7/28 Zener PMPS 169;+1 150;+2.5 127;+3.5 103;+4.5 81;+5.5 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Poor appy yesterday

But better today! :-D Still not great but definitely better. We started the slippery elm bark (SEB) this morning. Thank you, Marje and Ann for your inputs on preparation and dosing. I also used Tanya's guide. Zener did his usual yard patrol. I think there may have been pooing involved but did not directly witness the event, just a bit of a sashay back to the house. He got in a good session with the catnip plant, rubbing on the stems and shaking the whole bush. :lol: He's been napping in one spot for a while too, unlike yesterday when he kept shifting. We have a vetty appointment today with his regular vet, will definitely do the anal glands and see what she says about the appy issue.

Thinking of ailing kitties and beans, Amy's DF, Wendy's DM and DA, Sienne, Tricia and civie Sasha, Mariko's Lucy, Rick who is mourning the passing of Mr. Grey. Have a great Monday, LL!
Liz
 
Re: 7/28 Zener AMPS 279

I am SOOOO glad his appy is better today! Keep eating, Z - fuds iz yummy in your tummy! Sending tons of good vetty vines your way...
 
Re: 7/28 Zener AMPS 279

Yo Z Man! Glad to hear you're feeling better this morning. The KTSS will be over later to help get out the vetty smell.
~ Rusty


Today certainly sounds much better than yesterday. Have a good vetty appointment.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/28 Zener AMPS 279

Glad to hear Z-man is sashying in the garden. ;-) I really should grow catmint too.

Good luck w/ the SEB, I hope it works for Zener.
Yo, Z! On my way w/ the KTSS! They is squirtin' stuff in your mouth too?? cat(2)_steam GROSS! -- Tess
 
Re: 7/28 Zener AMPS 279;+4 278

I'm glad Zener's appy is better today and he enjoyed some time with the catnip plant. I hope the vetty visit goes well.
 
Re: 7/28 Zener AMPS 279;+4 278

Flat yellow is ok Zener. Hope the Betty appt goes well. Sorry I keep missing your condo. Have a great night!!

OT: I did set a PR by 6 mins for a 10k. It's easy to do when you are slow. :lol:
 
Re: 7/28 Zener PMPS 169 vet report

We're back from the vet. Our guy did great, and was so glad to see his favorite vet, Captain Dr Team Zener aka Dr TZ. He even purred and rubbed his nose on the edge of his carrier while we were all talking about our plan.

Dr TZ did not think the values for his urinalysis indicated infection, some contamination readings but not bacteria, so no need for treatment, and his wound from the fight is healing nicely. She was impressed our guy was kicking ass in his yard and suggested he should pursue a gentlemanly life of leisure from now on. ;-) He had no temperature, and no other visible wounds, so she did not think there was any sort of infection post-fight. His anal glands were full again, and the left one had some liquid so we are to keep an eye on that. The last time this happened she put him on ABs for possible infection, and ABs gave him pudding poo and poor appy, and in the end, she had us discontinue them and all was well.

Most of his kidney values remained unchanged and a couple were improved! And, the theory of MamaLizBean - out in the heat/dehydrated and sore from the fight - made sense to Dr TZ. She also suggested continuing with fluids while it is hot and his eating is off. She said fluids will not hurt, so better to err on the side of fluids than dehydration!

She was also okay with us decreasing some of his meds, as possible interactions or build up could be affecting his mobility. She suggested since he is on so many it's a bit like polypharmacy in the elderly, sometimes you need a medication holiday and start over. The ones she definitely wants him to keep getting are the lantus (of course, funny we don't even think of that as a med anymore), cerenia and budesonide. So, first we will decrease the gabapentin and go off, then decrease the ondansetron, and see if we can go with less cypro, if the slippery elm bark is helpful.

He is moving better since getting home from the "expression". Appy is better today but still not at his best.

So, all in all, a pretty good report. As Dr TZ says, he can get pretty poorly and then bounces back up again. So, we shall keep on keepin' on! She told us things always happen when she is on vacation and she won't be going anywhere during the time the night duty bean (that's me) will be away and MamaLizBean will be the BIC.

He's been on a slow slide all day, of course, this could be related to his appy, but then who knows about our guy. :roll: He had 50mL subQ fluids right after the vet visit, and about an hour before PMPS, so stay tuned for the evening drama, paws crossed there isn't any!

Anne
 
Re: 7/28 Zener PMPS 169;+1 150 vet report

sounds like a pretty great report to me. i do always enjoy reading about Zener's yard patrol activities! :lol: glad to hear our little buddy is doing ok for now.

have a good trip, anne!
 
Re: 7/28 Zener PMPS 169;+1 150;+2.3 127 vet report

Pretty good vetty report. :-D I hope he levels off here and does a nice surf tonight.

KTSS is on the way - plenty of fresh rosemary at our place. ~Neko
 
Re: 7/28 Zener PMPS 169;+1 150;+2.3 127 vet report

good vetty report, but a fight??? :shock: Oh my, I need to go and catch up on Zener condos!
 
Re: 7/28 Zener PMPS 169;+1 150;+2.3 127 vet report

I'm likin' that vet report! Nice slide tonight, Zener, but make sure you eat. Fuds are good!!! Have a great night all!!
 
Re: 7/28 Zener PMPS 169;+1 150;+2.5 127;+3.5 103 vet report

Thanks to all for visiting today and checking in on our special guy. He is relaxing tonight on his new tempurfoam bed (it's a dog one, so shhhhhh....) and being tended to by the KTSS to get rid of that vetty smell.

We noticed a small pudding poo in the inside litter box tonight, just a few hours after a nice healthy poo outside. We started using slippery elm bark today with our guy. Has anyone has any experience with this causing some pudding poo? We did a BID dose, so maybe it was too much to start? Any ideas, thoughts, suggestions are welcome.

The Z-man is still sliding tonight and we've been giving a few treats chopped on top of his fuds to encourage his appy. With fluids and decreased appy still, we may be looking at another dosecrease tomorrow, depending on what happens tonight and in the AM. He was at 3.75u at the beginning of the month and we've slowly decreased to his current 2.5u. :cool:

Anne
 
Re: 7/28 Zener PMPS 169;+1 150;+2.5 127;+3.5 103 vet & poo?

Tess hasn't had a problem. How much SEB syrup did you give him?
 
Re: 7/28 Zener PMPS 169;+1 150;+2.5 127;+3.5 103 vet & poo?

Great report and nice day!!! Glad to hear things are well with Zman!!

SEB is a curative for diarrhea so I don't think it would give it to him. I've never had that happen.
 
Re: 7/28 Zener PMPS 169;+1 150;+2.5 127;+3.5 103 vet & poo?

You gots da extra large cat size memory foam bed too? Cool! ~Neko
 
Re: 7/28 Zener PMPS 169;+1 150;+2.5 127;+3.5 103;+4.5 81 vet

@Ann & Tess & Marje and Gracie - Liz mixed up the SEB as suggested and gave it to him in the AM and PM an hour before test, meds, feed and shoot. Our guy doesn't ever seem to need as much of most meds as most other cats, perhaps his CH metabolism. Nothing else changed today except the addition of the SEB so that's why we thought it might be too much. There was the vetty visit and anal expression, but those haven't caused pudding poo before, and it could have just been a fluke. Do you guys use the SEB once a day or BID and regularly or for a few days at a time?

@Wendy & Neko - yes!
Yo Neko, my beans got me one of those sweet beds like you got, thanks for the tip. ;-) - Zener

And now, he's in the lagoon....a classic all day slide. :mrgreen: Would enjoy these numbers more if appy was better. :cool:

Anne
 
Re: 7/28 Zener PMPS 169;+1 150;+2.5 127;+3.5 103;+4.5 81;+5.

Thanks Marje, it could have just been some sort of flukey pudding poo. And now that I see that "flukey pudding poo" it's cracking me up. :lol:

Anne
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top