Lisa & Oberon
Member Since 2020
Yesterday's condo: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...1-123-2-120-9-164-first-day-on-lantus.232769/
Quick intro (since I didn't do it yesterday) and then an update...
Oberon (age 10, normal weight about 13 lbs) was diagnosed in December after appetite increase and weight loss. He was on Lantus for about 2 weeks but also switched to low carb diet (FF Classic pate; added Young Again Zero in March so I could get the other cats off the dry Science Diet but he doesn't eat very much of it). That put him into remission so we stopped Lantus. In July, he had some weight loss and appetite loss due to mild pancreatitis; BG was also elevated. Treated pancreatitis with Cerenia and Mirataz. Appetite came back but BG was still up- pretty consistently around 300 for about 2 weeks.
Yesterday the vet started Lantus (1 U) and checked pre (400) and post (362) shot to watch for hypoglycemia. When I tested before his evening shot, BG was 132, so I skipped the shot. BG was ~120 a couple of hours later, and 164 before breakfast this morning. Waiting to hear back from the vet to decide how to proceed with the Lantus today.
Quick intro (since I didn't do it yesterday) and then an update...
Oberon (age 10, normal weight about 13 lbs) was diagnosed in December after appetite increase and weight loss. He was on Lantus for about 2 weeks but also switched to low carb diet (FF Classic pate; added Young Again Zero in March so I could get the other cats off the dry Science Diet but he doesn't eat very much of it). That put him into remission so we stopped Lantus. In July, he had some weight loss and appetite loss due to mild pancreatitis; BG was also elevated. Treated pancreatitis with Cerenia and Mirataz. Appetite came back but BG was still up- pretty consistently around 300 for about 2 weeks.
Yesterday the vet started Lantus (1 U) and checked pre (400) and post (362) shot to watch for hypoglycemia. When I tested before his evening shot, BG was 132, so I skipped the shot. BG was ~120 a couple of hours later, and 164 before breakfast this morning. Waiting to hear back from the vet to decide how to proceed with the Lantus today.