7/28 Tomcat +12.5=63, +14=53, +15=51 AMPS 148, +1.5=147

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100979

Morning

well, tomcat is too low for me to shoot. and he is dropping. I will just continue to check and wait for a rise.....I am flexible in the shoot times

but my main reason for posting is: when do I need to worry about feeding last night's cycle? He hasn't had breakfast...is starving....I can hear his tummy growling as we speak.

I mean.....do I need to worry about feeding the 40's on last night's dose?

okay,,,,he literally just threw up...just foam. from hunger.

what do I do?

can I feed him normally and just shoot in an hour?

help?
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +13.5-=57

Hang on a minute while I look at his SS. Back in a moment.
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +13.5-=57

Wow Tomcat is doing really well lately, and I wouldn't want to loose the momentum.
You have choices. You can either stall a bit longer without feeding and see if he rises. You take the risk of him continueing to come down because of lack of food and he will continue to be "starving" looking at you with hungry eyes.. Or you can shoot a BCS dose (a one time reduced dose) and feed him now. Or you can skip. I would do the BCS dose if you have all the supplies you need and will be home to monitor him. I am not a big fan of stalling, myself.
Please get another test before you decide.

Remember, that the dose you are about to give will not have much affect on his BGs until about 2 hours from the time you give the shot and you will be feeding him (maybe even some MC) which will raise his numbers.

Yes, if he gets into the 40s, then you feed no matter when you get the 40s.
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +13.5-=57

You asked
I mean.....do I need to worry about feeding the 40's on last night's dose?

It would be best if you could hold off on feeding him. I realize that will possibly make him vomit again.

If you can test every 20-30 minutes and catch him on a rising number, then you could give the full dose if you are home to test, have plenty of HC food and test strips. I think Tomcat is angling for another dose reduction. He did not drop below 50 last night, real close with that 51 though and you were propping the numbers up with the HC food. He's been at this current reduced dose of 3.5U for 6 cycles.

I know some folks may disagree with me, but I'd reduce the dose to 3.25U.

Second option would be to give a reduced dose.

Third option would be to skip the shot this morning.

p.s. Housekeeping note: please link in yesterday's condo in your first post of the day.
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +13.5-=57

okay...thanks for the reply

I will test in just a second. the problem with Tom is he usually drops fast in the first 2 hours. he doesn't wait that long to feel the effects

what would be a good reduced dose?
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +13.5-=57

For a good reduced dose, are you going for the BCS? or just a bit less than last night? Like a 3.25U dose.
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +13.5-=57

okay +14=53

I still haven't fed him.

I was going to reduce this morning....I figured he had earned it even if he didn't get the 49

but now that we are going to give a greatly delayed shot...that is considered a decrease anyway right?

oh well....I won't worry about that right now

still on the question of what to do right now

he isn't going to give me any option in a minute I think considering his 53 just a minute ago.

so confused...don't know what to do?!!!
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +13.5-=57

Delayed shot is like a reduction so give the 3.25U if you want to earn the BOS award again.


Reduce to 2.5U or 2.75U if you want to do the BCS shot and wimp out on us. ;-)

And remember to "Feed the 40's, no matter when you get them."
 

Attachments

  • Balls%20of%20Steel%202.png
    Balls%20of%20Steel%202.png
    67.8 KB · Views: 1,183
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +14=53

I think I am going to delay another 30......unless there is no way he is going to rise without food and all this waiting is for nadda

I will give a bcs when I do.....no way I can give normal dose with these numbers. NO WAY. CAN' T DO IT.

SORRY

what does bcs stand for?

okay...so this is what I will do....wait...then give reduced shot. a 2.5 I think...

of course I may have to feed those 40's in just a second!! considering we are on hour 14 do I need to feed HC at 40?
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +14=53

Wow, Tom - you crazy kitty! He's on a mission!!! Obviously, I have no advice but I wish you luck deciding. I just hate this process - I'm sitting at home because Bob won't eat and I'm supposed to be at work. I just want to beat him. :evil: He finally ate 1/2 can of tuna food, but I'm not feeding him tuna every day, he just needs to get that into his fat little head. I've spent my life savings on food for him and he's gonna eat it!!!!
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +14=53

I will give a bcs when I do.....no way I can give normal dose with these numbers. NO WAY. CAN' T DO IT.

SORRY

what does bcs stand for?
That's fine to give a BCS (Big Chicken Shot).

You know what you can and can't do. You know Tomcat better than we do. You know your schedule better than we do.

If you are going with the BCS, 2.5U or even a 2U would probably be better than skipping.

Which dose are you more comfortable with?
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +14=53

Another thing to consider now, is if you shoot at +14 or +14.5, will you be able to shoot 12 hours from that shot tonight and 12 hours from that shot in the morning, etc. How flexible is your shot schedule?
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +14=53

Kelly, just stopping by to say "hi" --- well, actually, that would be Tashie saying "HIGH" ........ hang in there - I feel your stress. You are doing GREAT - and, really, so is Tom. I've become the "Queen" of syringe feeding so if you ever need tips, that IS something I can help with!
Hang in there - we are all rooting for you!
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +14=53

okay he is still holding 53

I will not skip.

I think I will feed him now.....hell, he may have already gone past the point of eating now....you know how they are once they don't eat for a while....stomach gets all acidy...anyway. I will see if he eats, eats well....and then check his numbers...hope they rise.....sometimes they don't.....and then give a reduced shot.......

I know that isn't the correct way...but I have to do it that way.

way too scared to shoot a 50! I don't even think Marje would shoot a dropping 50! :o and we all know she has BOS

he doesn't seem to be effected by my delayed shots anyway.....which I have given plenty of lately....and his numbers are still good

shot time schedule is no problem.....

thanks for all your help!!!
;
bcs: YOU GOT THAT RIGHT! I need that laugh! :lol:
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +14=53

Kelly,

Yes, please feed and test again.

Nothing, absolutely nothing wrong with not shooting a dropping 50's!

You need to do what you can mentally and emotionally handle.

How well do you know your cat? Much better than we do.

If it were my cat, I was home all day, well rested, could stay up to prop my cat up with food and test every 30 minutes as needed, I'd give the full shot. But that is me and I'm an aggressive doser and more experienced.

You're still new at this sugardance. Give it time and we'll have you shooting those 50's. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Or maybe not!
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +11.5=73, +12=75, +12.5=63, +14=53

NEW PLAN

okay I fed him an hour ago @ +15=51. he only ate a little bit of 7% food.

just tested and he is 83.

I am going to get one more test, hope he is higher...offer more food...and then I will shoot.

here is the question:

he was due for a decrease this morning, however, given this shot is very late will his body think his current dose (3.5) is a reduction?

here are my 3 options:


1. shoot same dose

2. shoot earned reduced dose

3. give CHICKEN SHOT dose


thanks guys. I realize it is hard to give suggestions and advice when I didn't follow your advice to begin with ...but don't give up on me yet!
;-)
~~~kelly
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +12.5=63, +14=53, +16=83 DOSE?

My inclination when you're 4 hours past your usual shot time is to skip. If your schedule can accommodate shooting this late, then it's OK to shoot. The delayed acts like a dose reduction since you've lost the overlap between doses. I would still shoot the 3.5u. (I'm not seeing the drop below 50 that would warrant the decrease. Did I miss it on Tom's SS?)

BCS = big chicken sh*t dose
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +12.5=63, +14=53, +16=83 DOSE?

Sienne,

no you didn't miss it. I just figured since he was super close 4 out of the last 6 cycles...including the most recent...I would have caught the 49 easily if I would have waited another 15 mins....and also

Deb and Wink thought so too:

I think Tomcat is angling for another dose reduction. He did not drop below 50 last night, real close with that 51 though and you were propping the numbers up with the HC food. He's been at this current reduced dose of 3.5U for 6 cycles.

I know some folks may disagree with me, but I'd reduce the dose to 3.25U


okay...so .....back to the current worry.

I would skip...but I hate sitting here all day while he climbs and climbs and climbs.....I don't mind shooting way off schedule....I can shot anytime...sleep anytime. it is what is best for tom. yeah, I know..best for tom would have been to shoot 4 hours ago!!!....but I will get there....

I mean if I skip and shoot extra early...like 2 this afternoon...that would be a good time for me...as normal time is 3:30 am/pm...then I could get back on track sooner.....

but how BAD and AWFUL is it to his system to skip? he has been doing so well......
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +12.5=63, +14=53, +16=83 DOSE?

At this point, I would skip. And I would use this opportunity to get on a schedule you want to be on. You mentioned 3:30 am/pm? I'd shoot at 3:30 pm.

Think of this as if you'd given a "fur shot". I think it's happened to everybody at least once. If you did a fur shot, your only option would be to wait 12 hours before the next shot. And you might see the effects of that for a couple of cycles and then things would return to normal.

Just my two cents...
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +12.5=63, +14=53, +16=83 DOSE?

I'd skip too...It will let the depot drain a little. Tomcat didn't get diabetes overnight, so skipping one dose won't hurt! You're doing great, although to get up at 3:30 to start testing/shooting, you must be Superwoman!
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +12.5=63, +14=53, +16=83 DOSE?

Hey, Kelly,

Just touching in & reading through your post - sweating bullets here right along with you! nailbite_smile

On the bright side - Tomcat's doing great - at least you are dealing with Green dilemmas rather than Black dilemmas.

Whichever course of action you choose, either way, you're going to get a learning curve out of it, even if Tomcat's BG curve doesn't go the way you'd like!

Looking at his SS - he's come such a long way in a short time - keep an eye on the big picture.

PS - sometimes (OK rare times - I have Piggy Tiggy, after all) if Tigger won't eat, if I add a little water to his food he loves it. Vice versa. If I usu. have water in it, I do it without. Don't know if you've tried this, too - sounds like you've tried everything.

Good luck to you! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +12.5=63, +14=53, +16=83 DOSE?

ahhhhh.. thanks guys!

well...too late. I shot the cat!
:smile:
I just couldn't stand the thought of sitting here all day all the while his levels get higher and higher and higher...all this good progress..for what? I feel badly enough that I didn't shoot earlier....but it just ain't me. :o I can't shoot tom at a 50 quite yet...especially 3.5 units. perhaps if I am lucky enough to get down to the drops....well...that will be easier.

besides which....as much as I delay....I will be right back to my original shot time soon enough.

I hope everyone is having a good Sunday and thanks for the support.

I went ahead and shot current dose as he TECHNICALLY didn't earn a reduction AND it is a very very late shot....and his depot is half empty (6.5 hours late)

have a good one

~kelly
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +12.5=63, +14=53, +15=51 AMPS 148

A +2 or +3 would be a good idea.
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +12.5=63, +14=53, +15=51 AMPS 148

thanks carl

always do!

you have me worried now...... :shock: ?????????????
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +12.5=63, +14=53, +15=51 AMPS 148

Didn't mean to make you worry!
Just being proactive:-)
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +12.5=63, +14=53, +16=83 DOSE?

tomtom13 said:
I just couldn't stand the thought of sitting here all day all the while his levels get higher and higher and higher...all this good progress..for what?
your instincts are right on target, kelly. 12/12 schedules are for the human''s convenience... not necessarily when the cat needs insulin. most do not have the luxury of shooting when needed because of work schedules. if you can afford to be off-schedule... more power to you.

tomtom13 said:
I feel badly enough that I didn't shoot earlier....but it just ain't me. :o I can't shoot tom at a 50 quite yet...especially 3.5 units. perhaps if I am lucky enough to get down to the drops....well...that will be easier.
it's nothing to feel badly about. you're doing great!
it takes some time to feel comfortable shooting low numbers. you'll get there...
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +12.5=63, +14=53, +15=51 AMPS 148

phew....thanks so much guys!

I was worried I did the "wrong" thing.....

just what I needed:

a pat on the back


:smile: :smile: :-D

thanks for stopping in!
 
Hey, Kelly, just watching how you baby's doing after the dose & sending support. Looks like Tom doesn't give you much of a food bounce, does he?
 
Kelly - see Tom is just SURFING along! Hope his +6/7/8.....look as nice! Great job! You were SO brave today - even if you now have to get up at 1:30 AM to give a shot .... ooops - you don't wanna know what what I typed instead of "shot" :o
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top