7/28 Shasta PMPS=217; +1=249; +2=161; +3=89; +4=52

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deborah & Shasta

Member Since 2012
7/27 condo

Appetite isn't the greatest right now. She's been grazing, mostly. Hopefully, we can stave off any hypo numbers today. :-|

AMPS=239
+1=252
+2=177
+3=107
+4=80
+6=86
+7=124
+9=142
+10=196
+11=239
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta AMPS=239; +1=252; +2=177; +3=107

Crossing all available paws and fingers for a gentle, easy day, Deborah. I wonder whether if you want to encourage Shasta to eat, you could warm her food a little? That often seems to help. Or sprinkle some parmesan on it? (Maggie, our tuxedo queen, one time actually joined in to help us make lasagna. And by helping, I mean: We grated the cheese, she ate the cheese. We grated more cheese, she ate the cheese. :mrgreen: Silly girl.)

Jane
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta AMPS=239; +1=252; +2=177; +3=107; +4=80

Thanks Jane. I hadn't thought of heating up her food. I will try that next time. I haven't received my food scale yet, so I'm not sure exactly how much she's eating. So, I'm wondering if I'm allowing her too much to eat in the day. I should receive the scale by Monday/Tuesday, along with her automatic feeder. Unfortunately, because of my food allergies, I don't have any Parmesan cheese (or any other cheese, for that fact) in the house. Granted, I would LOVE to have cheese...lots of cheese...in the house. I will pick some Parmesan up for Her Royal Hiney! :-D
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta AMPS=239; +1=252; +2=177; +3=107; +4=80

Sorry to read about your allergies. I hear your though. I'm allergic to dozens of things. So annoying!

Her Royal Heinie. I love that :mrgreen:
Jane
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta AMPS=239; +1=252; +2=177; +3=107; +4=80

hmmm...her appetite today has not been very encouraging. She finished her "breakfast" (~1 oz.) and has nibbled at her snack (Ocean whitefish). She won't finish it, so I dumped it. Tried some fresh Beef, tried some turkey & giblets...grrrrrr!

I look at her numbers from today and they look lovely, but only because she's just not eating enough. I feel like I'm going to lose my mind. EAT YOU SNOTTY CAT! cat(2)_steam

AMPS=239
+1=252
+2=177
+3=107
+4=80
+6=86
+7=124
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta AMPS=239; +1=252; +2=177; +3=107; +4=80

I know it must be so frustrating that Shasta isn't eating. I like Jane's idea of some grated cheese on her food. Fingers and paws crossed and vines Shasta starts eating.
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta AMPS=239; +1=252; +2=177; +3=107; +4=80

Well, I tried heating it up...not interested. I bought Parmesan Cheese...slightly interested, but only ate a small bite of previous snack. :cry:

I have taken away her food until her PM injection and will give her fresh food of a variety that HOPEFULLY she will like. As we get closer to PMPS, I will need advice. I know her numbers aren't SUPER low, but they are low for her.

AMPS=239
+1=252
+2=177
+3=107
+4=80
+6=86
+7=124
+9=142
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta AMPS=239; +1=252; +2=177; +3=107; +4=80

I actually add warm water to my guys food.

If you have freeze dried chicken treats, crumbling them on top can entice some cats to eat.
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta AMPS=239; +1=252; +2=177; +3=107; +4=80

Shasta, eat yer fuds! We've had lot of appy issues with Zener but have finally found a combination of drugs that works for him. First we tried Pepcid to help with nausea and upset stomach. The dose is usually 2.5 mg once or twice a day. We switched to Zantac (1/8 pill twice a day) because it helps with motility too and that seems to be a problem for Zener. Next we put him on ondansetron (prescription) for nausea. Every couple of weeks, he would stop eating and we would give him a series of Cerenia injections. That worked well but the injections are expensive and they sting and the needle is huge (we gave them at home). Gulp. Then we found Cerenia in pill form. He gets 1 mg every other day. Finally we give him 1/16 tablet of cyprohexadine as an appy stimulant as needed. We also use fortiflora which he likes. I know how hard these appy issues are and how discouraging. Good luck figuring out something for Shasta.
Liz
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta AMPS=239; +1=252; +2=177; +3=107; +4=80

Thank you, Liz. I have really never had this problem with Shasta. Well, other than the time she refused Hill's m/d. I may have to try what I did then. Mix in a little Friskies with her other food. Eventually, I was able to ween her off of the Friskies.

PMPS=217

Dinner...had to coax to eat a tiny bit. Even tried a little parmesan...ate a little bit more...that was it. Finally, I opened up a can of Wellness, which she scarfed down the last time I gave it to her...not tonight. :sad:

I foresee another long night. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta AMPS=239; +1=252; +2=177; +3=107; +4=80

I agree with Sienne's idea about crumbling the freeze dried chicken as a garnish. It works well for me when they get burned out on a flavor. If I'm really desperate, I'll open a can of Tuna in water and mix the juice into their food. But I eat the Tuna :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta AMPS=239; +1=252; +2=177; +3=107; +4=80

We didn't have any problems with Zener's appy pre-FD either. We fed dry onoply. I've heard the formula includes flavor to make it addictive. It took months to get them to eat canned food willingly.
Liz
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta PMPS=217

(((Deborah))). Nothing worse than a snotty cat that won't eat :lol: :lol: :lol: sorry...you really cracked me up with that one.

Actually, there IS nothing worse than a cat that won't eat...especially one on insulin. I hope Shasta is just being picky. For Principessa Gracie, I must add one tsp of water from the reverse osmosis tap and then heat for three seconds...not 2 and not 4.... Three seconds, Just the RIGHT amount of chicken dust, and then present it at the princess's preferred dining spot.

Hope she surfs and doesn't keep you up all night battling the fud issue.
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta PMPS=217

Thank you everyone!

I just coaxed her to eat a little more of her Chicken FF (like 10 licks!) I have thrown out about 4 or 5 snacks today because she won't go near them. Same food that she ate 2 or 3 days ago. I think she's mad at me for all the ear poking...hence the snottiness, Marje!

Last night, I tried crumbling some freeze dried turkey (which she LOVES) on her dinner...she nibbled...and yes, it has worked in the past. I'm not sure if she can only handle small amounts of the freeze dried treats (like 3-4 tiny bits...pencil eraser size), but anytime she gets several pieces (7-8...especially longer slivers) she throws up. Last night, in my attempt to get her to eat, I gave her a few more pieces than usual...saw her dinner for the 2nd time. :o
She's NEVER been this picky or high maintenance. :?

She's being very sassy right now...the fingers under the blanket don't stand a chance against her sassiness!

+1 = 249

Hope everyone else is doing well today/tonight! :smile:
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta PMPS=217; +1=249; +2=161; +3=89

Hi Liz,

I've indicated her puke sessions on her SS. Although, looking at her SS just now, I missed one of her "episodes" from a few nights ago. The first day or so that I switched her over to wet food only, it was all about the hairballs as she was cleaning herself every twelve seconds! Every time after that, I would notice that when I fed her the freeze dried treats in "longer" slivers (versus small chunks) she would throw up. Keeping my fingers crossed that we have figured out the causes and that we don't have any/many more "episodes"! :roll:

She still hasn't been overly interested in eating tonight. I have had to coax her all night. The last time, it was all thanks to Fortiflora. She's just being so difficult! I think she knows I start back to work next week. :sad:

Deborah

P.S. Zener's looking nice tonight! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta PMPS=217; +1=249; +2=161; +3=89

WOO-HOO!!! She finally decided to go eat...all on her own!!!!! :-D

I don't know how much eating 5% this "late" in her cycle will raise her BG tonight. At this point, I usually only feed her 2%, assuming her BG is acceptable. But I need her to eat it because it has her heart medicine in it!!!!!

EAT MY LITTLE SHASTA McNASTY!!!! EAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 7/28 Shasta PMPS=217; +1=249; +2=161; +3=89

Do you think you should have reduced after that 46 last night? That would ge the Tight Regulation protocol. If you have any doubts, I suggest you get input from one of the experts (use the ? Icon and put "dose question" in the subject line. Great that she's eating!
Liz
ETA: you should definitely feed that drop.
 
I wasn't certain about a reduction and I wasn't sure who would be awake at her injection time, so I went and read the protocol and it said only to reduce if she falls below 40. Maybe it's because I don't know if she's considered long term or newly diagnosed?! (diagnosed in April 2011) But we just recently started this protocol. hmmm... Anyone want to chime in here and set me straight...please?!

I will do what the smart FDMB people tell me to do!

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
 
I forgot that Shasta is a long-term diabetic so you are correct. She will need to go below 40 to get a reduction. You can also shave the dose since a 0.25u reduction is a large percent change of 0.75u.
Liz
 
haha...the thought of shaving off of .75u makes me :lol: because just getting the .75 feels almost impossible without a medical, mathematics and some sort of engineering degree!!!!

I have seen the pictures of filling syringes to .75u, .25u, 1u, etc. and read several of the posts about syringe accuracy, etc. and it scares the poo of out of me that I will "accidentally" give her too much one morning before school. ugh!!!! Where's my Harry Potter wand? There has to be a spell to fill my syringes up just perfectly. Yes?! :-|

I retested her BG 20 minutes after +4 and it was 68. Will test again at +5.
 
Those skinny and fat doses are a little crazy. Measure the 0.75u just like you would normally, then squeeze out another drop to get a skinny. You can twist the plunger to get better control of a tiny movement. Are you checking to make sure the top of the plunger lines up with the top of the zero line? I have an engineering degree - it does help! :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Anne & Zener said:
Are you checking to make sure the top of the plunger lines up with the top of the zero line?

Depends on what time in the morning it is and how much sleep I've gotten! :-D Night time really just depends on how tired my eyes are!!! I think I've been good about matching up top of plunger w/ zero line, but as I type that...I can't say that I have consistently checked. I will start checking from now on. I find that since I have started reading posts here and watching the videos and such...I second guess myself EVERY time I go to fill the syringe! Performance anxiety, I guess! :YMSIGH:

Anne & Zener said:
I have an engineering degree - it does help! :lol: :lol:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Note to self: start making friends with local engineers! :razz:

+5 = 73
 
Liz had asked me why I hadn't reduced this morning as Shasta had a BG 46 last night. I didn't think I was supposed to because she had not fallen below 40, but then I wasn't sure. Is that correct? I should hold at .75u? Since she's not eating much, I'm worried about another day of low pre-shots. Should I try for a skinny .75?

clarification: they're not "low" pre-shots...but they sure are lower than usual!
 
I had forgotten that Shasta is a long term diabetic so now i am thinking that 46 doesn't earn a reduction. I thought it would be a good idea to get an expert opinion.
Liz
 
No, I'm glad you asked because I asked myself the same thing this morning and decided that since I was home all day, I'd shoot .75u and monitor all day. Thank you for asking and helping me clarify and feel comfortable with shooting my cat! :o
 
Reductions can be earned three different ways. So whichever comes first for a long term diabetic (diagnosed more than a year):

-- one number under 40 (reduce by .25u or shave if kitty does not hold reductions)
-- three times below 50 (reduce by .25u)
--7 days in normal numbers with the majority of time between 50-100 mg/dL

Also....if kitty hasn't actually earned a reduction as shown above but you are having to work hard to keep numbers up, you can reduce.

So..for now, I think you are fine to hold the dose.

Hope she will start eating better and this info helps!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top