+1-148,+2-88

He is eating his carby food with great gusto.... two teaspoons like you said.

Thanks for sticking with me. I am a little scared, but he obviously is feeling so good that I am also excited.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy +12-149,+12.5-173,PMPS-149,+1-148,+2-88,+2.5-64

Yikes, quite the drop and still early. Maybe try a bit more of that MC food? 1-2 tsp and test in 30. I'd like to slow him down just a bit.
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy +12-149,+12.5-173,PMPS-149,+1-148,+2-88,+2.5-64

I gave him the food and he ate it with great gusto.

Is anyone here with me???
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy +12-149,PMPS-149,+1-148,+2-88,+2.5-64,+3-66

Looking to see your next test. Please keep your first subject line updated. I lost notifications a couple of days ago so rely on the subject line for updates. :roll:
 
Re: 7/28 Ozy PMPS-149,+1-148,+2-88,+2.5-64,+3-66,+3.5-83

Okay, I updated. Up to 83.

Whew. I hope we are on the way up, but not too far. I assume I should keep monitoring him. How often and for how long?

Thanks for being there with me, Wendy. Do you think we are out of the woods?
 
Re: 7/28Ozy+12-149,PMPS-149,+1-148,+2-88,+2.5-64,+3-66,+3.5-

OK, that rise may be due to the MC food, which could wear off. But since he's in the 80's, you can move to once an hour testing. If you haven't done so already, you might want to print off the Handling Low Numbers post. I hate to do this, but I am getting up in 4.5 hours, so I'm going to leave you for a nap. I'll be up in an hour again to test Neko if you have questions then. Of Ozy is way up in an hour, he could be starting a bounce, in which case it would be safe to go to bed.

One other thing on you SS, when you feed something other than LC, it's worth noting it. That way when you go back to look at it, you can see what LC, MC or HC did to the numbers.
 
Re: 7/28Ozy+12-149,PMPS-149,+1-148,+2-88,+2.5-64,+3-66,+3.5-

I do have it printed out and I have it on the sofa beside me. I reviewed it when I gave him his PM insulin. I also have a syringe and the karo syrup. I have two more small cans of gravy cat food.

Thanks for being there with me. He's asleep snoring right now. Go get some sleep yourself.

thanks again, my dear.
 
Re: 7/28Ozy+12-149,PMPS-149,+1-148,+2-88,+2.5-64,+3-66,+3.5-

Good luck - the first green cycle is always a little exciting! But you'll be a pro in no time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top