7/28 Trixie PMPS 163 +2 130 +4 74 - Opinions please!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/28 Trixie AMPS 170 +2 98

Trixie stop stumping the Bean. Oh who am I kidding, you cats enjoy doing that don't yo? :lol:

That +2 is very nice, hope you figure things out and enjoy your day ahead.
 
Re: 7/28 Trixie AMPS 170 +2 98

Hi guys .. Liking the +2 number trixie, well done .. maybe you could aim for a green start tomorrow? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/28 Trixie AMPS 170 +2 98 +4 86

As always, running late for work. Will visit condos tonight, but am always thinking of everyone!
 
Re: 7/28 Trixie AMPS 170 +2 98 +4 86

I have only had a brush with the Dawn Phenomenon, but it did make dosing really tricky. Trix looks good in green :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/28 Trixie AMPS 170 +2 98 +4 86

The dawn phenomenon is just plain frustrating, isn't it?! Other than the 170, Trixie is looking so good in green!
 
Re: 7/28 Trixie PMPS 163 +2 130 - Opinions please!

I'm still grappling about what to do, so I'm curious about everyone's opinion here. With tomorrow's evening shot, we're planning one of two changes: either increase her dose to 1.25 OR changing to her new pen (her current pen will be 27 days old tomorrow).

Which do you guys think we should do?

The other day, I was leaning towards trying the pen switch first; now I'm leaning towards the dosecrease. I really hate the thought of starting a new pen only to possibly have her numbers stay the same, thereby wasting a decent amount of insulin that's left in her current pen. I just don't know what to do, so (as always) any and all feedback, thoughts, or ideas is appreciated!

Amy
 
Re: 7/28 Trixie PMPS 163 +2 130 - Opinions please!

im leaning towards holding off raising if you're starting fresh insulin, sometimes numbers get a jump start with fresh insulin.
see what others say!
 
Re: 7/28 Trixie PMPS 163 +2 130 - Opinions please!

Unless you've left the insulin out of the refrigerator, I'm confident the insulin is still good. Because the pen puts the insulin under pressure, even shaking it can't hurt it because there's no air in there to let the insulin slosh around. I'd go for the dosecrease. It might be just what Trix needs to bring her dose back down again!!
 
Re: 7/28 Trixie PMPS 163 +2 130 - Opinions please!

Jill recently posted this info about the expiration of Lantus. It's an excerpt from a Think Tank discussion and is in the Lantus handling sticky:
Jill & Alex said:
Opened Lantus and Levemir vials, cartridges, and pens can last longer than many FDMB members seem to think. Some caregivers of diabetic cats have used Lantus/Levemir down to the last drop. Lantus users from the German Katzen Forum have reported using opened Lantus for up to six months and Levemir up to four months if kept refrigerated and handled properly. Lantus is NOT as fragile as we once thought.

From two of the leading researchers in the field of lantus use with feline diabetics, Jacquie S. Rand BVS, DVS and Rhett D.Marshall BVS (University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia):

"Glargine should be refrigerated because it has a shelf life of 4 weeks once opened and kept at room temperature. We have found that opened vials kept refrigerated can be used for more than 6 months. If using an insulin pen, the manufacturer recommends that once a vial of insulin is used, the pen be kept at room temperature because temperature changes associated with refrigeration alter the volume administered by the pen."
http://www.uq.edu.au/ccah/index.html?page=43599&pid=0

We use U100 syringes to draw Lantus from cartridges and pens. We do NOT use needle tips which can be attached to the pens to administer insulin. Therefore, refrigeration will not alter the volume administered by the pen apparatus. Refrigeration combined with the use of syringes to draw insulin (versus using the needle tip made for the pen) from the opened pen has been found to extend it's life well beyond the 28 days suggested by the manufacturer.

Unopened Lantus is good until the expiration date stamped on the box if refrigerated and handled properly.
If you do increase the dose, I'd strongly encourage you to test like crazy!
 
Re: 7/28 Trixie PMPS 163 +2 130 - Opinions please!

Sienne - Do you think we should just hold her dose for a while longer, as well as NOT change her pen? The insulin has been refrigerated the whole time.

OR, if we increase her dose, should we only go up to a F1.00?
 
Thanks, Sienne. That's probably what we'll do, then. Of course tonight's +4 is lower than expected...usually she slows quite a bit after +2. This cat has my head spinning lately :lol: !
 
Her +2 and 4 are looking good. I would agree with fattening it. If your insulin has been in the fridge, I would doubt that is it. Hope you get it figured out soon!
 
you've gotten lots of good advice, amy, so i'll just say hi. if you feel content with the answers you could edit your subject line . .. hope you're having a good evening. trixie's looking great tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top